The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Fri Feb 24, 2006, 12:12am
Official Forum Member

As a rookie, I learn something every game.

I over-ruled my partner on a traveling call. He was behind the play on a loose ball. A1 went to the floor and recovered the ball. He started dribbling the ball while on the floor, then proceeded to get up. My partner called traveling. Without thinking, I corrected his call. I went over to him and explained that this kid started dribbling the ball while on the ground. You can't travel while you are dribbling the ball. This seemed to upset him to no end. He proceeded to tell me about the experienced refs that he had worked with and how I would be "eaten alive" by varsity coaches if I made that call. Apparently, I embarassed him in front of everyone.

I learned that the real matter was that the ball was in his area. Even though I saw what the real call should be, I was at fault for not keeping my eyes in my own area. It seems that I was "ball hawking".

What is more important? Watching an area of the court where there are no players, or making sure that the game is called fairly?

Is it really that bad to be over-ruled?
Old Fri Feb 24, 2006, 12:47am
Do not give a damn!!

First of all you cannot over-rule another official. You can only offer information that might make them decide what to call. It is possible that your partner saw something (on the travel) that you did not see.