The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Need advice on SIXTH foul (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/24893-need-advice-sixth-foul.html)

FishinRef Fri Feb 10, 2006 11:11am

Boys jv game last week. Closely played game, but B1 thinks he is the 3rd official. Here is the sitch, less than 1 minute remaining, I'm trail following A1 in backcourt. A1 gets trapped. B1 hammers A1, literally a closeline to the back. Tweet - Intentional. B1 screams "that was ridiculas." Tweet - Technical. I report both fouls. Scorer informs me that the Intentional was B1's 5th, and the T was his 6th. At the end of the game, my partner questions whether any additional actions should be taken against B1 since the his 6th was a T. I told him I was only aware of a player being penalized for the next game due to a Flagrant Foul. Can anyone point me in the right direction?

All_Heart Fri Feb 10, 2006 11:17am

No penalty for 6 fouls even if one is a technical.

Any type of ejection (flagrant, 2 technicals) results in a 1 game suspension (depending on your local state rules).


ChrisSportsFan Fri Feb 10, 2006 11:18am

Since the coach had not been informed that his player had fouled out, he is not yet bench personnel so this is not on the coach. With the lane cleared, shoot for the intentional and then shoot the T. A's ball at midcourt. Without the T it would have been 2 FT's with the lane cleared and A's ball at POI. Don't forget to write your report.

tjones1 Fri Feb 10, 2006 11:21am

You are correct. This player is probably not going to sit out the next game, unless there is a State thing.

A flagrant or another technical would have that player sit out the next game in IL.

tjones1 Fri Feb 10, 2006 11:23am

Chris,

Quick question. I'm just asking cause it's not the case in Illinois. Why would he need to fill out a report? There was no ejection. Just wondering...

AZ_REF Fri Feb 10, 2006 11:26am

Quote:

Originally posted by ChrisSportsFan
Since the coach had not been informed that his player had fouled out, he is not yet bench personnel so this is not on the coach. With the lane cleared, shoot for the intentional and then shoot the T. A's ball at midcourt. Without the T it would have been 2 FT's with the lane cleared and A's ball at POI. Don't forget to write your report.
Not to be nitpicky but it's not A's ball at POI (well it is in this case but anyways) it's A's ball at the spot nearest the foul.

FishinRef Fri Feb 10, 2006 11:30am

Thanks guys, I was having a hard time tracking down anything in the Rule Book or the Case Book that would describe the situation.


Hope you have "mute crowds" and "All-American games" for the rest of the season!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

crazy voyager Fri Feb 10, 2006 11:32am

in Fiba a 6th foul towards a player in an automatic bench T towards the coach. It's somewhere in the casebook, can't remember were (and I havn't got one to check in)

FishinRef Fri Feb 10, 2006 11:33am

No report for this game in Virginia either.

FishinRef Fri Feb 10, 2006 11:46am

The administration was as follows:
1. A1 shot 2 ft for intentional
2. A2 shot 2 ft for T
3. A3 got a spot throw-in at the division line.

Apparently there is some discrepancy on whether the throw in was correct. Feel free to point out if we screwed up.

ChrisSportsFan Fri Feb 10, 2006 11:50am

Quote:

Originally posted by AZ_REF
Quote:

Originally posted by ChrisSportsFan
Since the coach had not been informed that his player had fouled out, he is not yet bench personnel so this is not on the coach. With the lane cleared, shoot for the intentional and then shoot the T. A's ball at midcourt. Without the T it would have been 2 FT's with the lane cleared and A's ball at POI. Don't forget to write your report.
Not to be nitpicky but it's not A's ball at POI (well it is in this case but anyways) it's A's ball at the spot nearest the foul.

Isn't that the same spot?

ChrisSportsFan Fri Feb 10, 2006 11:52am

Quote:

Originally posted by tjones1
Chris,

Quick question. I'm just asking cause it's not the case in Illinois. Why would he need to fill out a report? There was no ejection. Just wondering...

Sorry, I assumed everyone has to send a report to the state office for T's. My-bad

dblref Fri Feb 10, 2006 12:10pm

Quote:

Originally posted by FishinRef
No report for this game in Virginia either.
No state requirement in VA, but my association requires that we report all T's (players and coaches) the night of the game. If there are jections, they have to be reported that night because the commissioner has to contact the school within 24 hours. Believe some sort of written report also has to be provided.



[Edited by dblref on Feb 10th, 2006 at 12:13 PM]

AZ_REF Fri Feb 10, 2006 01:51pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ChrisSportsFan
Quote:

Originally posted by AZ_REF
Quote:

Originally posted by ChrisSportsFan
Since the coach had not been informed that his player had fouled out, he is not yet bench personnel so this is not on the coach. With the lane cleared, shoot for the intentional and then shoot the T. A's ball at midcourt. Without the T it would have been 2 FT's with the lane cleared and A's ball at POI. Don't forget to write your report.
Not to be nitpicky but it's not A's ball at POI (well it is in this case but anyways) it's A's ball at the spot nearest the foul.

Isn't that the same spot?

Well in this case it is. But if you had a way offball intentional foul it would be where the foul happened. For example A1 is dribbling in the backcourt when B1 grabs A2's jersey underneath A's basket. POI would be in backcourt, the sport closest to the foul would be on the baseline.

tjones1 Fri Feb 10, 2006 03:15pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ChrisSportsFan
Quote:

Originally posted by tjones1
Chris,

Quick question. I'm just asking cause it's not the case in Illinois. Why would he need to fill out a report? There was no ejection. Just wondering...

Sorry, I assumed everyone has to send a report to the state office for T's. My-bad

No problem. Just wondering Chris, so in MO do have you submit a report if you issue a technical to a player? Thanks again.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:50am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1