![]() |
|
|
|||
PC on a Tap
Is it everyone's understanding but mine, that there can be no PC on a tap? I don't see it anywhere in the rule or casebooks, I don't see where there's anything that talks about player control on a tap. But I'm writing an article on the Handbook, and I found a place where it says there can be no PC foul on a tap, since there is no player control. Help?!?
|
|
|||
Okay, under 4-12 it defines player control as being "holding or dribbling", so I suppose that excludes a tap. But there's nothing specific. Why couldn't this be stated more explicitly? (This is a rhetorical question, I already know the answer!)
|
|
|||
Juulie,
It is pretty simple if you think about it. The airborne shooter rule is the rule applies to a tap as well as a try. If you look in the NF Simplified and Illustrated book on page 55, the NF clearly references a tap and an airborne shooter committing a PC foul. The book references 4-41-1, 5, 6, and 7. Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Well, that's how I would have interpreted the whole thing, but whoever wrote the Handbook clearly doesn't agree. Could the Handbook be just plain wrong? Seems pretty weird to me. I mean for a certain paper periodical to get an interp wrong I can understand, and they do it regularly, from what I understand. But for the NFHS themselves to contradict them selves so blatantly, seems just plain scary.
|
|
|||
Perhaps, the Handbook (which I don't have with me) is refering to the time before a tap when any foul would be a common foul.
I believe at one time, a tap was not subject to a PC foul as was a traditional try...Jurrassic may remember.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|