![]() |
This situation was mentioned to me last night before a game and I think I know the answer, but I want to run it by the forum. Very simple situation, I want to know the proper administration.
Simultaneous fouls: A1 fouls B1, B2 fouls A2. B2's foul is intentional. Clearly simultaneous, clearly intentional. How do we administer? |
No FT's-go to POI.
|
That's what I thought, JR, and that's what the guys on the game did. But it just seems wrong NOT to shoot FTs for an intentional foul. I kept looking through the case plays and couldn't find anything. I just kept coming back to the definition of "simultaneous foul", which says that it's two fouls committed by opponents, but not against each other.
|
Agreed. Though it seems "unfair" to A, it's no different than double personal fouls when A is in the bonus and B isn't -- A "loses" out on the FTs.
|
What would we do in the case of A1 fouls B1, and simultaneously B2 curses A2?...An intentional foul, like a technical foul, carries its own penalty...
Would we just go to POI?????? |
What is simultaneous?
Quote:
A personal foul by A1 against B1 and a technical foul by by B1 against A1 would not be considered a double foul, as the rule book refers a double technical or a double personal. The rule book does not define a personal foul and a technical foul, committed by opponents against each other as a double foul. The way I read it, the only difference in double fouls and simultaneous fouls is that simultaneous fouls are not committed against by two opponents against each other. Therefore, I would treat it as a false double foul and rule that you would shoot FTs as what you describe would not meet the definition of simultaneous fouls. Since the fouls will probably be called by different officials, you should have room to rule that one came after the other. You could possibly do this in the original situation as well. |
Re: What is simultaneous?
Quote:
With that in mind I think that the originl situation would be a simultaneous foul since that definition doesn't break them out individually like the double fould definition does...however I am thinking that you could correctly "assume" that one occured before the other and now make it a false double....or better yet "make" one occur before the other. |
Re: Re: What is simultaneous?
Quote:
A1 fouls B1 and B2 fouls A2 or A1 gets a T for calling one official a doody head at the same time B2 gets a T for saying it to another official. |
Re: Re: Re: What is simultaneous?
Quote:
|
Re: Re: Re: Re: What is simultaneous?
Quote:
DF or DTF are committed by players on both teams against each other. SF fouls are fouls committed by both teams at the same time, but not player against player, and that is the difference between the two. The rule is clearly intended as simultaneous personal or technicals and not one personal and one technical. |
Re: Re: Re: Re: What is simultaneous?
Quote:
|
Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: What is simultaneous?
Quote:
|
Re: What is simultaneous?
[QUOTE]Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:
Rule 4 Section 26 Art. 12. False double foul. A false double foul occurs when there are fouls by both teams, the second of which occurs before the game clock is started after it is stopped for the first but such that at least one of the attributes of a double foul is absent. |
Bad News Man
[QUOTE]Originally posted by BadNewsRef
Quote:
|
Re: Bad News Man
Quote:
|
Re: Re: What is simultaneous?
[QUOTE]Originally posted by BadNewsRef
Quote:
A2 curses B2 as whistled by the T. You're the official. You have discretion to judge that the foul by A2 occurs after the foul by B1. Then it becomes a false double foul instead of a simlutaneous foul. |
Or if you decide that A2 cursed first, you disregard the contact because now the ball is dead, and you only penalize if it was intentional or flagrant???
|
But, going back to the original situation, do you disregard the intentional foul, report the two offenders, and go to POI?
Or do you report both fouls, but let the player offended by the intentional (A2) shoot free throws, and give team A the ball back nearest the spot of the foul? |
Quote:
No free throws for: 1. Each common foul before the bonus rule takes effect. 2. A player-control personal foul. 3. A team-control foul. 4. A double personal foul or simultaneous personal foul, even when one or both of the fouls are flagrant or intentional. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:05am. |