![]() |
throw-in fumble by A1
A1 on a throw-in fumbles the ball, leaves the designated spot (several feet), recovers, returns and throws the ball in all with in 5 seconds.
NCAA rule book covers this in 7-6 and says the ref is supposed to blow the play dead and readminister the ball but I don't see any reference to the play in NFHS. Any help for where to look? |
Violation for leaving the designated spot. (7-6-2)
|
Please use common sense when possible. If the fumble is a result of the official giving the official the ball and a bad bounce occurs, no one is going to be upset if you stop play and give the ball back to the thrower.
Just my opinion. Peace |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
almost
It was very close to one thoe
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Common sense says if the player fumbles it, violation. If it is a bad pass/bounce from the official, restart with a fresh 5. But one really should not have to restart a 5 second count anyway, due to the fact that if he/she fumbles the pass or handoff, one probably has not started that count. Unless one is the Flash that is!
|
Quote:
If you've reached 4 1/2 on your count when the thrower fumbles the ball sideways, are you going to blow your whistle and re-set him with a full 5-second count? |
Quote:
I don't ever get to 4 1/2 on my count. I go from 4 to 5 skipping whatever is in the middle. Same with the other numbers. I most likely would not kill the play in your sitch, I'm going to continue counting. (I actually can't see how someone "fumbles the ball sideways" accidentally btw...in the gyms I work gravity causes the ball to get accidentally fumbled mostly downwards.) You're going to ask me when I would blow the whistle to kill the play. The answer is when it seems likely A1 fumbled as I handed/bounced the ball to him or if he dropped it and I judged it was purely accidental and something very unusual happened that causes it to make him have to leave the spot, like it bounced off my foot maybe... If I did kill the play A1 gets a new and complete 5 seconds. Same as would happen any other time a throw-in is stopped by a whistle without a violation or foul. |
Quote:
But here's a question on that. Say thrower does fumble at 3 or 4 seconds. If throw-in team request a T-O while ball is loose, do you grant it? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Nope, you can't grant the TO because the ball is no longer in control of or at the disposal of the thrower or a teammate. You knew that.:) Good pont. |
Similar thing actually happened in one of my games. Player received the ball for the throw in. As they were initiating the inbounds play she slapped the ball and fumbled it. The ball bounced sideways and actually landed on the endline. The player stepped half in bounds (by this I mean one foot in and one foot out of bounds) to retreive the ball then backed up and attempted to throw the ball in. Obvious violation, right. I actually had to explain to the coach what she did.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:11am. |