The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Dreaded BLARGE! (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/29077-dreaded-blarge.html)

jritchie Tue Oct 24, 2006 11:13am

Dreaded BLARGE!
 
NCAA rules!
correct procedure on block and charge by two officials. A1 in control runs over B1, two officials call foul both give preliminary signal, one with block one with charge! Do we give both players a foul and go with the possession arrow or go with both fouls and go back with the Team in control Team A at POI?

M&M Guy Tue Oct 24, 2006 11:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jritchie
correct procedure on block and charge by two officials.
give both players a foul and go with the possession arrow or go with both fouls and go back with the Team in control POI?

Which rule set are we using?
In Fed., you would have to charge each player with a foul, which results in a double foul situation and resume play at the point of interruption.

In NCAA-W, we would get together, decide which call is correct, and penalize accordingly.

ChuckElias Tue Oct 24, 2006 11:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jritchie
give both players a foul and go with the possession arrow or go with both fouls and go back with the Team in control POI?

J,

I've pointed this out before, but I'll mention it again. I think people get confused in talking about the POI. In FED and NCAA-M, all double fouls (and a blarge is a double foul) now go to the POI. The POI may be a throw-in or a FT, but the double foul always goes to the POI. So you just have to figure out what the point of interruption actually is.

In your case, you haven't given us enough information about the situation to determine the POI. Was there team control at the time of the blarge? Had a try already been released?

If there is team control, then you charge both players with a personal foul and resume at the POI, which is a throw-in to the team that had control at the spot closest to where the ball was when the foul occurred.

If a try has been released, then there's no more team control. So if the try is unsuccessful, the POI is an AP throw-in.

If the try is successful, then the POI is a throw-in anywhere along the endline by the team that was just on defense.

Hope that helps.

tjones1 Tue Oct 24, 2006 11:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy
Which rule set are we using?
In Fed., you would have to charge each player with a foul, which results in a double foul situation and resume play at the point of interruption.

In NCAA-W, we would get together, decide which call is correct, and penalize accordingly.

Grrrrrr, M&M knows how to get me going! :)

Seriously, I'm sorry, the Fed can come out back-to-back years and add various items from NCAA-W and add babysitting procedures for headbands, wristbands, and cheerleaders BUT they can't destory that stupid case play and re-write it to follow NCAA-W? :mad:

jritchie Tue Oct 24, 2006 11:35am

thanks chuck! cleared it up for me!

M&M Guy Tue Oct 24, 2006 11:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jritchie
thanks chuck! cleared it up for me!

Yep, I agree with Chuck too. :)

M&M Guy Tue Oct 24, 2006 11:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1
Grrrrrr, M&M knows how to get me going! :)

Seriously, I'm sorry, the Fed can come out back-to-back years and add various items from NCAA-W and add babysitting procedures for headbands, wristbands, and cheerleaders BUT they can't destory that stupid case play and re-write it to follow NCAA-W? :mad:

It's only fair I get back at 'ya, considering you're one of those smartazz St. Louis fans. :D

I would agree it would be better to "get the call right", but it does force us to use the simple mechanic of the patient whistle and eye contact with our partner before making the call.

tjones1 Tue Oct 24, 2006 11:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy
It's only fair I get back at 'ya, considering you're one of those smartazz St. Louis fans. :D

I would agree it would be better to "get the call right", but it does force us to use the simple mechanic of the patient whistle and eye contact with our partner before making the call.

Ha Ha. Thanks M&M! :)

Yeah I see what you're saying. However, if they are admitting (sort of) that mistakes are made at the higher level, i.e. college, and they want the call correct. Wouldn't it be fair to say at the lower level these mistakes are going to occur as well? Granted, I would be willing to say they don't occur very often, but they do, and you should be able to make a call - not two.

Oh well...maybe someday I'll be on the Rules Committee.

M&M Guy Tue Oct 24, 2006 12:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1
Oh well...maybe someday I'll be on the Rules Committee.

I might vote for you, if you change your MLB party affiliation...

There's pluses and minuses for both ways. In HS, if you have a coach look at you and say, "But your partner called it a different way...", you can say, "Yep, we've got that call too." Both coaches are happy/unhappy. But I still don't understand how you can have both a player-control foul and a block, by rule. In NCAA-W, you still have the issue of trying to explain to one coach why the call that favored them was taken away. It may or may not be the "right" call, depending on who's primary, who had the best look, who's the stronger official, etc. In theory, I like the NCAA-W practice, but even it has drawbacks.

Camron Rust Tue Oct 24, 2006 02:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy
But I still don't understand how you can have both a player-control foul and a block, by rule.

Charge and Block, not possible...either the defender was in position or not....still a double foul is called since neither official has the authority to overrule the other. Both calls stand.

Player Control and Block, easy. B1 sticks out a knee clipping A1 while, at the very same time, A1 is hooking B1. There are two different contacts that are not mutually exclusive.

M&M Guy Tue Oct 24, 2006 02:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust
Charge and Block, not possible...either the defender was in position or not....still a double foul is called since neither official has the authority to overrule the other. Both calls stand.

Player Control and Block, easy. B1 sticks out a knee clipping A1 while, at the very same time, A1 is hooking B1. There are two different contacts that are not mutually exclusive.

Camron - the block/charge was what I had in mind when I made that statement; that's probably where 99% of these types of double-whistles will occur. I don't think it's an issue of one official overruling another as much as it is getting together to determine which one was right. There's already a similar precedence when you have one official signal a foul, and another signals a violation. You cetainly don't penalize both players in that double-whistle situation. Usually one official will come in and say, "The foul caused the player to travel, so I've got the foul!" It's picking one call and going with that. It just seems a little unusual that they picked only the block/charge double-whistle to go with the penalizing of both, especially since there is the issue of the defender either has the position, or they don't.

Camron Rust Tue Oct 24, 2006 04:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy
Camron - the block/charge was what I had in mind when I made that statement; that's probably where 99% of these types of double-whistles will occur. I don't think it's an issue of one official overruling another as much as it is getting together to determine which one was right. There's already a similar precedence when you have one official signal a foul, and another signals a violation. You cetainly don't penalize both players in that double-whistle situation. Usually one official will come in and say, "The foul caused the player to travel, so I've got the foul!" It's picking one call and going with that. It just seems a little unusual that they picked only the block/charge double-whistle to go with the penalizing of both, especially since there is the issue of the defender either has the position, or they don't.

The difference is that the violation/foul double whistle are two differnet infractions, neither of which conflicts with the other. Determing which came first is all that must be determined and shouldn't be too hard to do.

The block/charge is two different interpretations of the same action. It is a judgement call. It's not matter of which came first but a determination of who is right. To determine a "right" call will usually require more information than is possible to have. More often than not, it would require that one official simply yield to the other.

Kevzebra Wed Oct 25, 2006 09:21am

The NCAA Women's crews never have a blarge! Why? Cause we get together and decide where the play happened (primary) and go with that. Too many times officials that have no business looking at a play come up with something that he/she should not have!

I remember a play from our regional (HS) semi final last year (I was watching it) and a "player control foul" occured at the free throw line. The center had a GREAT look at the play comes up with a the correct call, but here was the lead, looking 15 feet out from the baseline and calling a block (oh, BTW, he went to the state tourney 2 years ago). So the lesson here is; if you do have a double whistle, do NOT give a prelim signal. Get with your partner and decide. Might look bad for one of you (but you can always say you had the same thing) and get the call right!

:D

deecee Wed Oct 25, 2006 04:19pm

I dont remember if this question has been answered and I assume its the same as with a jump ball -- on a double foul (any of them) where we go to the POI and the offense retains possession do we reset the shot clock?

Junker Thu Oct 26, 2006 12:30pm

I think the women's side has this right. Ideally at any level, an official should have his or her fist in the air on all fouls before coming with a mechanic. I know we all slip and get excited to sell a call from time to time, but if officials slow down the way they do things, the blarge should not happen in my opinion.

ChuckElias Thu Oct 26, 2006 12:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee
I dont remember if this question has been answered and I assume its the same as with a jump ball -- on a double foul (any of them) where we go to the POI and the offense retains possession do we reset the shot clock?

If there is team control at the time of the double foul, no reset. NCAA 2-14-7f.

Camron Rust Thu Oct 26, 2006 04:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Junker
I think the women's side has this right. Ideally at any level, an official should have his or her fist in the air on all fouls before coming with a mechanic. I know we all slip and get excited to sell a call from time to time, but if officials slow down the way they do things, the blarge should not happen in my opinion.

The women's side still has a hole in the approch....uncommon, but still a hole. What if the play occurs right on the boundary between the two primaries (both the defender and the dribbler have one foot in each primary) and the palyers are moving along that line...moving along it as if it is a balance beam. How is the decision made? It is not in any one officials primary. It it not going towards one official more than the other. One official must still chose to defer to the other in this case.

I agree that slowing down would mostly prevent blarges but it would not eliminate them. On more than one occassion, I've had a double whistle such that neither of us knew the other had even blown the whistle....the timing and duration of the whistle were identical and the acoustics of the gym conspired such that it wasn't discernable. We both raised our fists but never realized the other had....then made our calls....once or twice being opposite. It is rare, but I think it's happened to me twice in 13 years.

Junker Fri Oct 27, 2006 11:35am

Well said Cameron. I've had a couple of close calls, but luckily mechanics were drilled into my head enough that when I was going to call the opposite of my partner I only had my fist in the air so we just went with their call. We did, however, discuss the play in the locker room afterwards. :D

rockyroad Fri Oct 27, 2006 01:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust
The women's side still has a hole in the approch....uncommon, but still a hole. What if the play occurs right on the boundary between the two primaries (both the defender and the dribbler have one foot in each primary) and the palyers are moving along that line...moving along it as if it is a balance beam. How is the decision made? It is not in any one officials primary. It it not going towards one official more than the other. One official must still chose to defer to the other in this case.

I sincerely hope that you are being facetious here...but just in case you aren't - the rule of thumb is the ball is in "my" primary until I release it...so this balancing act you're talking about had to start somewhere - we'll say the backcourt where the T has the play - and then progress into the perfect balancing act along the imaginary line separating our primary areas - so the T would still have primary call on it...the NCAA-W method really is the best way to handle this situation. I detest the fact that you can have two polar opposite calls on the same play and have to report both.

Camron Rust Fri Oct 27, 2006 07:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad
I sincerely hope that you are being facetious here...but just in case you aren't - the rule of thumb is the ball is in "my" primary until I release it...so this balancing act you're talking about had to start somewhere - we'll say the backcourt where the T has the play - and then progress into the perfect balancing act along the imaginary line separating our primary areas - so the T would still have primary call on it...the NCAA-W method really is the best way to handle this situation. I detest the fact that you can have two polar opposite calls on the same play and have to report both.

No, I was not being facetious at all. The rule of thumb you just stated still puts the ultimate call, not up to a subjective determination, but on the egos of the officials involved....some (not all, but some, maybe only a few) will "expand" their primaries just to keep the call even when they may be completely wrong.

QuinnVT Mon Oct 30, 2006 01:06pm

That why you have a patient whistle
 
Let the primary make the call, and if s/he doesn't then blow your whistle. Avoid the blarge in the first place.

Jurassic Referee Mon Oct 30, 2006 01:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by QuinnVT
Let the primary make the call, and if s/he doesn't then blow your whistle. Avoid the blarge in the first place.

That's nice.

However, in the immortal words of Sister Theresa <i>"Sh!t Happens!"</i>

Even to the NCAA big dawgs.

Camron Rust Mon Oct 30, 2006 03:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by QuinnVT
Let the primary make the call, and if s/he doesn't then blow your whistle. Avoid the blarge in the first place.

We all know there are transition areas/times when the play is moving from one official's primary to the another. That is the point of risk...not the fishing expeditions deep into your partner's primary. Unless you like to leave the play uncovered for a second or two as the play moves around, there will amost always be double primaries for a brief moment when the new official picks it up before the old one drops it.

Jurassic Referee Mon Oct 30, 2006 05:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust
We all know there are transition areas/times when the play is moving from one official's primary to the another. That is the point of risk...not the fishing expeditions deep into your partner's primary. Unless you like to leave the play uncovered for a second or two as the play moves around, there will amost always be double primaries for a brief moment when the new official picks it up before the old one drops it.

Translation- <i>"Sh!t Happens!"</i> :D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1