The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 03, 2006, 03:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 508
I realize this has been addressed before, but I would appreciate hearing your views on this one, (hopefully) last time.

Four seconds left in the game, Team B scores to go up 1. Team A is granted a timeout, after which play resumes with A1 making a throw-in from the baseline to A2 in Team A's backcourt. A2 dribbles quickly up the court, through pressure, and makes a layup just before the horn goes off. Ball goes in, Team A wins.

It was apparent to most everyone but, apparently, the officials, that the clock did not start for several seconds after the ball was caught by A2.

Under FED rules, and assuming the officials were aware the clock had not started, what were their options either:

1. while the play was going on, or

2. after the shot was made and, in this case, the horn sounded?

[Edited by assignmentmaker on Mar 3rd, 2006 at 04:26 PM]
__________________
Sarchasm: the gulf between the author of sarcastic wit and the recipient.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:29am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1