The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Case book submissions? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/27235-case-book-submissions.html)

ChuckElias Wed Jun 28, 2006 02:26pm

Case book submissions?
 
Guys, I've been asked to submit suggestions for case plays to be included in next season's case book. I have been asked specifically for plays that would be included under Rule 9. If you have a play that you think would be worth submitting, you can either post it here or email me via the forum.

Mwanr1 Wed Jun 28, 2006 02:57pm

How about something to do with Section 13 - excessive swinging of arm(s) /Elbow(s)

Brad Wed Jun 28, 2006 04:27pm

How about a coach requesting a timeout during the other team's free throw?

:) :) :)

Jurassic Referee Wed Jun 28, 2006 04:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Brad
How about a coach requesting a timeout during the other team's free throw?

:) :) :)

Take away the smilies.....it would be a good idea to get an official clarification on this on and end the arguments.

Jurassic Referee Wed Jun 28, 2006 04:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ChuckElias
Guys, I've been asked to submit suggestions for case plays to be included in next season's case book. I have been asked specifically for plays that would be included under Rule 9. If you have a play that you think would be worth submitting, you can either post it here or email me via the forum.

Chuck, see #22 and #38 on your IAABO refresher exam of this year- the plays relating to a closely guarded count where another offensive player wanders in between the defender and the player with the ball. We've argued that one- it's not definitively covered in FEDlandia whether the count continues or is terminated.

The play Brad mentioned- whether a coach or player can ask for and be granted a future time-out with signalling at the appropriate time.

I'll dig up a few more when I get a chance.

Back In The Saddle Wed Jun 28, 2006 04:59pm

Or what happens if a fan interferes with an obvious OOB. :)

Back In The Saddle Wed Jun 28, 2006 05:14pm

Anything that settles the ambiguity surrounding closely guarded including whether, for purposes of the closely guarded rule, a dribblers path is defined as being in the direction he's traveling, as being directly towards the basket regardless of the direction he's traveling, or both.

Does a legally executed jump stop count as a "normal landing" for purposes of 9-9-3?

How does 7-5-7 interact with POI as per the discussion in http://forum.officiating.com/showthread.php?t=24365

ChuckElias Wed Jun 28, 2006 08:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Chuck, see #22 and #38 on your IAABO refresher exam of this year- the plays relating to a closely guarded count where another offensive player wanders in between the defender and the player with the ball.

The play Brad mentioned- whether a coach or player can ask for and be granted a future time-out with signalling at the appropriate time.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BITS
How does 7-5-7 interact with POI as per the discussion in http://forum.officiating.com/showthread.php?t=24365

Great suggestions. I will definitely include them.

Back In The Saddle Wed Jun 28, 2006 10:20pm

Where's NevadaRef these days? I believe he has a list he's keeping of questions that many of us would like to see answered. If he doesn't show up soon, you ought to email him.

bob jenkins Thu Jun 29, 2006 07:35am

Does "rolling while sliding" (sliding due to momentum from diving on a loose ball) equal travelling?

If a throw in is first touched by a player who is OOB, should the clock start and stop (or never start)?

Clarification on "moves to try for goal" before a 3-second violation.

BktBallRef Thu Jun 29, 2006 09:48am

Should the clock start on a kicked ball during a throw-in?

Ref in PA Thu Jun 29, 2006 10:29am

There was some discussion if, on an AP throw-in, B1 kicks the throw-in pass. Is the arrow reversed?

zebraman Thu Jun 29, 2006 10:59am

How about a specific case on an unintentional backboard slap that causes ring vibration which many affect the shot?

By rule, play on right? A backboard slap is either a T (if intentional) or nothing right?

Had a couple plays where a great leaper misses the block and unintentionally slaps the board on follow through. The shot is obviously affected by the board vibration. Sure seems like the shooter is disadvantaged with no penalty. Is that really what the Fed wants?

Z

Jurassic Referee Thu Jun 29, 2006 12:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by zebraman
How about a specific case on an unintentional backboard slap that causes ring vibration which many affect the shot?

By rule, play on right? A backboard slap is either a T (if intentional) or nothing right?

Had a couple plays where a great leaper misses the block and unintentionally slaps the board on follow through. The shot is obviously affected by the board vibration. Sure seems like the shooter is disadvantaged with no penalty. Is that really what the Fed wants?

Z

Yup.........casebook play 10.3.5. There's no other penalties listed than a "T" for a deliberate slap.

zebraman Thu Jun 29, 2006 01:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Yup.........casebook play 10.3.5. There's no other penalties listed than a "T" for a deliberate slap.

Agreed (although in the case you cite, the ball goes in so it isn't the sitch I'm talking about where the vibration caused by the slap affects the shot).

I'm just wondering if they have fully considered the scenario where the slap influences the shot even though it's an unintentional slap of the backboard. They may want to consider making it B.I. in that case. Why penalize the offensive team?

Giving in a T in this sitch is too harsh (and incorrect by rule) but letting the slap cause an otherwise good hoop to not go in sure seems wrong.

Z

Jurassic Referee Thu Jun 29, 2006 01:26pm

Ruling on the "barking dog" and similar plays.....legal or unsporting?

Jurassic Referee Thu Jun 29, 2006 01:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by zebraman
I'm just wondering if they have fully considered the scenario where the slap influences the shot even though it's an unintentional slap of the backboard. They may want to consider making it B.I. in that case. Why penalize the offensive team?

Z, it's my understanding that both the FED and NCAA rulesmakers have looked at this type of action, and they both want it called the same way:
- judgement call as to whether the the slap was deliberate or not.
- no judgement on BI except for what is already listed in FED 4-6 and the corresponding NCAA rule.

I've seen cases too where I've thought a hard, legal slap on the board mighta helped to make a ball spin out. I dunno. Maybe the FED and NFHS are afraid of putting <b>too</b> much judgement into this type of play though. I can hear the coaches now..."you called BI against us last half. They just slapped the board. Whereinthehell is the BI? That's not fair. You're screwing us. I want my mommy!". Take the additional judgement out and you're not gonna get that (hopefully...neverknow).

zebraman Thu Jun 29, 2006 03:47pm

Thanks Jurassic.

Z

ChuckElias Sun Jul 02, 2006 09:13am

PLAY: (a) A1 or (b) B1 is preparing to shoot the second of two FTs. While the shooter is holding the ball, Coach A tells the official, "I want a TO if s/he makes it." The FT is successful. Without any additional request from the coach, the official grants a TO to Team A. Is the official correct?

PLAY: A1 is closely guarded by B1. A2 is momentarily positioned between A1 and B1, as A1 goes around A2's screen. Official continues the 5-second count. Is the official correct?

PLAY: A1 is closely guarded by B1. A2 steps between A1 and B1 and holds a position between them. Official continues the 5-second count. Is the official correct?

PLAY: Team A scores a successful field goal. While B1 is holding the ball for the ensuing throw-in, A2 and B2 are charged with a double foul. Official puts the ball in play at the point of interruption and allows B1 to make the throw-in from anywhere along the endline. Is the official correct?

PLAY: A1 dives to the floor and secures control of the ball. A1's momentum causes him/her to roll over while sliding on the floor. Official rules this a traveling violation. Is the official correct?

PLAY: The clock is stopped with 50.3 seconds showing. Team A is awarded a designated spot throw-in. A1 releases the throw-in and (a) the ball is immediately kicked by B1 or (b) the ball is first touched by A2 who is standing out of bounds. After the violation, the clock shows 49.6 seconds. The official rules the clock should not have started and directs the timer to reset the game clock to 50.3 seconds. Is the official correct?

PLAY: Team A is awarded a throw-in on the endline under its own basket. While A1 is holding the ball for the throw-in, A2 falls to his/her hands and knees and starts barking like a dog. As Team B's players are distracted by A2, A1 passes to A3 for an uncontested lay-up. Official rules this a legal play. Is the official correct?


Comments? Additions?

ChuckElias Sun Jul 02, 2006 09:19am

PLAY: A held ball is called and the alternating possession arrow favors Team A. While A1 is holding the ball for the throw-in, A2 and B2 are charged with a double foul. Official rules that the point of interruption is the alternating possession throw-in and instructs the table to switch the arrow after A1's throw-in. Is the official correct?

Camron Rust Sun Jul 02, 2006 01:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ChuckElias

PLAY: A1 is closely guarded by B1. B2 momentarily passes between A1 and B1. Official continues the 5-second count. Is the official correct?

PLAY: A1 is closely guarded by B1. B2 steps between A1 and B1 and holds a position between them. Official continues the 5-second count. Is the official correct?


Comments? Additions?

I think a bigger question here is when A2 steps between A1 and B1. That seems to be what I remember being discusses to most...as when A1 goes around a screen by A2.

BktBallRef Sun Jul 02, 2006 03:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust
I think a bigger question here is when A2 steps between A1 and B1. That seems to be what I remember being discusses to most...as when A1 goes around a screen by A2.

Exactly. I started to posted the same thing. The count continues if B2 steps between A1 and B1. But what about A2?

Stat-Man Sun Jul 02, 2006 05:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ChuckElias
PLAY: A held ball is called and the alternating possession arrow favors Team A. While A1 is holding the ball for the throw-in, A2 and B2 are charged with a double foul. Official rules that the point of interruption is the alternating possession throw-in and instructs the table to switch the arrow after A1's throw-in. Is the official correct?

Maybe I am mistaken here, but I thought Rule 6 had language that said a personal foul by either team during an AP throw-in does not cause the arrow to change.

Would this not apply here? (Or perhaps this is what is to be clarified) :confused:

ChuckElias Sun Jul 02, 2006 09:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust
I think a bigger question here is when A2 steps between A1 and B1. That seems to be what I remember being discusses to most...as when A1 goes around a screen by A2.

Good catch. I'll go back and edit those two.

ChuckElias Sun Jul 02, 2006 09:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Stat-Man
Maybe I am mistaken here, but I thought Rule 6 had language that said a personal foul by either team during an AP throw-in does not cause the arrow to change.

Would this not apply here? (Or perhaps this is what is to be clarified) :confused:

You're correct, but in this case, it's a double foul. Double fouls go to the point of interruption. So the question is, is the POI simply a throw-in b/c that's what was happening (no change in the arrow), or is the POI the alternating possession throw-in (change the arrow).

rainmaker Sun Jul 02, 2006 09:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle
Anything that settles the ambiguity surrounding closely guarded including whether, for purposes of the closely guarded rule, a dribblers path is defined as being in the direction he's traveling, as being directly towards the basket regardless of the direction he's traveling, or both.

Chuck, this is what I"d like to see addressed.

A1 is dribbling the ball "east-west", and B1 maintains lgp within 6 feet and in the east-west path. Obviously, if A1 turns and dives toward the basket, the count stops. But what if A1 gets head and shoulders past B1 in the "east-west" direction?

BktBallRef Sun Jul 02, 2006 09:31pm

Forgive me Chuck but these sound more like IAABO exam questions, rather than case play submissions. I am :confused:.

rainmaker Sun Jul 02, 2006 09:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef
Forgive me Chuck but these sound more like IAABO exam questions, rather than case play submissions. I am :confused:.

Tony, he's written the question that the committee will then add to, by writing the Official Ruling. See 5.12.4 Situation B for an example.

ChuckElias Sun Jul 02, 2006 09:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef
Forgive me Chuck but these sound more like IAABO exam questions, rather than case play submissions. I am :confused:.

They're not good enough to be FED exam questions? :)

Yes, they have test question format. I thought it was easier to get across what we wanted a ruling on. If I just wrote the sitch and then "RULING:", I was worried that it might not be clear exactly what we were asking about. How would you suggest I re-write them for case plays?

BktBallRef Sun Jul 02, 2006 10:19pm

Okay.

I guess that makes sense.

Probably not a good idea to ask you for the ruling. :D

bob jenkins Mon Jul 03, 2006 08:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ChuckElias
PLAY: Team A scores a successful field goal. While B1 is holding the ball for the ensuing throw-in, A2 and B2 are charged with a double foul. Official puts the ball in play at the point of interruption and allows A1 to make the throw-in from anywhere along the endline. Is the official correct?

Well, the official is definitely NOT correct if s/he allows A1 to make the throw-in. ;)


Quote:

PLAY: A1 dives to the floor and secures control of the ball. A1's momentum causes him/her to roll over while sliding on the floor. Official rules this a traveling violation. Is the official correct?

I think I'd rephrase as"A1's momentum causes him/her to slide on the floor. While sliding, A1 rolls over on his / her back and continues to slide."

Jurassic Referee Mon Jul 03, 2006 09:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ChuckElias
If you have a play that you think would be worth submitting, you can either post it here or email me via the forum.

After a time-out following a made basket by team B with 4.2 seconds left in a period, A1 is OOB on the endline for the throw-in. A1 throws the ball to A2 who is also OOB on the same endline. The timer started the clock by mistake when A2 touched the ball. Immediately after A2 caught the ball, he threw a pass to A3 inbounds at approximately center court. Immediately after A3 caught the ball, the horn went to end the period.
RULING: The official gave team A a throw-in at the designated spot closest to where A3 caught the ball in-bounds and reset the clock to show 3.2 seconds left. Was the official correct?

Inquiring minds need to know!

Raymond Mon Jul 03, 2006 10:44am

Clock Situation...
 
I have one similar to JR's.

Tie game. Team A throw-in in frontcourt with 7.0 seconds. A2 catches throw-in, shoots, and scores. B1 immediately retrieves ball, commences throw-in. As ball is in the air for Team B's throw-in you recognize that clock is stopped at 5.0 seconds. B2 catches pass near mid-court and clock then starts.

ChuckElias Tue Jul 04, 2006 06:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
After a time-out following a made basket by team B with 4.2 seconds left in a period, A1 is OOB on the endline for the throw-in. A1 throws the ball to A2 who is also OOB on the same endline. The timer started the clock by mistake when A2 touched the ball. Immediately after A2 caught the ball, he threw a pass to A3 inbounds at approximately center court. Immediately after A3 caught the ball, the horn went to end the period.
RULING: The official gave team A a throw-in at the designated spot closest to where A3 caught the ball in-bounds and reset the clock to show 3.2 seconds left. Was the official correct?

Inquiring minds need to know!

I've included this one. Any others? I'm going to send in the plays tomorrow.

ChuckElias Tue Jul 04, 2006 07:13am

We talked about this one for a while. I just thought of it.

PLAY: A1 jumps to attempt a try for goal. While airborne, the ball slips from A1's and travels straight up. A1 catches the ball and returns to the floor. Official rules this was a fumble and player control was lost, so there is no traveling violation. Is the official correct?

What do you think? Is it worth including?

Jurassic Referee Tue Jul 04, 2006 07:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ChuckElias
We talked about this one for a while. I just thought of it.

PLAY: A1 jumps to attempt a try for goal. While airborne, the ball slips from A1's and travels straight up. A1 catches the ball and returns to the floor. Official rules this was a fumble and player control was lost, so there is no traveling violation. Is the official correct?

What do you think? Is it worth including?

Yup, iirc, some people here did agree with that.

ChuckElias Tue Jul 04, 2006 07:56am

Won't you be surprised when "some people" turn out to be right!! :D

Jurassic Referee Tue Jul 04, 2006 09:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ChuckElias
Won't you be surprised when "some people" turn out to be right!! :D

I would not only be surprised, I would be amazed and flabbergasted.:D

ChuckElias Tue Jul 04, 2006 01:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
I would not only be surprised, I would be amazed and flabbergasted.:D

The same kind of amazement as when "some people" were right about the illegal throw-in being an immediate violation? :p

Jurassic Referee Tue Jul 04, 2006 03:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ChuckElias
The same kind of amazement as when "some people" were right about the illegal throw-in being an immediate violation?

<b>Any</b> time you're right, I'm totally amazed.

Just laid that one right out there, didn't ya?:D

Jurassic Referee Tue Jul 04, 2006 08:07pm

Here's two more for you.

(1) The official notices that A1 has dried blood spots on his uniform top. A's trainer states that he has sprayed the blood spots, and the spots are now dry and non-transferable to another player. The official rules that A1 still cannot play in the game unless he wears a uniform top that is completely free of all blood spots, dry or otherwise. Was the official correct?

(2) A1 is an airborne shooter with the ball still in his hands. Defender B1, who does not have a LGP, approaches A1 from the side or rear and gets a hand on the ball while trying to block A1's shot. After this legal block, B1's subsequent momentum causes sufficient contact on airborne A1 to take A1 forcefully to the floor and out-of-bounds. The official ruled that the contact by B1 on airborne A1 was not a foul because it followed a legal block. Was the official correct?

ChuckElias Wed Jul 05, 2006 08:48am

Ok, here's the final list. I sent it this morning. It'll be fun to see if any of these make it to the book.

PLAY: (a) A1 or (b) B1 is preparing to shoot the second of two FTs. While A1 is holding the ball, Coach A tells the official, "I want a TO if s/he makes it." A1's FT is successful. Without any additional request from the coach, the official grants a TO to Team A. Is the official correct?

PLAY: A1 is closely guarded by B1. A2 is momentarily positioned between A1 and B1, as A1 goes around A2's screen. B1 is still within six feet of A1. Official continues the 5-second count. Is the official correct?

PLAY: A1 is closely guarded by B1. A2 steps between A1 and B1 and holds a position between them. B1 is still within six feet of A1. Official continues the 5-second count. Is the official correct?

PLAY: Team A scores a successful field goal. While B1 is holding the ball for the ensuing throw-in, A2 and B2 are charged with a double foul. Official puts the ball in play at the point of interruption and allows A1 to make the throw-in from anywhere along the endline. Is the official correct?

PLAY: A1 dives to the floor and secures control of the ball. A1's momentum causes him/her to roll over while sliding on the floor. Official rules this a traveling violation. Is the official correct?

PLAY: The clock is stopped with 50.3 seconds showing. Team A is awarded a designated spot throw-in. A1 releases the throw-in and (a) the ball is immediately kicked by B1 or (b) the ball is first touched by A2 who is standing out of bounds. After the violation, the clock shows 49.6 seconds. The official rules the clock should not have started and directs the timer to reset the game clock to 50.3 seconds. Is the official correct?

PLAY: Team A is awarded a throw-in on the endline under its own basket. While A1 is holding the ball for the throw-in, A2 falls to his/her hands and knees and starts barking like a dog. As Team B's players are distracted by A2, A1 passes to A3 for an uncontested lay-up. Official rules this a legal play. Is the official correct?

PLAY: A held ball is called and the alternating possession arrow favors Team A. While A1 is holding the ball for the throw-in, A2 and B2 are charged with a double foul. Official rules that the point of interruption is the alternating possession throw-in and instructs the table to switch the arrow after A1's throw-in. Is the official correct?

PLAY: After a time-out following a made basket by team B with 4.2 seconds left in a period, A1 is OOB on the endline for the throw-in. A1 throws the ball to A2 who is also OOB on the same endline. The timer erroneously starts the clock when A2 touches the ball. A2 immediately throws a pass to A3 inbounds at approximately center court. Immediately after A3 catches the ball, the horn sounds to end the period. The official gives team A a throw-in at the designated spot closest to where A3 caught the ball in-bounds and resets the clock to show 3.2 seconds left. Is the official correct?

PLAY: A1 jumps to attempt a try for goal. While airborne, the ball slips from A1's hands and travels straight up. A1 catches the ball and returns to the floor. Official rules this was a fumble and player control was lost, so there is no traveling violation. Is the official correct?

PLAY: The official observes blood on A1's uniform jersey. The blood is (a) recent/wet or (b) old/dry. The trainer assures the official that the blood cannot be transferred to any other player. The official rules that A1 may continue to use the jersey. Is the official correct?

Dan_ref Wed Jul 05, 2006 09:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ChuckElias
PLAY: Team A is awarded a throw-in on the endline under its own basket. While A1 is holding the ball for the throw-in, A2 falls to his/her hands and knees and starts barking <s>like</s> as if he/she is a dog. As Team B's players are distracted by A2, A1 passes to A3 for an uncontested lay-up. Official rules this a legal play. Is the official correct?

Mr Annoying Grammar Guy is wondering how you missed this.

Anyway, good list. I like it as if I had compiled it myself.

ChuckElias Wed Jul 05, 2006 09:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dan_ref
Mr Annoying Grammar Guy is wondering how you missed this.

No, I'm not. "Barking like a dog" is incorrect grammatically? Why? Is this not an acceptable simile? :confused:

Glad you liked the list, tho.

Dan_ref Wed Jul 05, 2006 09:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ChuckElias
No, I'm not. "Barking like a dog" is incorrect grammatically? Why? Is this not an acceptable simile? :confused:

You should take your argument to this Bartleby guy, I could care less (...or should that be I couldn't care less...??).

http://www.bartleby.com/64/C001/033.html

ChuckElias Wed Jul 05, 2006 10:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dan_ref

Interesting. I'm not sure my usage falls under the "slang" uses he mentions, but it's interesting to consider. I was using "like" to mean "akin to" (not really a simile), which I thought would be correct. I'd like to hear Juulie's thoughts on it.

Even tho Dan couldn't care less. :)

Jimgolf Wed Jul 05, 2006 10:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ChuckElias
Interesting. I'm not sure my usage falls under the "slang" uses he mentions, but it's interesting to consider. I was using "like" to mean "akin to" (not really a simile), which I thought would be correct. I'd like to hear Juulie's thoughts on it.

Even tho Dan couldn't care less. :)

"Barking like a dog" is using "like" as a preposition, which is permitted, according to the Bartlesby link. The verb of the prepositional phrase is implied here ("Barking like a dog does") to avoid stilted usage.

"I could care less" is a sarcastic abbreviation for "As if I could care less", or the more likely "Like I could care less". There is no punctuation for sarcasm, unfortunately. When will smilies be added to the grammar books? ;)

Dan_ref Wed Jul 05, 2006 10:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jimgolf
"Barking like a dog" is using "like" as a preposition, which is permitted, according to the Bartlesby link. The verb of the prepositional phrase is implied here ("Barking like a dog does") to avoid stilted usage.

"I could care less" is a sarcastic abbreviation for "As if I could care less", or the more likely "Like I could care less". There is no punctuation for sarcasm, unfortunately. When will smilies be added to the grammar books? ;)

Not that I could care any less, but I think your example argues against Chuck's usage. IMO it should be "Barking as a dog does".

Jurassic Referee Wed Jul 05, 2006 11:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
A1 is an airborne shooter with the ball still in his hands. Defender B1, who does not have a LGP, approaches A1 from the side or rear and gets a hand on the ball while trying to block A1's shot. After this legal block, B1's subsequent momentum causes sufficient contact on airborne A1 to take A1 forcefully to the floor and out-of-bounds. The official ruled that the contact by B1 on airborne A1 was not a foul because it followed a legal block. Was the official correct?

What happened to this one?:confused:

ChuckElias Wed Jul 05, 2006 11:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
What happened to this one?:confused:

Honestly, I didn't think it was worth it. It's so obviously a foul from the description that it doesn't need a ruling. The real question being asked is one of philosophy, not of rules. By rule, it's obviously a foul. I don't think the case book will include a note on philosophy of a legal block. If you strongly disagree and really think it needs to be included, email me and I'll send in another email with that play.

Jurassic Referee Wed Jul 05, 2006 11:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ChuckElias
Honestly, I didn't think it was worth it. It's so obviously a foul from the description that it doesn't need a ruling. The real question being asked is one of philosophy, not of rules. By rule, it's obviously a foul. I don't think the case book will include a note on philosophy of a legal block. If you strongly disagree and really think it needs to be included, email me and I'll send in another email with that play.

Naw, I just get tired of arguing it.:) Just trying to make the point that there is more than one philosophy out there. Personally, I just call each situation individually anyway. I don't believe in "always" or "never" when it comes to fouls.

Camron Rust Wed Jul 05, 2006 11:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dan_ref
You should take your argument to this Bartleby guy, I could care less (...or should that be I couldn't care less...??).

http://www.bartleby.com/64/C001/033.html

I'd prefer not to.

Nevadaref Thu Jul 06, 2006 02:25am

A1 is holding the ball while standing out of bounds during a throw-in. (a) A1 extends the ball across the boundary plane and A2 (a TEAMMATE) touches the ball, but does not take if from A1's hands. or (b) A2 (a TEAMMATE) reaches through the boundary plane and touches the ball, but does not take it from A1's hands.
In both cases, A2 then ceases contact with the ball and A1 makes a throw-in pass to A3. Has a throw-in violation been committed?



Just don't ask Tony! :D

Jurassic Referee Thu Jul 06, 2006 06:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
A1 is holding the ball while standing out of bounds during a throw-in. A2 (a TEAMMATE) reaches through the boundary plane and touches the ball, but does not take it from A1's hands. A2 then ceases contact with the ball and A1 makes a throw-in pass to A3. Has a throw-in violation been committed?

I think that the one we argued was A2 touching the ball <b>in-bounds</b> while thrower A1 was holding it through the plane. Iirc, you said that wasn't a violation and others (:) ) said it was.

Nevadaref Thu Jul 06, 2006 03:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
I think that the one we argued was A2 touching the ball in-bounds while thrower A1 was holding it through the plane. Iirc, you said that wasn't a violation and others (:) ) said it was.

Yep, yep, you're correct. I'll go edit the play to include both cases. Of course, I believe that both are legal.

Corndog89 Fri Jul 07, 2006 12:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ChuckElias
Interesting. I'm not sure my usage falls under the "slang" uses he mentions, but it's interesting to consider. I was using "like" to mean "akin to" (not really a simile), which I thought would be correct. I'd like to hear Juulie's thoughts on it.

I checked in a couple of my old grammar books from college, and I think both would agree that barks like a dog is grammatically correct:

The Holt Handbook, 4th Edition, says:

"When used as a preposition, as indicates equivalency or identity [my emphasis]. 'After classes he works as a manager of a fast-food restaurant'.

"Like, however, indicates resemblance but never identity [my emphasis]. 'Writers like Carl Sandburg appear once in a generation.'"

Barks like a dog clearly indicates resemblance, not equivalency or identity.

The Hodges' Harbrace College Handbook, 7th Edition, says:

"In general usage, like functions as a preposition; as and as if (or as though) function as conjunctions. Although widely used in conversation and in public speaking, like as a conjunction is still controversial in a formal context....In such elliptical construcions as the following, however, the conjunction like is appropriate, even in formal context. 'He is attracted to blondes like a moth to lights.'" This again indicates resemblance, not equivalency or identity.

Hodges' Harbrace defines a preposition as "a function word that always has an object, which is usually a noun or a pronoun; the preposition with its object (and any modifiers) is called a prepositional phrase." In barks like a dog, dog is the object of the prepositional phrase and like is the preposition (function word) that describes the barking.

Of course, I suspect no one really give a sh!t. :rolleyes:

Raymond Fri Jul 07, 2006 07:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Corndog89
Of course, I suspect no one really give a sh!t. :rolleyes:

You are almost correct Corndog.

Actually no one gives a sh!t.;)

ChuckElias Fri Jul 07, 2006 08:24am

You all already know that I'm pretty strange, so I have no problem admitting that I find it very interesting. Especially the part about using "like" as a conjunction. That would not have occurred to me.

Dan_ref Fri Jul 07, 2006 08:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ChuckElias
You all already know that I'm pretty strange, so I have no problem admitting that I find it very interesting. Especially the part about using "like" as a conjunction. That would not have occurred to me.

Like we care...errr...as if we care...errr...

btw I asked my dog what he thinks about this whole thing. He said "BARK! BARK!"

ChuckElias Fri Jul 07, 2006 10:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dan_ref
He said "BARK! BARK!"

Like a tree?

M&M Guy Fri Jul 07, 2006 10:47am

So, this guy walks into a bar with a dog, and announces he has the world's only talking dog. Everyone gathers around, and he proceeds to ask the dog a question:

"What's on the top of a house?"

"Roof!" says the dog.

A few people groan, so the guy say, "Wait, you'll see!. What's on the outside of a tree?"

"Bark!" goes the dog.

Now the crowd is grumbling and walking away. "No, wait, I can prove he really does talk. Honest! Let me ask one more question: Who was the greatest baseball player of all time?"

Someone from the crowd yells out, "Yea, right; he's gonna say "Ruth". So what?" And the crowd quickly disperses.

The dog looks at the guy and say, "Actually, I was going to say DiMaggio; I think he was a better all-around player."

M&M Guy Fri Jul 07, 2006 10:49am

Just so people know I'm trying to keep this on-topic, (:rolleyes:) I'd be interested to see the barking dog play clarified in the casebook.

Dan_ref Fri Jul 07, 2006 10:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ChuckElias
Like a tree?

Geeze, of course not like a tree

Like a dog.

ChuckElias Fri Jul 07, 2006 11:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy
Just so people know I'm trying to keep this on-topic, (:rolleyes:) I'd be interested to see the barking dog play clarified in the casebook.

I included it, but can't promise it'll end up in the book.

ChuckElias Fri Jul 07, 2006 11:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy
So, this guy walks into a bar with a dog, and announces he has the world's only talking dog.

BTW, you're only about 3 years late with this joke. :p

http://forum.officiating.com/showthr...ggio#post85972

M&M Guy Fri Jul 07, 2006 11:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ChuckElias
BTW, you're only about 3 years late with this joke. :p

http://forum.officiating.com/showthr...ggio#post85972

Figures. At least you've got good taste. :p

Corndog89 Fri Jul 07, 2006 09:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
You are almost correct Corndog.

Actually no one gives a sh!t.;)

DOH! (now babbling to get a long enough answer)

ChuckElias Mon May 05, 2008 12:16pm

Ok, I asked for everybody's help in assembling these questions, and I finally got a reply. I guess that I sent them too late to discuss at last year's meeting. In any case, these are the questions that we submitted. The blue text is my explanation of exactly what we were trying to clarify, and the red text is Mary Struckoff's ruling, as related by my friend on the committee.

Quote:

PLAY: (a) A1 or (b) B1 is preparing to shoot the second of two FTs. While A1 is holding the ball, Coach A tells the official, "I want a TO if s/he makes it." A1's FT is successful. Without any additional request from the coach, the official grants a TO to Team A. Is the official correct? (The question here is whether the Time Out has been properly requested.) No...While he/she can be aware, the coach must still request the time out at the appropriate time. Coaches have been known to change their mind.

PLAY: A1 is closely guarded by B1. A2 is momentarily positioned between A1 and B1, as A1 goes around A2's screen. B1 is still within six feet of A1. Official continues the 5-second count. Is the official correct? (Can B1 guard A1 while another opponent is between them?) Yes, in HS...No in college. According to NFHS, the mere fact that an opponent puts themselves between the guard and the player with the ball does not break the closely guarded count. As long as the defender stays within six feet, the count continues. In college, a player getting between the two stops the count.

PLAY: A1 is closely guarded by B1. A2 steps between A1 and B1 and holds a position between them. B1 is still within six feet of A1. Official continues the 5-second count. Is the official correct? (Can B1 guard A1 while A1 is stationary behind another opponent?)

PLAY: Team A scores a successful field goal. While B1 is holding the ball for the ensuing throw-in, A2 and B2 are charged with a double foul. Official puts the ball in play at the point of interruption and allows A1 to make the throw-in from anywhere along the endline. Is the official correct? (Is the play resumed at the POI, which seems to be a throw-in anywhere along the endline? Or since it is not a common foul, is it resumed with a designated spot throw-in?) The throw-in would be from anywhere along the end line. Her judgment is that the POI is the “original” throw in location and situation.

PLAY: A1 dives to the floor and secures control of the ball. A1's momentum causes him/her to roll over while sliding on the floor. Official rules this a traveling violation. Is the official correct? (Is rolling always a violation, or only after momentum has stopped?)
Rolling is allowed IF it were caused by momentum. Traveling cannot be called until momentum had ended. Once momentum stops, then a player that “rolls” away from a defender would be guilty of traveling.

PLAY: Team A is awarded a throw-in on the endline under its own basket. While A1 is holding the ball for the throw-in, A2 falls to his/her hands and knees and starts barking like a dog. As Team B's players are distracted by A2, A1 passes to A3 for an uncontested lay-up. Official rules this a legal play. Is the official correct? (Should this "non-basketball" type of distraction be considered unsportsmanlike?) This was addressed in another year...after the ESPN/U-Tube videos of this play. Yes, it is unsporting and is a “T”.

PLAY: After a time-out following a made basket by team B with 4.2 seconds left in a period, A1 is OOB on the endline for the throw-in. A1 throws the ball to A2 who is also OOB on the same endline. The timer erroneously starts the clock when A2 touches the ball. A2 immediately throws a pass to A3 inbounds at approximately center court. Immediately after A3 catches the ball, the horn sounds to end the period. The official gives team A a throw-in at the designated spot closest to where A3 caught the ball in-bounds and resets the clock to show 3.2 seconds left. Is the official correct? (How do we adjudicate a play when the clock starts improperly? Can we just have a "do-over from the original throw-in spot? If not, where is the ball inbounded and how do we determine the amount of time -- if any -- to put back on the clock?) No clear answer on this one. Too much to write here. It’s based on the “knowledge” of the time that the official had.

PLAY: A1 jumps to attempt a try for goal. While airborne, the ball slips from A1's hands and travels straight up. A1 catches the ball and returns to the floor. Official rules this was a fumble and player control was lost, so there is no traveling violation. Is the official correct? (Is this a loss of player control, allowing a recovery of the fumble, or is it traveling?) Yes.

PLAY: The official observes blood on A1's uniform jersey. The blood is (a) recent/wet or (b) old/dry. The trainer assures the official that the blood cannot be transferred to any other player. The official rules that A1 may continue to use the jersey. Is the official correct? (Does the new wording about "any blood" include blood that is obviously old and or dry?)
In “A” the situation must be resolved, i.e. uniform changed. The trainer plays no role in the decision at the NFHS level. In “B”, Mary has stated that if it is “obviously” old and dried that it would be okay. I don’t like that interpretation, but that’s what she told me.
Seems like Mary sided with me on the fumble in the air, and sided with JR on the dried blood. In any case, thanks to everybody who helped with this. I hope the answers are still interesting to people after all this time.

Now Dan can insert a comment about me not being here anymore. :)

refguy Mon May 05, 2008 12:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ChuckElias
Ok, I asked for everybody's help in assembling these questions, and I finally got a reply. I guess that I sent them too late to discuss at last year's meeting. In any case, these are the questions that we submitted. The blue text is my explanation of exactly what we were trying to clarify, and the red text is Mary Struckoff's ruling, as related by my friend on the committee.


Seems like Mary sided with me on the fumble in the air, and sided with JR on the dried blood. In any case, thanks to everybody who helped with this. I hope the answers are still interesting to people after all this time.

Now Dan can insert a comment about me not being here anymore. :)

Thanks Chuck for the insights and info.

Dan_ref Tue May 06, 2008 04:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ChuckElias
Now Dan can insert a comment about me not being here anymore. :)

You know how when you step in dog crap and the stink lingers even after you clean it off?

Yeah you're still here all right.

Jurassic Referee Tue May 06, 2008 05:37am

Iirc, I was right on 5 out of the 7 that she answered. We differed on the "barking dog" which I thought was silly but OK, and the fumble by an airborne shooter which I though was traveling(still do:) ).

Of course, after seeing some of her other rulings....as in the backcourt one from last year.....:D

Jurassic Referee Tue May 06, 2008 05:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dan_ref
You know how when you step in dog crap and the stink lingers even after you clean it off?

Yeah you're still here all right.

Put on your <i>lederhosen</i>, go out to the local <i>beerhaus</i>, have several steins of <b>real</b> beer and do a l'il <i>oom pa pa</i>-ing. Maybe meet a few new friends and see if you've got time to invade France while you're there also. It might put you in a better mood.

Btw, we alerted Customs about your return. It's a good thing that you <b>enjoy</b> full-cavity searches, isn't it?

CoachP Thu May 08, 2008 09:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ChuckElias
PLAY: Team A is awarded a throw-in on the endline under its own basket. While A1 is holding the ball for the throw-in, A2 falls to his/her hands and knees and starts barking like a dog. As Team B's players are distracted by A2, A1 passes to A3 for an uncontested lay-up. Official rules this a legal play. Is the official correct? (Should this "non-basketball" type of distraction be considered unsportsmanlike?) This was addressed in another year...after the ESPN/U-Tube videos of this play. Yes, it is unsporting and is a “T”.)

Oh goodie..the unsporting police. Whilest I agree with JR it being silly, I wouldn't have labelled it unsporting.

What if I train the cheerleaders do it??:D

bob jenkins Thu May 08, 2008 10:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachP
What if I train the cheerleaders do it??:D

Sexual Harassment lawsuit.

ODJ Thu May 08, 2008 06:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
Chuck, this is what I"d like to see addressed.

A1 is dribbling the ball "east-west", and B1 maintains lgp within 6 feet and in the east-west path. Obviously, if A1 turns and dives toward the basket, the count stops.

Correct in NCAA. In Fed. the count continues.

Quote:

But what if A1 gets head and shoulders past B1 in the "east-west" direction?
I think count ends.

ODJ Thu May 08, 2008 06:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef
Should the clock start on a kicked ball during a throw-in?

Should not because it was not legally touched inbounds.

ODJ Thu May 08, 2008 07:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ChuckElias
PLAY: (a) A1 or (b) B1 is preparing to shoot the second of two FTs. While the shooter is holding the ball, Coach A tells the official, "I want a TO if s/he makes it." The FT is successful. Without any additional request from the coach, the official grants a TO to Team A. Is the official correct?
(a) Yes. His team is on possession of the ball. (b) No.

PLAY: A1 is closely guarded by B1. A2 is momentarily positioned between A1 and B1, as A1 goes around A2's screen. Official continues the 5-second count. Is the official correct?
Yes.

PLAY: A1 is closely guarded by B1. A2 steps between A1 and B1 and holds a position between them. Official continues the 5-second count. Is the official correct?
If the official judges B1 to be within 6 ft. of A1, yes.

PLAY: Team A scores a successful field goal. While B1 is holding the ball for the ensuing throw-in, A2 and B2 are charged with a double foul. Official puts the ball in play at the point of interruption and allows B1 to make the throw-in from anywhere along the endline. Is the official correct?
No. The foul supercedes Team A's right to run.

PLAY: A1 dives to the floor and secures control of the ball. A1's momentum causes him/her to roll over while sliding on the floor. Official rules this a traveling violation. Is the official correct?
Bob answered this one.

PLAY: The clock is stopped with 50.3 seconds showing. Team A is awarded a designated spot throw-in. A1 releases the throw-in and (a) the ball is immediately kicked by B1 or (b) the ball is first touched by A2 who is standing out of bounds. After the violation, the clock shows 49.6 seconds. The official rules the clock should not have started and directs the timer to reset the game clock to 50.3 seconds. Is the official correct?
No and No. The ball should be touched legally inbounds for the clock to start.

PLAY: Team A is awarded a throw-in on the endline under its own basket. While A1 is holding the ball for the throw-in, A2 falls to his/her hands and knees and starts barking like a dog. As Team B's players are distracted by A2, A1 passes to A3 for an uncontested lay-up. Official rules this a legal play. Is the official correct?
Yes. This to me doesn't cross the line of USC.

Comments? Additions?

Hope this helps.

Jurassic Referee Thu May 08, 2008 07:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ODJ
Hope this helps.

WTF?:confused:

Nope, it doesn't help at all. Notwithstanding the fact that some of your answers are completely different (and wrong) than the answers provided by the NFHS, all that you are doing is completely confusing things.

In Chuck Elias' post #68 made on May 11, 2008, , the red-highlighted answers at the bottom of each play is the approved FED ruling that was received to those questions. In the 7 plays that you posted, you have answered #1, #4 and #7 completely wrong from the answers received back from the NFHS. That really ain't much help.

You also didn't happen to notice by any chance that you just responded to a post made in July of 2006? :)

Adam Thu May 08, 2008 07:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ODJ
Hope this helps.

It would have been more helpful if you hadn't ignored this part of Chuck's post:
Quote:

Originally Posted by squirrel man
Ok, I asked for everybody's help in assembling these questions, and I finally got a reply. I guess that I sent them too late to discuss at last year's meeting. In any case, these are the questions that we submitted. The blue text is my explanation of exactly what we were trying to clarify, and the red text is Mary Struckoff's ruling, as related by my friend on the committee.

Unless you are on the committee, of course.

Adam Thu May 08, 2008 07:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef
Should the clock start on a kicked ball during a throw-in?

Quote:

Originally Posted by ODJ
Should not because it was not legally touched inbounds.

What's the rule say?

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rule 5-9-4
If play is resued by a throw-in, the clock shall be started when the ball touches, or is legally touched by, a player on the court after it is released by the thrower.

The rule is vague with room for interpretation. Personally, if the clock does start, I don't think you can correct it as a timing error.

Nevadaref Thu May 08, 2008 07:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Iirc, I was right on 5 out of the 7 that she answered. We differed on the "barking dog" which I thought was silly but OK, and the fumble by an airborne shooter which I though was traveling(still do:) ).

Of course, after seeing some of her other rulings....as in the backcourt one from last year.....:D

My percentage was MUCH higher! :D

But I'm still with you on that backcourt ruling.

jdw3018 Thu May 08, 2008 07:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
The rule is vague with room for interpretation. Personally, if the clock does start, I don't think you can correct it as a timing error.

Why couldn't you? If you're the chopping official, and you never chopped because the violation happened simultaneous with the touching, then you have knowledge that no time should have elapsed. If you know a second came off the clock, I don't see why you couldn't correct it.

Nevadaref Thu May 08, 2008 08:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdw3018
Why couldn't you? If you're the chopping official, and you never chopped because the violation happened simultaneous with the touching, then you have knowledge that no time should have elapsed. If you know a second came off the clock, I don't see why you couldn't correct it.

Yep, since the NFHS added the word "legally" last year the clock should NOT start per rule, and that makes this a timer's error which can be corrected with proper knowledge.

Adam Thu May 08, 2008 08:20pm

I was stressing the "touches" part before the or is legally touched. I think if you'll just over analyze it like I did, you'll see I might be right.

lukealex Fri May 09, 2008 01:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
My percentage was MUCH higher! :D

But I'm still with you on that backcourt ruling.

Ok I'll bite, do you happen to know the link to this particular backcourt play in question?

Nevadaref Fri May 09, 2008 06:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by lukealex
Ok I'll bite, do you happen to know the link to this particular backcourt play in question?

2007-08 Basketball Rules Interpretations

SITUATION 10: A1, in the team's frontcourt, passes to A2, also in the team's frontcourt. B1 deflects the ball toward Team A's backcourt. The ball bounces only in Team A's frontcourt before crossing the division line. While the ball is still in the air over Team A's backcourt, but never having touched in Team A's backcourt, A2 gains possession of the ball while standing in Team A's backcourt. RULING: Backcourt violation on Team A. Team A was still in team control and caused the ball to have backcourt status. Had A2 permitted the ball to bounce in the backcourt after having been deflected by B1, there would have been no backcourt violation. (4-4-1; 4-4-3; 9-9-1)

Jurassic Referee Fri May 09, 2008 08:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
2007-08 Basketball Rules Interpretations

SITUATION 10: A1, in the team's frontcourt, passes to A2, also in the team's frontcourt. B1 deflects the ball toward Team A's backcourt. The ball bounces only in Team A's frontcourt before crossing the division line. While the ball is still in the air over Team A's backcourt, but never having touched in Team A's backcourt, A2 gains possession of the ball while standing in Team A's backcourt. RULING: Backcourt violation on Team A. Team A was still in team control and caused the ball to have backcourt status. Had A2 permitted the ball to bounce in the backcourt after having been deflected by B1, there would have been no backcourt violation. (4-4-1; 4-4-3; 9-9-1)

Yup, it cites R9-9-1 to back it up, and 9-9-1 contradicts this ruling.

Silly monkey.:rolleyes:

Nevadaref Fri May 09, 2008 08:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
It would have been more helpful if you hadn't ignored this part of Chuck's post:
Quote:
<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=6 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD class=alt2 style="BORDER-RIGHT: 1px inset; BORDER-TOP: 1px inset; BORDER-LEFT: 1px inset; BORDER-BOTTOM: 1px inset">Originally Posted by squirrel man
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

http://www.runemasterstudios.com/gra.../funnypost.gif


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:53pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1