The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Need Help on this screw up (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/29049-need-help-screw-up.html)

Chess Ref Mon Oct 23, 2006 03:52pm

Need Help on this screw up
 
Adult rec game. I know but I can't help myself-it was city championship game and it paid really well. The rule set is NFHS. The only hybrid is you don't shoot any technicals-the points are just awarded.

Player A1 going for a lay-up on a fast break. Player B1 fouls and I deemed it an intentinal foul (lots of excessive contact). Player A1 gets up off the floor and pushs B1. End of the contact just a little more mouthing off to each other. Here is how my partner and I administered it.

2 shots lane cleared for the intential foul.
Then 2 shots for the technical foul. (really no shots due to hybrid rules)

Then gave Team A a throw-in at the division line.

No one said anything but I just think we got this wrong....

Feedback please......

Nevadaref Mon Oct 23, 2006 03:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Chess Ref
Adult rec game. I know but I can't help myself-it was city championship game and it paid really well. The rule set is NFHS. The only hybrid is you don't shoot any technicals-the points are just awarded.

Player A1 going for a lay-up on a fast break. Player B1 fouls and I deemed it an intentinal foul (lots of excessive contact). Player A1 gets up off the floor and pushs B1. End of the contact just a little more mouthing off to each other. Here is how my partner and I administered it.

2 shots lane cleared for the intential foul.
Then 2 shots for the technical foul. (really no shots due to hybrid rules)

Then gave Team A a throw-in at the division line.

No one said anything but I just think we got this wrong....

Feedback please......

That is your only mistake. The T means that Team B now gets the ball at the division line.

mick Mon Oct 23, 2006 04:00pm

What Nevadaref said. :)

btaylor64 Mon Oct 23, 2006 04:01pm

Don't have the rulebook in front of me, but if it is me, and If I know the rules like I think I do, I give A1 his two FT's for the intentional and then I give team B their Technical foul FT's and award B the ball out of bounds at the division line.

Also, depending on the play, and I would have to see it, I would have possibly whacked both players so that if either one of them did something later on they would both be tossed, jmo though.

ChuckElias Mon Oct 23, 2006 04:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by btaylor64
Also, depending on the play, and I would have to see it, I would have possibly whacked both players so that if either one of them did something later on they would both be tossed, jmo though.

I was thinking the same thing. Dead ball shove, followed by jawing? The jawing might get double T's from me, especially if they're "all up in" each other's grills, just to send a message.

Jurassic Referee Mon Oct 23, 2006 04:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ChuckElias
I was thinking the same thing. Dead ball shove, followed by jawing? The jawing might get double T's from me, especially if they're "all up in" each other's grills, just to send a message.

I guess both of you really are sending a message. You just tossed A1 outa the game for getting 2 "T"s.

Well....I guess you won't have to worry about tossing both of 'em later anyway. You only got one of 'em left in the game now--B1.

The only message you can send, short of unloading A1 <b>only</b>, is talking to 'em. I sureasheck wouldn't personally call the double "T"s for yapping, and let A1 be the only player tossed--- not when he was the one who got hard-fouled in the first place. Jmo.

ChuckElias Mon Oct 23, 2006 05:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
You just tossed A1 outa the game for getting 2 "T"s.

Good catch. I guess I'd rather not toss just one of them, but if they're nose-to-nose cursing, he brought it on himself. I guess it would need to be more than just "a little jawing", but A1 doesn't get a pass just b/c he's the one that took a hard foul.

Camron Rust Mon Oct 23, 2006 05:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ChuckElias
Good catch. I guess I'd rather not toss just one of them, but if they're nose-to-nose cursing, he brought it on himself. I guess it would need to be more than just "a little jawing", but A1 doesn't get a pass just b/c he's the one that took a hard foul.

I could see calling only the double T and not a single then double if the shove and jawing were not far seperated in time....part of the same altercation.

Jurassic Referee Mon Oct 23, 2006 05:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust
I could see calling only the double T and not a single then double if the shove and jawing were not far seperated in time....part of the same altercation.

That would send the message.

Soooooo......you have an intentional foul on B1, followed by a double T on A1 and B1.....which means you would....?

refhoops Mon Oct 23, 2006 05:40pm

No FT for the Double T; 2 FT for Intentional Foul on A1 and A Ball at POI.

Jurassic Referee Mon Oct 23, 2006 05:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by refhoops
No FT for the Double T; 2 FT for Intentional Foul on A1 and A Ball at POI.

Why would team A get the ball at the POI?

Adam Mon Oct 23, 2006 07:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Why would team A get the ball at the POI?

In my game, I'm going AP.

Jurassic Referee Mon Oct 23, 2006 07:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
In my game, I'm going AP.

As per what rule?

Another question.....if B1's foul was a normal 2-shot foul on a shooter instead of an intentional personal foul, and this was then followed by a double "T"...would you still go AP?

btaylor64 Mon Oct 23, 2006 08:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
I guess both of you really are sending a message. You just tossed A1 outa the game for getting 2 "T"s.

Well....I guess you won't have to worry about tossing both of 'em later anyway. You only got one of 'em left in the game now--B1.

The only message you can send, short of unloading A1 <b>only</b>, is talking to 'em. I sureasheck wouldn't personally call the double "T"s for yapping, and let A1 be the only player tossed--- not when he was the one who got hard-fouled in the first place. Jmo.

I don't know why A1 would be ejected unless somehow you found out earlier in the game that he had received a T. I am saying even though A1 pushes to let the whole thing play out (jawing and what not) before you start blowing the whistle like a crazy man. You could whack both of them then.

ChuckElias Mon Oct 23, 2006 08:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
In my game, I'm going AP.

Why? Double fouls (both personal and technical) resume with the POI.

tjones1 Mon Oct 23, 2006 11:42pm

Which is spot nearest to the intentional foul.

rainmaker Tue Oct 24, 2006 12:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
In my game, I'm going AP.

Whoa, there, Buckaroo!! You can't just sneak in a six-word response in the middle of a thread when no one's seen or heard from you in months!! How the heck are you any way??

Jurassic Referee Tue Oct 24, 2006 12:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1
Which is spot nearest to the intentional foul.

Nope.

The POI is the first of the 2 FT's for the intentional foul. The throw-in by team A at the spot closest to the intentional foul is part of the penalty for the intentional foul. NFHS rule 4-36-2(b). - <i>"Play shall be resumed by.....a free throw....when the stoppage occurred during this activity <b>or if a team is entitled to such</b>".</i> Team A was entitled to A1's 2 FT's, so the POI is the first of those 2 FT's..

jritchie Tue Oct 24, 2006 07:39am

I would have to go with No throws on double T, give team A the two merited free throws from the intentional and give team A ball on the end line, if that is closest spot to where intentional foul occurred!

bigdogrunnin Tue Oct 24, 2006 10:24am

I would agree with JR. POI is when A1 receives the ball for the 1st of the 2 free throws.

tjones1 Tue Oct 24, 2006 11:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Nope.

The POI is the first of the 2 FT's for the intentional foul. The throw-in by team A at the spot closest to the intentional foul is part of the penalty for the intentional foul. NFHS rule 4-36-2(b). - <i>"Play shall be resumed by.....a free throw....when the stoppage occurred during this activity <b>or if a team is entitled to such</b>".</i> Team A was entitled to A1's 2 FT's, so the POI is the first of those 2 FT's..

Ahhhh yes, wasn't thinking clearly. Thanks for the correction JR.

Raymond Tue Oct 24, 2006 11:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Nope.

The POI is the first of the 2 FT's for the intentional foul. The throw-in by team A at the spot closest to the intentional foul is part of the penalty for the intentional foul. NFHS rule 4-36-2(b). - <i>"Play shall be resumed by.....a free throw....when the stoppage occurred during this activity <b>or if a team is entitled to such</b>".</i> Team A was entitled to A1's 2 FT's, so the POI is the first of those 2 FT's..

So A1's free throws are no longer shot with the lane cleared?

tjones1 Tue Oct 24, 2006 11:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
So A1's free throws are no longer shot with the lane cleared?

No, I believe they are. I just misapplied what the POI was, the player will attempt their throws with no one in the lane. Then the throw-in will be spot nearest to the intentional foul. Re-read JR's post, he states it pretty good.

Raymond Tue Oct 24, 2006 12:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1
No, I believe they are. I just misapplied what the POI was, the player will attempt their throws with no one in the lane. Then the throw-in will be spot nearest to the intentional foul. Re-read JR's post, he states it pretty good.

Oh, now I see what JR's point was. Someone stated that POI was the throw-in, when actually the POI is the 1st of 2 free throws, which would then be followed by Team A's throw-in.

Jurassic Referee Tue Oct 24, 2006 01:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
Oh, now I see what JR's point was. Someone stated that POI was the throw-in, when actually the POI is the 1st of 2 free throws, which would then be followed by Team A's throw-in.

Yup, and that's exactly why I asked the question yesterday...... if B1's foul wasn't intentional but was still on A1 while he was shooting, what would you do? In that case, the POI after the double "T" that followed would still be the first of 2 free throws, but you <b>would</b> line the players up on the lanes in that case.

tjones1 Tue Oct 24, 2006 04:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
Someone stated that POI was the throw-in...

I'll take claim to that dumbas$ attack! ;)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1