The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 15, 2006, 09:07pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by Whistles & Stripes
I'd still like to know how the ball became "live" on that play? As far as I can tell, the player grabbed a dead ball and ran down and threw up a prayer.
The ball was live as soon as the FT shooter got it from the administering official, as per rule 6-1-2(c). Because of the official's error in not blowing it dead when the FT was missed, it remained live throughout the rebound and the subsequent shot.

The error made was that the official(s) didn't blow the ball dead when they should have. Unfortunately, there is no rule extant to cover an official's error in that situation. If the timer had started the clock even though the official had blown the whistle or signalled the ball was dead, then maybe you coulda called it a timer's mistake and corrected it that way. You can't correct it though if the official mistakenly started the clock, or if he allowed the clock to start.

Make a little more sense now?

[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Feb 15th, 2006 at 09:09 PM]
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1