![]()  | 
	
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
			
			 
			
			Jump ball to start overtime period.  Player A1 tips the ball and then catches it himself, before it touches another player or the ground.  Clearly a violation and ball is given to team B.  Which was does the possession arrow now point?
		 
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
	
	 | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
			
			 
			
			In NF rules, Team B gets both the arrow and the ball since A1's catching the ball counts as control for establishing the arrow.  Case 6.3.1C(d). 
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
	
	I had never had this call before, yet i've had it 5(!) times this season already. Believe it or not, a couple of the coaches didn't believe me when i explained that the other team got both the arrow and the ball... BTW, my understanding is that under NCAA rules, the offending team would get the arrow...  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
			
			 
			
			This situation is very similar to having a throw in violation on an alternating possession throw in.  For instance, after a jump ball, b1 attempts a throw in but crosses the line.  A1 gets the ball AND  the arrow being that the ball was at the disposal of b1  at the time of the violation.  A VERY hard sell to a coach that doesn't know the rules!!
		 
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
	
	 | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
			
			 
			
			Jeremy is exactly right! 
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
	
	Also remember on a Alternating Possession throw-in if Team A player A1 is making the throw-in and A2 fouls B1 during the throw-in but before it ends then Team A does not lose it's arrow. Team A would have the next AP throw-in. Under the AP throw-in procedures Violations are different than Fouls.  | 
![]()  | 
	
	
| Bookmarks | 
		
  | 
	
		 |