The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Case book submissions? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/27235-case-book-submissions.html)

M&M Guy Fri Jul 07, 2006 10:47am

So, this guy walks into a bar with a dog, and announces he has the world's only talking dog. Everyone gathers around, and he proceeds to ask the dog a question:

"What's on the top of a house?"

"Roof!" says the dog.

A few people groan, so the guy say, "Wait, you'll see!. What's on the outside of a tree?"

"Bark!" goes the dog.

Now the crowd is grumbling and walking away. "No, wait, I can prove he really does talk. Honest! Let me ask one more question: Who was the greatest baseball player of all time?"

Someone from the crowd yells out, "Yea, right; he's gonna say "Ruth". So what?" And the crowd quickly disperses.

The dog looks at the guy and say, "Actually, I was going to say DiMaggio; I think he was a better all-around player."

M&M Guy Fri Jul 07, 2006 10:49am

Just so people know I'm trying to keep this on-topic, (:rolleyes:) I'd be interested to see the barking dog play clarified in the casebook.

Dan_ref Fri Jul 07, 2006 10:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ChuckElias
Like a tree?

Geeze, of course not like a tree

Like a dog.

ChuckElias Fri Jul 07, 2006 11:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy
Just so people know I'm trying to keep this on-topic, (:rolleyes:) I'd be interested to see the barking dog play clarified in the casebook.

I included it, but can't promise it'll end up in the book.

ChuckElias Fri Jul 07, 2006 11:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy
So, this guy walks into a bar with a dog, and announces he has the world's only talking dog.

BTW, you're only about 3 years late with this joke. :p

http://forum.officiating.com/showthr...ggio#post85972

M&M Guy Fri Jul 07, 2006 11:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ChuckElias
BTW, you're only about 3 years late with this joke. :p

http://forum.officiating.com/showthr...ggio#post85972

Figures. At least you've got good taste. :p

Corndog89 Fri Jul 07, 2006 09:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
You are almost correct Corndog.

Actually no one gives a sh!t.;)

DOH! (now babbling to get a long enough answer)

ChuckElias Mon May 05, 2008 12:16pm

Ok, I asked for everybody's help in assembling these questions, and I finally got a reply. I guess that I sent them too late to discuss at last year's meeting. In any case, these are the questions that we submitted. The blue text is my explanation of exactly what we were trying to clarify, and the red text is Mary Struckoff's ruling, as related by my friend on the committee.

Quote:

PLAY: (a) A1 or (b) B1 is preparing to shoot the second of two FTs. While A1 is holding the ball, Coach A tells the official, "I want a TO if s/he makes it." A1's FT is successful. Without any additional request from the coach, the official grants a TO to Team A. Is the official correct? (The question here is whether the Time Out has been properly requested.) No...While he/she can be aware, the coach must still request the time out at the appropriate time. Coaches have been known to change their mind.

PLAY: A1 is closely guarded by B1. A2 is momentarily positioned between A1 and B1, as A1 goes around A2's screen. B1 is still within six feet of A1. Official continues the 5-second count. Is the official correct? (Can B1 guard A1 while another opponent is between them?) Yes, in HS...No in college. According to NFHS, the mere fact that an opponent puts themselves between the guard and the player with the ball does not break the closely guarded count. As long as the defender stays within six feet, the count continues. In college, a player getting between the two stops the count.

PLAY: A1 is closely guarded by B1. A2 steps between A1 and B1 and holds a position between them. B1 is still within six feet of A1. Official continues the 5-second count. Is the official correct? (Can B1 guard A1 while A1 is stationary behind another opponent?)

PLAY: Team A scores a successful field goal. While B1 is holding the ball for the ensuing throw-in, A2 and B2 are charged with a double foul. Official puts the ball in play at the point of interruption and allows A1 to make the throw-in from anywhere along the endline. Is the official correct? (Is the play resumed at the POI, which seems to be a throw-in anywhere along the endline? Or since it is not a common foul, is it resumed with a designated spot throw-in?) The throw-in would be from anywhere along the end line. Her judgment is that the POI is the “original” throw in location and situation.

PLAY: A1 dives to the floor and secures control of the ball. A1's momentum causes him/her to roll over while sliding on the floor. Official rules this a traveling violation. Is the official correct? (Is rolling always a violation, or only after momentum has stopped?)
Rolling is allowed IF it were caused by momentum. Traveling cannot be called until momentum had ended. Once momentum stops, then a player that “rolls” away from a defender would be guilty of traveling.

PLAY: Team A is awarded a throw-in on the endline under its own basket. While A1 is holding the ball for the throw-in, A2 falls to his/her hands and knees and starts barking like a dog. As Team B's players are distracted by A2, A1 passes to A3 for an uncontested lay-up. Official rules this a legal play. Is the official correct? (Should this "non-basketball" type of distraction be considered unsportsmanlike?) This was addressed in another year...after the ESPN/U-Tube videos of this play. Yes, it is unsporting and is a “T”.

PLAY: After a time-out following a made basket by team B with 4.2 seconds left in a period, A1 is OOB on the endline for the throw-in. A1 throws the ball to A2 who is also OOB on the same endline. The timer erroneously starts the clock when A2 touches the ball. A2 immediately throws a pass to A3 inbounds at approximately center court. Immediately after A3 catches the ball, the horn sounds to end the period. The official gives team A a throw-in at the designated spot closest to where A3 caught the ball in-bounds and resets the clock to show 3.2 seconds left. Is the official correct? (How do we adjudicate a play when the clock starts improperly? Can we just have a "do-over from the original throw-in spot? If not, where is the ball inbounded and how do we determine the amount of time -- if any -- to put back on the clock?) No clear answer on this one. Too much to write here. It’s based on the “knowledge” of the time that the official had.

PLAY: A1 jumps to attempt a try for goal. While airborne, the ball slips from A1's hands and travels straight up. A1 catches the ball and returns to the floor. Official rules this was a fumble and player control was lost, so there is no traveling violation. Is the official correct? (Is this a loss of player control, allowing a recovery of the fumble, or is it traveling?) Yes.

PLAY: The official observes blood on A1's uniform jersey. The blood is (a) recent/wet or (b) old/dry. The trainer assures the official that the blood cannot be transferred to any other player. The official rules that A1 may continue to use the jersey. Is the official correct? (Does the new wording about "any blood" include blood that is obviously old and or dry?)
In “A” the situation must be resolved, i.e. uniform changed. The trainer plays no role in the decision at the NFHS level. In “B”, Mary has stated that if it is “obviously” old and dried that it would be okay. I don’t like that interpretation, but that’s what she told me.
Seems like Mary sided with me on the fumble in the air, and sided with JR on the dried blood. In any case, thanks to everybody who helped with this. I hope the answers are still interesting to people after all this time.

Now Dan can insert a comment about me not being here anymore. :)

refguy Mon May 05, 2008 12:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ChuckElias
Ok, I asked for everybody's help in assembling these questions, and I finally got a reply. I guess that I sent them too late to discuss at last year's meeting. In any case, these are the questions that we submitted. The blue text is my explanation of exactly what we were trying to clarify, and the red text is Mary Struckoff's ruling, as related by my friend on the committee.


Seems like Mary sided with me on the fumble in the air, and sided with JR on the dried blood. In any case, thanks to everybody who helped with this. I hope the answers are still interesting to people after all this time.

Now Dan can insert a comment about me not being here anymore. :)

Thanks Chuck for the insights and info.

Dan_ref Tue May 06, 2008 04:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ChuckElias
Now Dan can insert a comment about me not being here anymore. :)

You know how when you step in dog crap and the stink lingers even after you clean it off?

Yeah you're still here all right.

Jurassic Referee Tue May 06, 2008 05:37am

Iirc, I was right on 5 out of the 7 that she answered. We differed on the "barking dog" which I thought was silly but OK, and the fumble by an airborne shooter which I though was traveling(still do:) ).

Of course, after seeing some of her other rulings....as in the backcourt one from last year.....:D

Jurassic Referee Tue May 06, 2008 05:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dan_ref
You know how when you step in dog crap and the stink lingers even after you clean it off?

Yeah you're still here all right.

Put on your <i>lederhosen</i>, go out to the local <i>beerhaus</i>, have several steins of <b>real</b> beer and do a l'il <i>oom pa pa</i>-ing. Maybe meet a few new friends and see if you've got time to invade France while you're there also. It might put you in a better mood.

Btw, we alerted Customs about your return. It's a good thing that you <b>enjoy</b> full-cavity searches, isn't it?

CoachP Thu May 08, 2008 09:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ChuckElias
PLAY: Team A is awarded a throw-in on the endline under its own basket. While A1 is holding the ball for the throw-in, A2 falls to his/her hands and knees and starts barking like a dog. As Team B's players are distracted by A2, A1 passes to A3 for an uncontested lay-up. Official rules this a legal play. Is the official correct? (Should this "non-basketball" type of distraction be considered unsportsmanlike?) This was addressed in another year...after the ESPN/U-Tube videos of this play. Yes, it is unsporting and is a “T”.)

Oh goodie..the unsporting police. Whilest I agree with JR it being silly, I wouldn't have labelled it unsporting.

What if I train the cheerleaders do it??:D

bob jenkins Thu May 08, 2008 10:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachP
What if I train the cheerleaders do it??:D

Sexual Harassment lawsuit.

ODJ Thu May 08, 2008 06:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
Chuck, this is what I"d like to see addressed.

A1 is dribbling the ball "east-west", and B1 maintains lgp within 6 feet and in the east-west path. Obviously, if A1 turns and dives toward the basket, the count stops.

Correct in NCAA. In Fed. the count continues.

Quote:

But what if A1 gets head and shoulders past B1 in the "east-west" direction?
I think count ends.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:20am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1