![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
I called one of the Statre Clinicians/Interpreters here in the wild west...he told me that there was a ruling "several years ago" that told us that the player was not dq'ed until the coach was notified - so notify coach, get the kid out, and go from there...he knew about the ruling - maybe not what year it was, but he knew that there was an official interpretation from the NFHS... and I didn't have to prompt him, or try to trick him, or anything...Zebraman, maybe our interpreters are just smarter than the ones in Illinois?!!?
And btw guys...that Ignore button is wonderful!! |
|
|||
I will never understand why people are so invested in what I think about this rule. This conversation is based on a find that most people have not seen. This is why I asked my interpreter and I wanted his take. This is not even a likely situation in the first place.
Many here sound like a bunch of Jehovah Witnesses debating religious expression. Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only! |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
I just thought of something....
If the clarifications on 4-23 were not completely reprinted this year, I can interpret "playing court" to mean the area OOB and allow a defender to plant a foot on the live to cut off a dribbler while being able to draw a charge!!! ![]()
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
I ran this by the folks at IAABO. (Well, the original question, not the other garbage in this thread.) You don't need to remind me that IAABO is not the authority, but I figured their position on the matter counted as much as any of ours. They believe that the points stand and that this is not a correctable error.
__________________
Insert cool signature line here! |
|
|||
I emailed Kurt and gave him all the information, including the 2000-01 Fed interpretation.
His response, in full: "Thanks for the note. My interpretation is that the correctable error rule is the rule in question and not 4-14-2." |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Number of Free Throws on Intentional Foul? | ReadyToRef | Basketball | 12 | Mon Sep 06, 2004 09:53am |
"free" throws | John Chladek | Basketball | 8 | Wed Mar 05, 2003 12:55pm |
Shot Technical foul free throws at wrong basket. | Jerry Blum | Basketball | 3 | Wed Jan 29, 2003 11:48am |
Free Throws?? | Cyber-Ref | Basketball | 13 | Thu Jan 23, 2003 08:17am |
free throws | 49john | Basketball | 6 | Sat Jan 18, 2003 09:02pm |