The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Is it a shot (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/25342-shot.html)

tjchamp Tue Mar 07, 2006 04:13pm

What would prevent the official from saying, in his judgement, a shot occured? Player went up for a shot, ball did leave hands, actually hit the backboard, he just came down with it.

assignmentmaker Tue Mar 07, 2006 04:19pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by assignmentmaker
I understand that 9.5.1 is not exactly the play under consideration. But it establishes, does it not, that a player may leave the floor with control, have control terminate then be reestablished, then legally return to the floor? [/B]
No, it sureasheck doesn't. The legality of the play depends on the <b>type</b> of control that is terminated in the air. 9.5.1 says that if <b>team</b> control ends, it's legal to return to the floor. If team control doesn't end, it's a travel- or a held ball if a defender stopped the player from releasing the ball.

Simple as that. [/B][/QUOTE]

As 'the man' says in the Sprint commericial, "Maybe".

Player control, but not team control, terminates during a fumble that originates on the ground and a player may then recover the ball without traveling. I don't think the situation at hand is addressed crisply within the rules.

Jurassic Referee Tue Mar 07, 2006 04:42pm

Quote:

Originally posted by assignmentmaker
[/B]
As 'the man' says in the Sprint commericial, "Maybe".

Player control, but not team control, terminates during a fumble that originates on the ground and a player may then recover the ball without traveling. I don't think the situation at hand is addressed crisply within the rules. [/B][/QUOTE]As the man in the swivel chair said "What?".

The situation at hand is a fumble in the air, not a fumble on the ground. Different rules apply. Trust me. Or not.

[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Mar 7th, 2006 at 04:52 PM]

Jurassic Referee Tue Mar 07, 2006 04:51pm

Quote:

Originally posted by tjchamp
What would prevent the official from saying, in his judgement, a shot occured? Player went up for a shot, ball did leave hands, actually hit the backboard, he just came down with it.
Nothing in that case. It always has been and always will be a judgement call if the ball leaves the hands. In that case, I wouldn't call a travel if the ball hit the backboard. I'd give the player the benefit of the doubt and call it a try.

We're discussing a "fumble", not a "try" though.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:50pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1