The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   2 seconds left 2 point lead! (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/25291-2-seconds-left-2-point-lead.html)

Rick82358 Thu Mar 02, 2006 08:28am

this play was observed in the ORCC tournament

Play, Team A scores a basket to close the gap to, Team B (80) and Team A (78) with 2.1 seconds left on the game clock.

Team B, B -1 runs the endline after the scored basket while there is pressure from Team A, B - 1 throws an entry pass to his team mate B - 2 who goes air borne, catches the ball gains control and immediately goes to the floor.

Lead official blow whistle and calls a travel!

The game clock shows 0.1 of a second left!

Team is granted the ball via the violation, A - 1 designated spot throws the ball into the playing court to A -2 who is cutting down the lane opposite side, as the ball reaches the air borne A -2 his is bumped just as the buzzer sounds.

How would you rule on the play as an official on the court, please do not give me a rule book answers.

You do not have the aide of a monitor!

Did it take a full (2) second for the play to complete?

Would you put time on the clock or would you leave it as it is?

If you put time back on the clock, how much?

If you did not, then how would you rule on the entry pass and contact against A -2?

What if anything was missed?

Jurassic Referee Thu Mar 02, 2006 08:31am

Quote:

Originally posted by Rick82358
please do not give me a rule book answers.


You got it.

SmokeEater Thu Mar 02, 2006 08:39am

Without being there and seeing the play develop, there is no way anyone can give you any answers other than what is stated in the rule book.

Rick82358 Thu Mar 02, 2006 08:42am

Okay give a rule book answer and then comment on how you would have actually handled it!

JugglingReferee Thu Mar 02, 2006 08:47am

Quote:

Originally posted by Rick82358
this play was observed in the ORCC tournament

Play, Team A scores a basket to close the gap to, Team B (80) and Team A (78) with 2.1 seconds left on the game clock.

Team B, B -1 runs the endline after the scored basket while there is pressure from Team A, B - 1 throws an entry pass to his team mate B - 2 who goes air borne, catches the ball gains control and immediately goes to the floor.

Lead official blow whistle and calls a travel!

The game clock shows 0.1 of a second left!

Team is granted the ball via the violation, A - 1 designated spot throws the ball into the playing court to A -2 who is cutting down the lane opposite side, as the ball reaches the air borne A -2 his is bumped just as the buzzer sounds.

How would you rule on the play as an official on the court, please do not give me a rule book answers.

You do not have the aide of a monitor!

Did it take a full (2) second for the play to complete?

Would you put time on the clock or would you leave it as it is?

If you put time back on the clock, how much?

If you did not, then how would you rule on the entry pass and contact against A -2?

What if anything was missed?

It seems as though travel was th incorrect call. However, yo can't go back and nullify that call.

The official has to rule what happened first, first touching of the ball inbounds, or a foul.

Foul happened first: admin the foul with 0.1s on the clock. Play continues with either an A throw-in nearest the foul (non-bonus situation) or with a bonus situation if in the bonus.

Inbounds touching first: game over unless it was deemed that the foul was during the period of time where A2 was touching the ball and his touching was the first after the throw-in.

My $0.02

ChuckElias Thu Mar 02, 2006 09:35am

Why did Team B inbound the ball? :confused:

mdray Thu Mar 02, 2006 10:04am

good question Chuck - I assumed this sitch was a high school contest, so I was wondering why Team B would attempt to inbound the ball

SmokeEater Thu Mar 02, 2006 10:06am

In the association I work the clock stops after made baskets in the last minute of the game or OT period. Therefore it would require an inbound pass to start the clock again.

ChuckElias Thu Mar 02, 2006 10:08am

Quote:

Originally posted by SmokeEater
In the association I work the clock stops after made baskets in the last minute of the game or OT period. Therefore it would require an inbound pass to start the clock again.
Ok, but then why did it take 2 whole seconds for the kid to catch the ball and hit the floor?

SmokeEater Thu Mar 02, 2006 10:09am

There in is the delema I am in. Should time have been put back on the clock? Unless the Official delayed the Whistle on the violation. ( Only way I can see the time ticking off)

bgtg19 Thu Mar 02, 2006 10:12am

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Why did Team B inbound the ball? :confused:
I'm assuming the throw in took place because the clock stopped at 2.1 after a made basket and that the ORCC is some kind of a community college tournament that plays by college rules. Otherwise, you're right Chuck that a throw in would make no sense.

I don't see any error, in the description, for making a travel call. Put time on the clock? Well, I guess you'd have to see the whole thing take place. If the player went up, touched the ball, then landed, then went down, then the whistle blew, then the timer had a normal lag time to stop the clock, I can certainly see that taking 2 seconds. I don't think I put any time on the clock here.

As for the foul-at-the-buzzer situation, I think I largely agree with what JugglingReferee said: basically, which happened first. Just remember that if the offensive player catches that ball, you cannot have a "shooting foul." FTs only if bonus.

Jurassic Referee Thu Mar 02, 2006 10:34am

The ORCC is a small-college league in Ohio, iirc, at about the D3 level. I would imagine that they use NCAA rules.

bob jenkins Thu Mar 02, 2006 10:52am

Quote:

Originally posted by Rick82358

Did it take a full (2) second for the play to complete?



Probably not. I think jumpig 4' and returning takes about .5 seconds (my physics is too rusty to check exactly).

Quote:

Would you put time on the clock or would you leave it as it is?


I'd probably let 1 second go off. But, if I wasn't certain of the time, I'd have to go by the timer.



Dan_ref Thu Mar 02, 2006 10:58am

Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:

Originally posted by Rick82358

Did it take a full (2) second for the play to complete?



Probably not. I think jumpig 4' and returning takes about .5 seconds (my physics is too rusty to check exactly).



Quote:

Would you put time on the clock or would you leave it as it is?
I think it's unlikely that A1 made the full round trip 4' up & back down with the ball, that in itself would be a travel. ;)
Quote:



I'd probably let 1 second go off. But, if I wasn't certain of the time, I'd have to go by the timer.



Yeah, I think unless there was some unusual circumstance I wouldn't want the clock to stay at .1 seconds in this play.

A second sounds good.

assignmentmaker Thu Mar 02, 2006 11:50am

Quote:

Originally posted by Rick82358

Did it take a full (2) second for the play to complete?

Would you put time on the clock or would you leave it as it is?

If you put time back on the clock, how much?

If you did not, then how would you rule on the entry pass and contact against A -2?

What if anything was missed?

1. You appear to be suggesting that the clock started 'too early'. One would have to see the play. I believe that, if the Ref has definite knowledge ("I was counting"), he may correct an obvious timing error in this situation.

2. The 'entry pass contact' issue was recently discussed at length in another thread on this forum. Apparently, under NCAA rules, there cannot be a common foul with 3 tenths of a second or less, but under FED rules - it could be a common foul, and, were the foulee's team in the bonus, s/he would shoot.

[Edited by assignmentmaker on Mar 2nd, 2006 at 11:54 AM]


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:32am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1