The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Backcourt (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/25824-backcourt.html)

COBBallRef Wed Mar 29, 2006 03:29pm

Backcourt
 
A2 tips an offensive rebound into the backcourt, A1 Is the first to touch and gain possesion. Is a controled tip considered team control? If not, this is not a backcourt violation in H.S.(correct)?

A1 passes to A2 in the front court, B1 touches the ball and it deflects off A2 into the back court. A1 is the first to touch an gain possesion. Is this a violation? Team A was the last to touch the ball or did they no longer have team control?:

All_Heart Wed Mar 29, 2006 03:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by COBBallRef
A2 tips an offensive rebound into the backcourt, A1 Is the first to touch and gain possesion. Is a controled tip considered team control? If not, this is not a backcourt violation in H.S.(correct)?

Correct


Quote:

Originally Posted by COBBallRef
A1 passes to A2 in the front court, B1 touches the ball and it deflects off A2 into the back court. A1 is the first to touch an gain possesion. Is this a violation? Team A was the last to touch the ball or did they no longer have team control?:

Violation, they still have team control.

mick Wed Mar 29, 2006 04:15pm

What All Heart said. :)

M&M Guy Wed Mar 29, 2006 04:24pm

COBBallRef - welcome to the forum!

For there to be a backcourt violation, remember the basics:
1. - Team A has control in the front court.
2. - Team A is the last to touch ball before it goes in the backcourt.
3. - Team A is the first to touch ball in the backcourt.

Using those basics, in your first scenario, there is no team control on a shot and rebounding tip, so #1 doesn't exist and no violation. In your second scenario, all three points exist, so there is a violation. Team control doesn't end just because player control ends.

Backcourt violation is a topic widely discussed around here. One of our "esteemed members" has a yearly quiz on this subject; you can find the latest version at:

http://forum.officiating.com/showthr...backcourt+quiz

M&M Guy Wed Mar 29, 2006 04:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mick
What All Heart said. :)

What? Isn't that answer too short?

mick Wed Mar 29, 2006 04:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy
What? Isn't that answer too short?

No <fontfont.>

M&M Guy Wed Mar 29, 2006 04:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mick
No <fontfont.>

Oh. <fontfont.>

Jurassic Referee Wed Mar 29, 2006 05:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy
Oh. <fontfont.>

How did you guys do that?:confused:

Secret society or sumthin'?

M&M Guy Wed Mar 29, 2006 05:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
How did you guys do that?:confused:

Secret society or sumthin'?

Yep. We took a poll and figured out how to do it, then started our own little club.

<font size = -3>Hint: Do a "Quote" on one of our posts...</font size>

ChuckElias Wed Mar 29, 2006 05:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
How did you guys do that?:confused:

My guess is that the quotation counts toward the number of characters needed.

M&M Guy Wed Mar 29, 2006 05:26pm

No. <fontfont.>

ChuckElias Wed Mar 29, 2006 05:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy
COBBallRef - welcome to the forum!

For there to be a backcourt violation, remember the basics:
1. - Team A has control in the front court.

Basically correct, but could be misinterpreted. There must be team control, and the ball must have frontcourt status; but Team A doesn't have to be holding or passing the ball in the frontcourt.

If A1 is holding the ball in the backcourt and then bounces it into the frontcourt with enough backspin that it comes back to him in the backcourt, that would be a violation; even tho no member of Team A "had" the ball in the frontcourt.

M&M Guy Wed Mar 29, 2006 05:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ChuckElias
Basically correct, but could be misinterpreted. There must be team control, and the ball must have frontcourt status; but Team A doesn't have to be holding or passing the ball in the frontcourt.

If A1 is holding the ball in the backcourt and then bounces it into the frontcourt with enough backspin that it comes back to him in the backcourt, that would be a violation; even tho no member of Team A "had" the ball in the frontcourt.

Chuck - you're right; it's just that I wanted to keep it short like my hero, "Cliff". I read his notes all the time.

tjones1 Wed Mar 29, 2006 06:02pm

If you want to see live examples of the backcourt violation, watch M&M, if he calls it, you'll what's <i>not</i> a backcourt violation. :D I'm only kidding, of course.

M&M, I ran into Bryan Pierce last night at the Lake Land College All-Star game. We had a lot of fun... it was a good time. The final score was 131-128.

MajorCord Wed Mar 29, 2006 06:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy
COBBallRef - welcome to the forum!

For there to be a backcourt violation, remember the basics:
1. - Team A has control in the front court.
2. - Team A is the last to touch ball before it goes in the backcourt.
3. - Team A is the first to touch ball in the backcourt.

Using those basics, in your first scenario, there is no team control on a shot and rebounding tip, so #1 doesn't exist and no violation. In your second scenario, all three points exist, so there is a violation. Team control doesn't end just because player control ends.

Backcourt violation is a topic widely discussed around here. One of our "esteemed members" has a yearly quiz on this subject; you can find the latest version at:

http://forum.officiating.com/showthr...backcourt+quiz


Aahhh! So BBR has been "outed" as one of the mysterious "esteemed members". Can you say "Valerie Plame"? :D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:59pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1