![]() |
C.E. Situation ??
A friend brought this play up to me. I've tried looking a little but couldn't find it.
White 15 fouls green 15 on a rebound (push from behind). Confusion by the crew puts 15 white on the line for 1 & 1. White makes both shots and green inbounds, while coming up the court, the crew realizes the mistake and stops play. So what’s the correct call in this situation? I know I'll catch hell for my opinion on this one, but here goes. I would wipe the 2 pts off the board and put green on the line and start from there. If green had scored on the possession we had after the erroneous 1 & 1, and then the crew or coach catches the error. I would say sorry (green) coach, botched it, and play on. (I would be more diplomatic, condensed for time and typing) I could look my assignor in the eye with this fix and say, “I realize my solution may not have been text book, but was the right and fair thing to do” |
Actually, I think you have done almost exactly what 2-10 recommends. The only mistake is letting the game flow from the green free throws. I think you have to let green shoot, and then give the ball back to green at the point the ball was when you stopped the game to correct the error. I realize that letting the game go from the 1-&-1 is "fairer" but the rule says POI. I'm not going to give you hell for it, though.
|
Quote:
NFHS rules 2-10-1(c), 2-10-2, 2-10-4,5&6 . |
Unfortunately, I believe that allowing the opponent to shoot FTs constitutes a change of team possession since the error was made, so even though you have a correctable error that involves the awarding of merited FTs, you can't continue from there. You have to return the ball to Green for throw-in nearest where they had control when the game was stopped and the error recognized.
Also, if Green had scored on that possession, but the error was recognized prior to the throw-in, then it is still within the correctable timeframe. |
Quote:
Any authoritative guidance? |
Quote:
What would be canceled is a personal foul or violation committed prior to the ending of the FT. |
Quote:
I think you missed Nevada's point. The only change in possession in the original sitch is when White attempts the FTs. My point is, if that is the only change in possession and we are canceling the FT and the activity during it, do we cancel the change in possession and thereby resume play after the FTs. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
The error was made <b>before</b> the original FT's. White had possession <b>during</b> the FT's. Green had possession <b>after</b> the FT's. Therefore, that is a change of team possession after the error was made. After re-shooting the FT's, you just go to the POI when the correctable error was discovered, as per rule 2-10-6. Don't overthink the play. The rule is clear enough for this particular situation. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Case 2.10.1 Sit C A1 is fouled prior to the bonus, but erroneously A1 is awarded a one-and-one. The error is discovered: (c) after B1 has rebounded the miss on the second free throw. Ruling: In (c) the successful free throw is canceled and play continues with a throw-in by B as B had the ball when the game was interrupted for correction. Obviously, in 2.10.1 C the possession that was the free throw was not canceled therefore, there is a change in possession. |
Quote:
|
Kajun, I think the distinction is any activity during the FT; meaning that once possession is established then the FT has ended.
Not saying I agree with the correctable error rule or its interpretations. |
Quote:
However, we are arguing semantics, which is dangerous with a Kajun. You were correct in that the possession by the throwing team is not canceled and therefore there is change in possession and therefore POI. |
Quote:
The common criteria is that <b>all</b> of these activities occur <b>after</b> the last wrong FT ended, and that any activity that occurs <b>after</b> the last wrong FT ended is not cancelled, by rule. |
Quote:
...I think the distinction is any activity during the FT; meaning that by the time possession is established then the FT has ended. |
Quote:
1) Did the last wrong FT end? If so, everything that occurred before that is cancelled, but nothing that occurred after that is cancelled. 2) Did possession change after the last wrong FT ended? If so, you go to the POI after you shoot the substitute FT's. If not, you line up and shoot the substitute FT's. A possession change would be a member of the non-shooting team either holding or dribbling a live ball in-bounds after the last wrong FT ended. Make sense? |
Quote:
"1) Did the last wrong FT end? If so, everything that occurred before that is cancelled (EXCEPT the POSSESSION by the THROWER), but nothing that occurred after that is cancelled." |
Quote:
I just got my NFHS rule and case books this week (no manual yet), so I am just starting to read. |
Quote:
If you didn't cancel the possession by the thrower before the wrong FT ended, then you would also have to count the FT's that were made during that possession by the wrong thrower. Just for the record..... I'm citing the way it actually is, by rule. If you want to change something, then you're trying to change the rule. |
Quote:
We do go to POI in this situation, so the possession by the throwing team is not canceled...so EVERYTHING prior to the end of the FT can not possibly canceled. |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:17pm. |