The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Simultaneous Fouls question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/25386-simultaneous-fouls-question.html)

BktBallRef Wed Mar 08, 2006 05:53pm

Re: Re: What is simultaneous?
 
[QUOTE]Originally posted by BadNewsRef
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:



Therefore, I would treat it as a false double foul and rule that you would shoot FTs as what you describe would not meet the definition of simultaneous fouls. Since the fouls will probably be called by different officials, you should have room to rule that one came after the other. You could possibly do this in the original situation as well.
You lost me on this one. Thought second half of a false double foul occurs after the ball is dead and before the clock starts:

Rule 4 Section 26 Art. 12. False double foul. A false double foul occurs when there are fouls
by both teams, the second of which occurs before the game clock is started
after it is stopped for the first but such that at least one of the attributes of
a double foul is absent.
B1 fouls A1 as whistled by the L.
A2 curses B2 as whistled by the T.

You're the official. You have discretion to judge that the foul by A2 occurs after the foul by B1.

Then it becomes a false double foul instead of a simlutaneous foul.

FrankHtown Wed Mar 08, 2006 06:07pm

Or if you decide that A2 cursed first, you disregard the contact because now the ball is dead, and you only penalize if it was intentional or flagrant???

FrankHtown Wed Mar 08, 2006 06:12pm

But, going back to the original situation, do you disregard the intentional foul, report the two offenders, and go to POI?

Or do you report both fouls, but let the player offended by the intentional (A2) shoot free throws, and give team A the ball back nearest the spot of the foul?

Raymond Thu Mar 09, 2006 08:52am

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
This situation was mentioned to me last night before a game and I think I know the answer, but I want to run it by the forum. Very simple situation, I want to know the proper administration.

Simultaneous fouls: A1 fouls B1, B2 fouls A2. B2's foul is intentional.

Clearly simultaneous, clearly intentional. How do we administer?

This is from the NCAA rulebook: Rule 10 Sect 23 Art 2e

No free throws for:
1. Each common foul before the bonus rule takes effect.
2. A player-control personal foul.
3. A team-control foul.
4. A double personal foul or simultaneous personal foul, even
when one or both of the fouls are flagrant or intentional.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:34pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1