![]() |
|
|
|||
2 SLIGHTLY different plays - 2 VERY different calls
I'm struggling with two very similar plays that require two different calls according to the rules.
Play #1: A1 jumps to attempt a shot. B1 places a hand on the ball so that the ball never leaves A1's hand. A1 returns to the floor with the ball. According to Rule 4.25.2, the correct call is a held ball. Go to the AP. Play #2: A1 jumps to attempt a shot. B1 places a hand on the ball so that the ball leaves A1's hand one inch. A1 returns to the floor with the ball. According to Case Book play 4.44.3 Situation A (c), the correct call is a traveling violation on A. Ball goes to team B. I have to admit, my officiating instinct is to come out strong with a jump ball signal for both situations. In fact, it can be hard to distinguish between the two if the ball barely leaves the shooter's hands in the second example. Anyone else struggle with this? Any suggestions for making the correct call in play #2? |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
In 4.44.3 Situation A c the ball never leaves A1's hand.
The key is whether the touch prevented A1 from releasing the ball. If it did, held ball. If not, travel.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
"Your Azz is the Red Sea, My foot is Moses, and I am about to part the Red Sea all the way up to my knee!" All references/comments are intended for educational purposes. Opinions are free. Last edited by SmokeEater; Tue Nov 14, 2006 at 09:35am. |
|
|||
Originally Posted by just another ref
In 4.44.3 Situation A c the ball never leaves A1's hand. Quote:
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Quote:
This case results in Held ball, go to AP.? Correct? I am starting to see the confusion in the OP. When the ball leaves the shooters hand then the retrieve it it becomes a travel when they return to the floor.
__________________
"Your Azz is the Red Sea, My foot is Moses, and I am about to part the Red Sea all the way up to my knee!" All references/comments are intended for educational purposes. Opinions are free. |
|
|||
Quote:
In d of the same situation, A1 drops the ball to the floor and touches it first after it bounces. This is also ruled traveling for starting a dribble with the pivot foot off the floor.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Quote:
It's only a travel if (a) the shooter returns to the floor with continuous control of the ball and (b) the ball was NOT prevented from leaving the shooter's hand by the defender. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
A slightly interesting one | JugglingReferee | Basketball | 24 | Sat Mar 19, 2005 03:56pm |
Slightly out of focus | Back In The Saddle | Basketball | 21 | Sat Oct 23, 2004 01:03pm |
Only Slightly Off Topic | rainmaker | Basketball | 59 | Thu May 13, 2004 03:59pm |
Close Plays Made to be Easy Calls | whiskers_ump | Softball | 9 | Mon Mar 22, 2004 11:46pm |
help: slightly off-topic | rgaudreau | Basketball | 12 | Sat Mar 16, 2002 01:01am |