The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   running up court (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/28784-running-up-court.html)

deecee Tue Oct 10, 2006 05:39pm

running up court

I don't know if this was bought up before but I could not find an answer.

I was curious -- sometimes when I run up court i have my arms bent at a 90degree angle and when the game is a blowout i run up more with a 45degree bend. I know this is wrong because one should always run with 90degree angle no matter what the score is but there is no advantage/disadvantage gained.

I couldn't find any ruling from the NFHS regarding this but it appears that in NCAA-W its 90degree on a fast break but 45degree on normal transition whereas with the mens its 90degree only during inbouds after a timeout that was called before a technical was issued and 45degree all other times.

What do you do and think regarding this and I really hope the FED addresses this soon before we have a social meltdown and if you could back it up with case studies I would appreciate it. :p

Back In The Saddle Tue Oct 10, 2006 05:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee

I was curious -- sometimes when I run up court i have my arms bent at a 90degree angle and when the game is a blowout i run up more with a 45degree bend. I know this is wrong because one should always run with 90degree angle no matter what the score is but there is no advantage/disadvantage gained.

I couldn't find any ruling from the NFHS regarding this but it appears that in NCAA-W its 90degree on a fast break but 45degree on normal transition whereas with the mens its 90degree only during inbouds after a timeout that was called before a technical was issued and 45degree all other times.