The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Backcourt violation? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/29310-backcourt-violation.html)

vawils Mon Nov 06, 2006 05:07pm

Backcourt violation?
 
Another one I am not sure on but should be and appreciate getting straight:

A1 is in his backcourt and passes the ball to A2 in the front court who is covered by B1 . A2 cannot control the pass off his hands and it goes back in the backcourt where he retrieves it? Is this a backcourt violation? My uncertainty comes from the lack of team control by A in the frontcourt. However team control exists during passes so I think it would be a violation. Is this right??? Thanks for the feedback.

PS - How about if the pass hit off B1 and then A2 before going into the backcourt. I assume ruling would be the same.

Nevadaref Mon Nov 06, 2006 05:16pm

It is a violation. There is TEAM control during the entire play. What confused you is that A2 never had PLAYER control. However, that is not a requirement for a backcourt violation.

If the ball was first deflected by B1 and then went off A2's hands, it would still be a violation. The important thing to remember is which team is the last to touch the ball before it goes into the backcourt.

Therefore, the reverse would not be a violation. (Off A2's hands then deflected away and into the backcourt by B1.)

PS There is a case book play for your situation:
9.9.1 SITUATION C: A1 is dribbling in his/her backcourt and throws a pass to the frontcourt. While standing in A's frontcourt: (a) A2 or (b) B3 touches the ball and deflects it back to A's backcourt. A2 recovers in the backcourt. RULING: In (a), it is a violation. The ball was in control of Team A, and a player from A was the last to touch the ball in frontcourt and a player of A was the first to touch it after it returned to the back court. In (b), legal play. A Team A player was not the last to touch the ball in the frontcourt. Team A is entitled to a new 10-second count.

Jurassic Referee Mon Nov 06, 2006 05:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by vawils
Another one I am not sure on but should be and appreciate getting straight:

A1 is in his backcourt and passes the ball to A2 in the front court who is covered by B1 . A2 cannot control the pass off his hands and it goes back in the backcourt where he retrieves it? Is this a backcourt violation? My uncertainty comes from the lack of team control by A in the frontcourt. However team control exists during passes so I think it would be a violation. Is this right??? Thanks for the feedback.

PS - How about if the pass hit off B1 and then A2 before going into the backcourt. I assume ruling would be the same.

Team control was never lost by team A. Player control was lost, but that isn't really a relevant factor. What you have to ascertain is if the ball ever gained frontcourt status. If it hit A2 in the frontcourt, it did.

Rule 9-9-1 says <i>"A player shall not be the first to touch a ball after it has been in <b>team</b> control in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched <b>or was touched by</b> the ball in the frontcourt before it went into the backcourt".</i>

drinkeii Mon Nov 06, 2006 06:46pm

But doesn't the ball not obtain frontcourt status until both feet of a player and the ball have moved it into the front court?

Nevadaref Mon Nov 06, 2006 06:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by drinkeii
But doesn't the ball not obtain frontcourt status until both feet of a player and the ball have moved it into the front court?

That only applies to a player who is DRIBBLING the ball.

BktBallRef Mon Nov 06, 2006 06:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by drinkeii
But doesn't the ball not obtain frontcourt status until both feet of a player and the ball have moved it into the front court?

That's only on when there's a dribbler bringing the ball across the division line, David.

Nevadaref Mon Nov 06, 2006 06:53pm

:p ................:D

drinkeii Mon Nov 06, 2006 06:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef
That's only on when there's a dribbler bringing the ball across the division line, David.

As I recall, the rule doesn't say dribbling - it says for the player to be considered to be in the frontcourt, they must have both feet and the ball in the frontcourt - I'll look it up when I get home, but I'm pretty sure it doesn't day "when dribbling the ball".

BktBallRef Mon Nov 06, 2006 06:55pm

David, how long have you and I been posting on this board? Do you really think I'd be wrong about something like this?

4-4-6
During a dribble from backcourt to frontcourt, the ball is in the frontcourt when the ball and both feet of the dribbler touch the court entirely in the frontcourt.

drinkeii Mon Nov 06, 2006 06:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef
David, how long have you and I been posting on this board? Do you really think I'd be wrong about something like this?

Well, I'm asking - that's all - I don't remember anything in there that says "When dribbling" - and you can't presume something like that is in there - I'll look when I get home, which is in about 15 minutes...

BTW, can you email me a copy of that handheld rule book? That would come in great handy, me having a Treo 650 and all... Thanks in advance!

Nevadaref Mon Nov 06, 2006 06:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by drinkeii
As I recall, the rule doesn't say dribbling - it says for the player to be considered to be in the frontcourt, they must have both feet and the ball in the frontcourt - I'll look it up when I get home, but I'm pretty sure it doesn't day "when dribbling the ball".

RULE 4, SECTION 4 BALL LOCATION, AT DISPOSAL

ART. 6 . . . During a dribble from backcourt to frontcourt, the ball is in the frontcourt when the ball and both feet of the dribbler touch the court entirely in the frontcourt.

BktBallRef Mon Nov 06, 2006 06:59pm

NV, dammit!!! Now cut that out!!! :D

Nevadaref Mon Nov 06, 2006 07:00pm

Hey Tony,
Twice in one thread!!! :p ...;) ...:) ...:D

BktBallRef Mon Nov 06, 2006 07:02pm

I'll fix your a$$! :D

Nevadaref Mon Nov 06, 2006 07:06pm

Am I being a pain in the a$$? :)

LMAO! :D

BktBallRef Mon Nov 06, 2006 07:08pm

No more than usual. :p

drinkeii Mon Nov 06, 2006 07:13pm

OK - I stand corrected... (tucks tail between legs and slinks back into the shadows...) - sorry :)

rainmaker Mon Nov 06, 2006 07:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by drinkeii
(tucks tail between legs and slinks back into the shadows...)

don't worry -- you're in good company here in the shadows!

Nevadaref Mon Nov 06, 2006 07:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef
"Fortunately, I keep my feathers numbered for just such an emergency."

BTW, enjoying the Foghorn Leghorn! Thanks.

BktBallRef Mon Nov 06, 2006 07:57pm

I had been doing movie quotes but no one seemed to notice. So I switched to cartoons. However, Joaquin Phoenix used this line in "Walk the Line." ;)

Jurassic Referee Mon Nov 06, 2006 08:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef
I'll fix your a$$! :D

Why? Is it cracked?:confused:

Nevadaref Mon Nov 06, 2006 09:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef
David, how long have you and I been posting on this board? Do you really think I'd be wrong about something like this?

4-4-6
During a dribble from backcourt to frontcourt, the ball is in the frontcourt when the ball and both feet of the dribbler touch the court entirely in the frontcourt.

Last edited by BktBallRef : Today at 04:02pm.

Editing your earlier post and deleting your later one... :rolleyes:
Now, Tony, that's downright cheating! :D

BktBallRef Mon Nov 06, 2006 11:21pm

That was just a mispelling that I corrected. :)

just another ref Tue Nov 07, 2006 12:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by drinkeii
OK - I stand corrected... (tucks tail between legs and slinks back into the shadows...) - sorry :)


Challenging Tony on a simple rule like that, kinda like drawing on Marshall Dillon.:D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:36am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1