The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 10, 2006, 04:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
When 2-10-5 says points scored, it means other baskets or FTs which were merited and were made following the error, but before it was recognized. You never count the points from erroneous FTs.

For example, A1 is fouled and it is Team B's sixth of the half. However, the officials erroneously award A1 the bonus. A1 makes the first FT and misses the second. B1 rebounds the ball and passes ahead to B2 who scores a basket. During the dead ball after the goal, the scorer sounds the horn, the game is stopped, and the officials are informed of the error.

What 2-10-5 is telling you to do, is to COUNT the basket by Team B, but the point scored by A1 on the unmerited FT is cancelled per 2-10-4. Also, you don't put any time back on the clock and the game continues with an end line throw-in for Team A.

Hope that helps clarify this for you.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:21am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1