The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Six players in game (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/29352-six-players-game.html)

RefLarry Wed Nov 08, 2006 08:45pm

Six players in game
 
refresher exam tough one...

Subsititute B-6 enters the court while the ball in in control of team A and while the ball is live and the clock is running. The officials are unaware that team B has six players in the game. B-6 returns to the bench after which team A commits a violation. The scorer now informs the officials that team B had 6 players on the court. Official rules no techincal foul can be charged. Is the official correct?


I'd go with YES for this question. RB 10.1.6 penalty states that this Technical can only be "Penalized if discovered while being vioalted." The question states that the officials were unaware that team B has 6 players. So I don't know how you could assess a Technical foul if the officials did not see team B have more that 6 players on the court. Does anybody disagree?

Nevadaref Wed Nov 08, 2006 08:49pm

Larry,
You are correct. "Penalized if discovered while being violated" means exactly that.

Ref Daddy Wed Nov 08, 2006 09:32pm

One gets in trouble trying to read too much into rules. This is pretty clear.

If you don't see it - and get talked into calling it ..... where does the game go from there?

26 Year Gap Wed Nov 08, 2006 11:05pm

That's the right answer for the right reason. Had our refresher last night. Similar to the ball hitting wire question.

Nevadaref Wed Nov 08, 2006 11:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap
That's the right answer for the right reason. Had our refresher last night. Similar to the ball hitting wire question.

Now why would you bring THAT one up again?! :eek:

Do we really need another 27 pages on the forum? :p

M&M Guy Thu Nov 09, 2006 10:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Now why would you bring THAT one up again?! :eek:

Do we really need another 27 pages on the forum? :p

Yawn....

Did I hear my name called?

OHBBREF Thu Nov 09, 2006 12:46pm

just like it aint a foul if I don't call it - It aint a violation if I don't see it!:D

bgtg19 Thu Nov 09, 2006 01:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OHBBREF
just like it aint a foul if I don't call it - It aint a violation if I don't see it!:D

True enough, but what if you *do* see it but inadvertently set asi ... oh, never mind.

rockyroad Thu Nov 09, 2006 02:02pm

Reminds me of a play froma HS game about 12 years ago that still pi$$es me off every time I think of it...boys HS District championship game. Quick steal and I am busting down to Lead (2-person)...big crash, I've got a block call, second defender comes in and commits BI which my partner gets with a second whistle...meanwhile the two idiots on the ground get up and square off so I have to get between them, AND the aassistant coach from home team is up protesting the BI call so my partner is dealing with him...after all the dust settles and we handle everything and shoot all the free throws and get the ball in play and finish the last 2 min. or so of the quarter and buzzer sounds...visiting coach, right before partner is going to inbound ball to start the 4th quarter, calls me over and asks "When did #12 check into the game last quarter?" Sure enough, the little sucker snuck onto the court to get involved in the dust-up, we didn't see it, and the home coach just grabbed the nearest player and yanked him off the court and sat him down. They got away with it...like I said, it was 12 years ago and it still makes me mad!

IREFU2 Thu Nov 09, 2006 02:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RefLarry
refresher exam tough one...

Subsititute B-6 enters the court while the ball in in control of team A and while the ball is live and the clock is running. The officials are unaware that team B has six players in the game. B-6 returns to the bench after which team A commits a violation. The scorer now informs the officials that team B had 6 players on the court. Official rules no techincal foul can be charged. Is the official correct?


I'd go with YES for this question. RB 10.1.6 penalty states that this Technical can only be "Penalized if discovered while being vioalted." The question states that the officials were unaware that team B has 6 players. So I don't know how you could assess a Technical foul if the officials did not see team B have more that 6 players on the court. Does anybody disagree?

Umm, I thought that an unauthozed entry on the court was a Technical Foul. You might want to check that one again and 6 players is an automatic T when discover after the ball is in play.

bob jenkins Thu Nov 09, 2006 02:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IREFU2
Umm, I thought

Think again. See 10.1.6

IREFU2 Thu Nov 09, 2006 04:47pm

Umm read a little further.... 10.2. 1 & 3

OHBBREF Thu Nov 09, 2006 05:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IREFU2
Umm read a little further.... 10.2. 1 & 3

these require that the violation be discovered before the ball becomes live, the ball is live when the player enterd the floor I DO NOT THINK YOU CAN CALL IT.

and article 6 requires that it must be discovered while it is happening so if you look up and there a five guys on the floor it matters not that there where six you missed it

you CAN NOT CALL IT,

Dan_ref Thu Nov 09, 2006 05:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy
Yawn....

Did I hear my name called?

I still think you're right btw...

Jurassic Referee Thu Nov 09, 2006 05:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dan_ref
I still think you're right btw...

I agree.<i></i>


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:50pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1