The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Lane Violation (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/27072-lane-violation.html)

coach_x Fri Jun 16, 2006 04:58pm

Lane Violation
 
Ran across a scenario I have never seen in 10 years of officiating & not sure how it should have been handled. I have not checked the case book, but want to see what some of your thoughts are on the ruling. Here you go ...

A1 shooting 2nd of 2 FTs. B1 steps in lane early. A1 shoots and goes in lane early. A1 makes the basket.

So, we have a delayed violation on B1. However, when offense violates, it is immediate whistle. Do you blow it dead & re-shoot because defense violated first? Do you blow it dead & count basket because defense violated? Do you hold whistle & count FT?

This was game 4 of 5 in a long day of kids AAU ball. We just went double violation, possession arrow & moved forward. We talked later & the 3 of us could not agree on "proper" handling of situation.

Thoughts ...

Jurassic Referee Fri Jun 16, 2006 05:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by coach_x
A1 shooting 2nd of 2 FTs. B1 steps in lane early. A1 shoots and goes in lane early. A1 makes the basket.

So, we have a delayed violation on B1. However, when offense violates, it is immediate whistle. Do you blow it dead & re-shoot because defense violated first? Do you blow it dead & count basket because defense violated? Do you hold whistle & count FT?

This was game 4 of 5 in a long day of kids AAU ball. We just went double violation, possession arrow & moved forward. We talked later & the 3 of us could not agree on "proper" handling of situation.

You got it right on the court. It's a double violation blown dead immediately with <b>no</b> FT scored followed by an AP at the closest OOB spot to where the violations occurred. NFHS rule 9-1PENALTY4(b) and 9-1PENALTY3. The only time that you don't have a double violation with an immediate dead ball is if the first violation by the defense is ruled as disconcertion.

Nevadaref Sat Jun 17, 2006 02:38am

As JR told you, you did get it right. I'm stunned that this would spark a discussion for three officials. It is a simple rule.

Just remember that if BOTH violations are by players along the lane, then only the first one is penalized. If there is a violation by the defense along the lane followed by a violation by the shooter or a teammate of his who is OUTSIDE the 3 pt line/FT line extended, then both are penalized. In this case you always do as JR said and cancel the FT if it was made and determine possession by the AP arrow.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:45am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1