The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   NCAA Pretest (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/28544-ncaa-pretest.html)

smoref Thu Sep 28, 2006 09:53am

NCAA Pretest
 
I am working on my NCAA pretest and a I have a question. The correct answer does not seem to be supplied. A little help would be appreciated. This is exactly how it is written.

A1 is awarded a one-and-one. While A1 is in the act of shooting and before releasing the ball, B1 steps into the lane followed by A2. The official inadvertently blows the whistle after the release of the shot; the try is unsuccessful.

A) Count the free throw and award the second of the bonus.
B) Cancel the free throw and begin the one-and-one again with a delayed violation on B1.
C) Cancel the free throw and award Team A the ball out of bounds nearest to where the violation occurred.
D) Award the ball to the team entitled to the arrow under the alternating-possession procedure.

A rule reference would be appreciated.

ChuckElias Thu Sep 28, 2006 10:21am

I didn't like the way this one is worded either. The ball clearly does not become dead on the whistle (6-6-1a). However, we have a delayed violation against the defense, which gives the shooter a replacement FT under the same conditions as the original FT (9-2-4b). That would be a 1-and-1.

So the correct answer should be: cancel the FT and award A1 the first FT of a 1-and-1.

But that answer isn't on the list. :( So what are they looking for?

I put (B) b/c it's the only one that says A1 still gets a 1-and-1. But there shouldn't be any delayed violation. The "new" 1-and-1 is the penalty for the defensive violation.

Raymond Thu Sep 28, 2006 10:21am

B1's actions caused A2 to violate, so no violation on A2.

A1 is still entitled to uninterrupted free-throw, and B1's violation is still subject to penalty. Therefore:

B) Cancel the free throw and begin the one-and-one again with a delayed violation on B1.

Jurassic Referee Thu Sep 28, 2006 10:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by smoref
A1 is awarded a one-and-one. While A1 is in the act of shooting and before releasing the ball, B1 steps into the lane followed by A2. The official inadvertently blows the whistle after the release of the shot; the try is unsuccessful.

B) Cancel the free throw and begin the one-and-one again with a delayed violation on B1.


A rule reference would be appreciated.

NCAA rule 9-2-4 AR178 might help.

Lotto Thu Sep 28, 2006 10:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
NCAA rule 9-2-4 AR178 might help.

However, in the AR we have the whistle before the release of the FT. The question has the whistle after the release of the FT. Shouldn't that make a difference?

rockyroad Thu Sep 28, 2006 10:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lotto
However, in the AR we have the whistle before the release of the FT. The question has the whistle after the release of the FT. Shouldn't that make a difference?

It should in our minds...but it doesn't. The correct answer is B.

smoref Thu Sep 28, 2006 10:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad
It should in our minds...but it doesn't. The correct answer is B.


No games with you this year so far......

I am bummed

Lotto Thu Sep 28, 2006 11:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad
It should in our minds...but it doesn't. The correct answer is B.

Why?

If you look at 7-21 AR 161, you'll see that an inadvertent whistle is handled differently depending on whether whether it occurs before or after the ball is released on a try. If it occurs before the ball is released, then team A still has possession and we give the ball back to A. If it occurs after the release, the shot "counts" and we ignore the whistle if the shot goes in, and go to the AP if it misses.

Based on this, it would seem that the FT attempt would not be canceled by the inadvertent whistle and we'd enforce the violation by B1 by giving the ball back to A1 for the first FT of a one-and-one, but with no delayed violation against B1.

zebraman Thu Sep 28, 2006 11:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by smoref
No games with you this year so far......

I am bummed

Hey Scotty,

Maybe rockyroad put you in as one of his blocks. :D

Kevzebra Thu Sep 28, 2006 11:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lotto
Why?

If you look at 7-21 AR 161, you'll see that an inadvertent whistle is handled differently depending on whether whether it occurs before or after the ball is released on a try. If it occurs before the ball is released, then team A still has possession and we give the ball back to A. If it occurs after the release, the shot "counts" and we ignore the whistle if the shot goes in, and go to the AP if it misses.

Based on this, it would seem that the FT attempt would not be canceled by the inadvertent whistle and we'd enforce the violation by B1 by giving the ball back to A1 for the first FT of a one-and-one, but with no delayed violation against B1.

But the action of the play itself dictates that B is the correct answer. Sometimes you have to invoke the "spirit of the rule" clause in your thinking.

rockyroad Thu Sep 28, 2006 11:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lotto
Why?

.

Because I said so...just kidding. Actually, because I already took the test, put B as my answer, and got it right.

And Scott, regardless of what Z says, I didn't block you...the boss said something about having too many good-looking officials on the court distracting all those women coaches - getting too many complaints about that, I guess...:) :) :)

Shutup Jr, just shutup!!

Lotto Thu Sep 28, 2006 12:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kevzebra
But the action of the play itself dictates that B is the correct answer. Sometimes you have to invoke the "spirit of the rule" clause in your thinking.

It's exactly the spirit of the rule that led me to question this. Had there been no inadvertent whistle, A1 would be given the first shot of a one-and-one as the result of B2's violation. Since the whistle occurred after the ball was released (and therefore could not have had any affect on A1's attempt), the result of that attempt should be allowed to stand on its merits.

Let's take the violation out of the picture and propose another situation. A1 is awarded one FT. A1 releases the ball on the FT attempt. The ball hits the rim and bounces straight up. An official blows his/her whistle at that point. Would you cancel the FT and give A1 another FT if the ball goes in? What if the ball doesn't go in?

ChuckElias Thu Sep 28, 2006 12:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
NCAA rule 9-2-4 AR178 might help.

Can you post that AR? I don't have that in my book from '06.

Raymond Thu Sep 28, 2006 01:09pm

A.R. 178. A1 is attempting the second of two free throws. B2 violates the lane followed by a lane violation by A2. The official inadvertently blows his/her whistle, which stops play, before A1 releases the ball for his/her attempt. The officials re-administer the freethrow attempt by placing the ball at the disposal of A1 for his/her free-throw attempt. Before A1’s release of the ball for his/her try, B3 commits a lane violation.

RULING:
When A1’s free throw attempt is unsuccessful, he/she shall be awarded a substitute free substitute free throw. When A1’s attempt is successful, B2’s violation shall be ignored.


Not exactly the same scenario as the initial post, but kinda in the same spirit. But I understand Lotto's point. The question or the choices probably should be worded differently.

Lotto Thu Sep 28, 2006 01:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ChuckElias
Can you post that AR? I don't have that in my book from '06.

A.R. 178. A1 is attempting the second of two free throws. B2 violates the lane followed by a lane violation by A2. The official inadvertently blows his/her whistle, which stops play, before A1 releases the ball for his/her attempt. The officials re-administer the free-throw attempt by placing the ball at the disposal of A1 for his/her free-throw attempt. Before A1’s release of the ball for his/her try, B3 commits a lane violation. RULING: When A1’s free throw attempt is unsuccessful, he/she shall be awarded a substitute free throw. When A1’s attempt is successful, B2’s violation shall be ignored.

ChuckElias Thu Sep 28, 2006 02:08pm

Thanks for posting the AR, guys. But it doesn't help. In our sitch, the whistle blew while the ball was in the air. That means the ball stays live until the try ends. That means that he got the first FT, so the penalty for the defensive violation is assessed just as if there was no whistle, IMHO.

smoref Thu Sep 28, 2006 04:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ChuckElias
Thanks for posting the AR, guys. But it doesn't help. In our sitch, the whistle blew while the ball was in the air. That means the ball stays live until the try ends. That means that he got the first FT, so the penalty for the defensive violation is assessed just as if there was no whistle, IMHO.


That is exactly what I was thinking, but that was not a possible answer on the test.

Nevadaref Thu Sep 28, 2006 07:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lotto
A.R. 178. A1 is attempting the second of two free throws. B2 violates the lane followed by a lane violation by A2. The official inadvertently blows his/her whistle, which stops play, before A1 releases the ball for his/her attempt. The officials re-administer the free-throw attempt by placing the ball at the disposal of A1 for his/her free-throw attempt. Before A1’s release of the ball for his/her try, B3 commits a lane violation. RULING: When A1’s free throw attempt is unsuccessful, he/she shall be awarded a substitute free throw. When A1’s attempt is successful, B2’s violation shall be ignored.

This is poorly written.

Why would they complicate the situation with a second violation by B3 during the replacement FT? It detracts from the point that was attempting to be made.

Also, no where in the ruling does it state that the delayed violation by B2 is still in effect during the replacement throw. It should be.

Furthermore, why does the ruling totally ignore what happened during the replacement FT? Shouldn't it at least state that A1 gets yet another try if that FT attempt was unsuccessful due to B3's violation?

Lotto Thu Sep 28, 2006 08:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ChuckElias
Thanks for posting the AR, guys. But it doesn't help. In our sitch, the whistle blew while the ball was in the air. That means the ball stays live until the try ends. That means that he got the first FT, so the penalty for the defensive violation is assessed just as if there was no whistle, IMHO.

That's what I was sayin'!!

btaylor64 Thu Sep 28, 2006 09:15pm

I haven't read any of these posts except the first one so if I say anything that's already been said sorry. I'm in a bit of a hurry.

Count the basket and move on.

It's in the question. They would not give you the information about the player in the act of shooting when the whistle blows if they didn't want you to count the basket. Don't have my rule book in front of me. It's all about question recognition and good test taking skills. oh yeah, and knowing the rules, but that's arbitrary.

Jurassic Referee Fri Sep 29, 2006 02:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by btaylor64
I haven't read any of these posts except the first one so if I say anything that's already been said sorry. I'm in a bit of a hurry.

Count the basket and move on.

It's in the question. They would not give you the information about the player in the act of shooting when the whistle blows if they didn't want you to count the basket. Don't have my rule book in front of me. It's all about question recognition and good test taking skills. oh yeah, and knowing the rules, but that's arbitrary.

I think that your question recognition, good test taking skills and rules knowledge might need a little work.:D

You're completely wrong.

Nevadaref Fri Sep 29, 2006 03:17am

From the original post:
Quote:

Originally Posted by smoref
... the try is unsuccessful.


Quote:

Originally Posted by btaylor64

Count the basket and move on.

You would certainly be moving on. If you counted a try that didn't go in, it would be the last game you ever worked in that conference. :eek:

btaylor64 Fri Sep 29, 2006 09:40am

I apologize, i just went down dyslexia lane!!

What if the basketball had went in?

Nevadaref Fri Sep 29, 2006 05:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by btaylor64
I apologize, i just went down dyslexia lane!!

What if the basketball had went in?

It would count in this particular scenario.

BTW Chuck or rainmaker will come along shortly and correct your grammar. :)

Lotto Sat Sep 30, 2006 09:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
It would count in this particular scenario.

BTW Chuck or rainmaker will come along shortly and correct your grammar. :)

But if a made FT would count, why wouldn't the missed FT "count" as well? I really don't understand the logic behind the test question's official answer here.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:21am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1