The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 24, 2006, 11:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 768
order of free throws

NCAA rules!

A-1 was fouled and awarded a one and one. Prior to the free throws, B-1 was charged with a direct technical foul, followed by a double technical foul.

A. attempt the one and one first followed by the penalty for the direct technical foul and resume play at the point of interruption
B. a false multiple foul has occurred and is penalized in the sequence of occurrence. Since the double technical foul is committed last the alternating possession procedure shall be used.
C. attempt the free throws for the direct technical foul, followed by the one and one and play off the make or miss
__________________
DETERMINATION ALL BUT ERASES THE THIN LINE BETWEEN THE IMPOSSIBLE AND THE POSSIBLE!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 24, 2006, 11:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
C is correct.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 24, 2006, 11:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 768
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckElias
C is correct.
Do we do that because it's a dead ball technical foul? take care of the dead ball stuff, and then we continue with our POI which is the one and one throws? thanks
__________________
DETERMINATION ALL BUT ERASES THE THIN LINE BETWEEN THE IMPOSSIBLE AND THE POSSIBLE!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 24, 2006, 11:44am
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,026
While we're at it...Fed

Would it be the order in which the fouls occured? A1 shoots one and one with the lane cleared. Then a player (or players) will attempt the technical foul free throws. Ball at the division line, opposite table.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 24, 2006, 12:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally Posted by jritchie
Do we do that because it's a dead ball technical foul? take care of the dead ball stuff, and then we continue with our POI which is the one and one throws? thanks
Not exactly. We do it b/c the penalty for indirect technical fouls and for direct unsporting technical fouls is two shots, with the ball put back in play at the point of interruption (NCAA 10-4-1, 10-6-1, 10-8-1, 10-10-1, 10-12-1).

That means that these types of T's are shot immediately and then the game is resumed wherever we left off. It doesn't matter if the T occurs during a live ball or a dead ball.

So in your original example, we have a personal foul, a technical foul, and a double technical foul. The penalties are:

1) 1-and-1
2) 2 FTs, resume at POI
3) no FTs, resume at POI.

We administer the FTs for #2 first and go to the POI. The POI was administration of the penalty for #3. But that just says "go to the POI", which means we pick up where we first interrupted the game. So NOW we shoot the 1-and-1 and continue on from there.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 24, 2006, 12:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjones1
While we're at it...Fed

Would it be the order in which the fouls occured?
Yes. I don't even have to read the rest of your question. LOL. In FED, we always administer penalties in the order in which they occur.

Quote:
A1 shoots one and one with the lane cleared. Then a player (or players) will attempt the technical foul free throws. Ball at the division line, opposite table.
Exactly. We had a personal foul, followed by a technical foul, followed by a double technical foul. Let's go thru the penalties, according to FED:

1) 1-and-1. Lane cleared, b/c ball will remain dead.
2) 2 FTs. Lane cleared, b/c possession is part of the penalty.
3) No FTs. Resume at POI.

What's the POI in this case? It's the possession that follows the technical FTs. So it's a throw-in at midcourt for the team that shot the FTs in #2, just like after any T. No possession arrow needed.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NO FREE THROWS FOR YOU!! Huskerblue Basketball 8 Wed Jan 18, 2006 09:54am
Free Throws nukewhistle Basketball 6 Wed Nov 16, 2005 08:29pm
Free Throws?? Cyber-Ref Basketball 13 Thu Jan 23, 2003 08:17am
free throws 49john Basketball 6 Sat Jan 18, 2003 09:02pm
T Free throws RX Ref Basketball 4 Mon Mar 04, 2002 05:37pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:49pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1