The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 15, 2000, 01:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 10
Post

To answer this question you must understand Ball Location. Rule 4 Section 4 Article 2 states: A ball which is in contact with a player is in the frontcourt if neither the ball nor the player is touching the backcourt. 4.4.3 states: A ball which is in flight retains the same location as when it was last in contact with a player or the court. In your case if B1 had player location in the front court, even if he reached over to the backcourt, the 10 count ended once he touched the ball. Art N is correct an airborne pass breaking the plane of the division line would not end your 10 count. It would however end if the ball touched the floor in the front court. Casebook 9.8A and B cover this.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1