The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Need help on two calls!! (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/25189-need-help-two-calls.html)

VaCoach Fri Feb 24, 2006 10:09pm

First one: Inbounds pass is thrown and is lodged between the backboard and the basket....Violation or jump ball, possession arrow?

Second one: One offical calls block, other offical calls charge. They report both fouls, possession arrow or POI rule and offensive team inbounds.

mplagrow Fri Feb 24, 2006 10:18pm

What rules? NFHS? NCAA? Oh, and just to add to your dilemma, what if the first situation was an alternating possession throw-in?? :D

[Edited by mplagrow on Feb 24th, 2006 at 10:20 PM]

Adam Fri Feb 24, 2006 10:43pm

Quote:

Originally posted by VaCoach
First one: Inbounds pass is thrown and is lodged between the backboard and the basket....Violation or jump ball, possession arrow?

Second one: One offical calls block, other offical calls charge. They report both fouls, possession arrow or POI rule and offensive team inbounds.

First: violation. He did not throw it so that it touches another player on the court.

Second: POI. This year, it's POI in NFHS as well as NCAA.

yankeesfan Fri Feb 24, 2006 11:43pm

in the second situation, if the basket is made it should count. there is no team control on a shot attempt, how can you go to POI on this. i realize it is a double foul, but since there is no team control on a shot attempt, this foul situation still goes to the arrow.

[Edited by yankeesfan on Feb 25th, 2006 at 12:53 AM]

RefNVa Sat Feb 25, 2006 12:35am

If there is a successful try then you count the bucket, report the fouls and then it is B's ball. I believe this is handled the same as a double foul on a successful try.

Jurassic Referee Sat Feb 25, 2006 01:27am

Quote:

Originally posted by yankeesfan
in the second situation, if the basket is made it should count. there is no team control on a shot attempt, how can you go to POI on this. i realize it is a double foul, but since there is no team control on a shot attempt, this foul situation still goes to the arrow.


We just went through this <i>ad infinitum</i> in another thread. You're wrong. See case book play 4.19.8SitC. It goes to the POI- which is a team B throw-in after a made basket.

crazy voyager Sat Feb 25, 2006 07:39am

1. If normal throw in, go to the arrow
if it's a call after possesion is gained from the arrow, blow anothre jump ball, change the arrow (the throw in has been done, so arrow should change) hand the other team the ball, then switch the arrow once again (after completed throw in)
this was a trick question on the last test I made


2. go to the arrow,
if ball goes in (offensive player releases before foul)defensive team runs endline after made points


VaCoach Sat Feb 25, 2006 11:25am

Double foul
 
In the second situation, the double foul, there was no shot taken.It was simply a dribble, contact, one called block and one called charge!!

crazy voyager Sat Feb 25, 2006 11:47am

then it's an ordinary double foul, report it and go to the arrow

VaCoach Sat Feb 25, 2006 12:25pm

But Crazy??
 
Why would you go with the arrow? Why would you not use the POI rule and give the offense the ball back?? I don't see the difference in this double foul and if the two post players were pushing each other and a double foul was called. POI says the offense would keep the ball. Whats the difference?? Thanks

crazy voyager Sat Feb 25, 2006 12:46pm

Remember that this is FIBA

I've been taught to after on ball double fouls the alternating possesion rules is used. And as usuall I'm to tired (or rather I'm not feeling like spending time) to go and look up the rule citation.

But as I've been taught POI is only used during off ball double fouls, arrow= on ball double fouls

VaCoach Sat Feb 25, 2006 01:17pm

Double foul
 
POI is used anytime there is a double foul including technicals, when one team has ball control. In the case of a "block/charge" double foul being called, one team did have ball control so therefore I think they keep the ball.
I am talking NFHS rules. Thats what I am tring to find out...is this covered in the rule book??

Adam Sat Feb 25, 2006 01:26pm

VaCoach. I think you're right. POI should definitely be in play here.

Jurassic Referee Sat Feb 25, 2006 01:48pm

Re: Double foul
 
Quote:

Originally posted by VaCoach
POI is used anytime there is a double foul including technicals, when one team has ball control. In the case of a "block/charge" double foul being called, one team did have ball control so therefore I think they keep the ball.
I am talking NFHS rules. Thats what I am tring to find out...is this covered in the rule book??

New this year:

Rule 7-5-9-- "After a double personal foul, a double technical foul or a simultaneous foul, play shall be resumed at the point of interruption".

BktBallRef Sat Feb 25, 2006 02:01pm

Re: But Crazy??
 
Quote:

Originally posted by VaCoach
Why would you go with the arrow? Why would you not use the POI rule and give the offense the ball back?? I don't see the difference in this double foul and if the two post players were pushing each other and a double foul was called. POI says the offense would keep the ball. Whats the difference?? Thanks
Coach, ignore crazy. He uses FIBA rules. They have nothing to do with us.

You can also go to:

http://virginiapreps.rivals.com/foru...yle=2&Reset=-1

We'd be glad to have you.

Snake~eyes Sat Feb 25, 2006 02:07pm

Re: Re: But Crazy??
 
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
We'd be glad to have you.
WE? Are you an active poster at VApreps?

stick Sat Feb 25, 2006 02:16pm

Re: Double foul
 
Quote:

Originally posted by VaCoach
In the second situation, the double foul, there was no shot taken.It was simply a dribble, contact, one called block and one called charge!!
Sounds to me like one of them called a foul that wasn't in their area. It happens and in this case the officials should have got together and came up with something.

VaCoach Sat Feb 25, 2006 02:46pm

Thanks Snaqwells
 
Thanks for your input...I believe thats correct also, but have had several senior officials tell me "possession arrow"....

Adam Sat Feb 25, 2006 03:24pm

Re: Re: Double foul
 
Quote:

Originally posted by stick
Quote:

Originally posted by VaCoach
In the second situation, the double foul, there was no shot taken.It was simply a dribble, contact, one called block and one called charge!!
Sounds to me like one of them called a foul that wasn't in their area. It happens and in this case the officials should have got together and came up with something.

We don't have nearly enough information to make this judgment.

Adam Sat Feb 25, 2006 03:26pm

Re: Thanks Snaqwells
 
Quote:

Originally posted by VaCoach
Thanks for your input...I believe thats correct also, but have had several senior officials tell me "possession arrow"....
You'd have to judge the atmosphere, but ask them how they make that ruling in light of this year's new rule making POI the presiding principle for double fouls. Not a good idea in a game, but if you're discussing it with them in a more neutral setting, you could ask.
Or, if you want, you could ask during pregame. At the very least, you might plant a bug in their ear that way and get them to check when they get home.
Another idea would be to contact the head of the local association and ask for his/her interpretation.

FishinRef Sat Feb 25, 2006 05:10pm

On the second sitch - POI (NFHS Rules 2005)

Without a doubt!!

If an official is going to adhere so closely to the rule book that he reports both a block and a charge, then he had better use the ENTIRE Rule Book to finish the play.

POE = POI

Every Varsity and JV pre-game I've done for the last several years includes how to handle double whistles.

MAKE EYE CONTACT, PRIMARY OFFICIAL TAKES THE CALL. - PROBLEM AVOIDED!!!!!!!!!



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:16am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1