The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sun Jan 16, 2000, 10:58pm
Official Forum Member

Nevada Boys1A (lowest level),
I have one game at 300pm and another at 530pm (20 miles away).
It takes me 1:10 minutes to get to the second site and I walk in at 525pm. My partner is no where in sight (yes, I contacted him earlier during the day).
I call my partner with the scorer's cellphone and he says he is on his way. He lives 1 minute from the location of my first game and I know it is going to take him awhile to get to this location.
I ask the home coach if he wants to delay 30 minutes, he and the other coach confer and say no, go ahead with one official (they both state that I am a veteran and I can handle it).
I have a pregame and ask for the players help on out-of-bounds under the basket since I may not see everything. I also ask the coaches to bear with me as I will certainly miss some calls.
1 minute into the game the visiting coach starts saying that it was a mistake to start the game, even though the home team has more fouls. He doesn't like the ones I have to pass on since I can't see through the players.
Midway through the 2nd quarter I warn the coach that I cannot tolerate further his constant questioning of calls.
The half ends with the home team ahead 38-15, 14 fouls against the home team and 9 against the visitors.
The visiting coach says he will not start the second half unless a second official shows up.
I ask him not to do what he said and that I have called my partner, who should arrive shortly. I also say that the 2nd half will start on time and that if he is not on the floor 1 minute after the buzzer sounds ending the intermission that he will be charged with a technical foul.