![]() |
Back to the false multiple?
I wrote the first thread at the end of an exhausting day. I don't think I was quite clear enough.
There were two fouls. My call was either the same time or slightly after my partner's. (It was a very noisy gym.) He was trail, calling a shooting foul. I was lead, calling a foul on another defensive player fouling a different offensive player trying to get in position for a rebound. I can't find anything in the case book to support this being a false multiple. In fact, I haven't found any casebook saying I had a call. I wrote to the rules tech of my association. He says that my foul should have been ignored and only the shooting foul administered. Somehow that doesn't seem right. It seems like the spirit of the rulebook goes toward calling all fouls. Thoughts? Rita |
Multiple foul: two or more teammates commit personal fouls against the same opponent at approximately the same time.
False Multiple: a situation in which there are two or more fouls by the same team and the last foul is committed before the clock is started following the first, and at least one of the attributes of a multiple foul is absent. Your situation fits this definition perfectly. |
Quote:
He's wrong. You did it perfectly. Many others here will tell you the same thing. Keep it up. :) |
Quote:
Which would look strange. BTW, my supposedly senior partner had no idea what to do. Rita |
Quote:
You penalize both fouls and administer the fouls in the order that they occurred. The first foul is against the shooter. He gets his free throw(s) with no players on the lane because the ball isn't in play after the last free throw. You now penalize the second foul. If the team fouled is in the bonus, they'll shoot their free throws with players on the lanes. If they're not in the bonus yet, they'll get a designated spot throw-in at the closest spot to where the foul occurred. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:04pm. |