The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 15, 2000, 12:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 2
Send a message via ICQ to kgoodma1
Post

Situation--team A is bringing the ball up court after a team B basket through a full-court press. A1 attempts to pass the ball to a teammate in A's frontcourt. While the ball is in flight near the division line, B1 bats it back into A's backcourt. I continue my 10-second count and bang team A with a violation. Two questions arise:
1) If the ball breaks the plane of the division line, does the 10-second count stop? or
2) Does the ball need to be POSSESSED across the division line to stop the count.

After I whistled the violation, my partner said if the ball crossed half-court there is no violation. I covered myself by saying the defender reached across half court to hit the ball, but I believe that even if he hadn't, since it wasn't possessed in the frontcourt, the count continues. Comments???
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:30pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1