The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Touching Lines on a Throw-in (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/24843-touching-lines-throw.html)

BktBallRef Wed Feb 08, 2006 10:27pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by roadking
can a player inbounding the ball jump over the boundry line (without touching) before releasing the ball?
After a made or awarded basket - legal.

During a spot throw-in - illegal.

The thrower must remain on or over the throw-in spot or it's a violation. If he jumped across the boundary line, then he's no longer over the 3' spot that's OOB.

Say what?

Casebook play 7.6.2 sez that "it is permissible for the thrower to move backward or <b>forward</b> within the 3-foot-<b>wide</b> designated area without violating...". Casebook play 4.42.6 also mentions the designated spot as only requiring the thrower to keep any portion of his body on or over the 3-foot <b>width</b> of the designated spot.

There's no rule that I know of that says that the designated spot is limited to the boundary line at the front, as well as a set distance to the back, except that they can't climb the bleachers. There's nothing in rule 9-2 that's being violated that I'm aware of either. If I'm missing something, can you please point me to the rule that I'm missing?

JR, the player can move forward or backwards over the designated-spot. But the designated-spot is OOB, not inbounds. Therefore, it does not extend across the boundary line. And yes, I have seen this in an interp on the NF site.

BktBallRef Wed Feb 08, 2006 10:30pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Oz Referee
It's different in FIBA. All lines are considered to be of zero width, so if inbounds and you touch the line, you have gone out of bounds. But if you are out of bounds and touch the line, you have touched the court, and thus violated. Same applies for all other lines on the court.
You're missing the point, OZ. Yes, the OOB line has zero width in NFHS, NCAA, and NBA, too. The line is the inside edge of the BOUNDARY LINE. If you have a 2 foot wide border around the court serving as a boundary line, the entire 2 feet area is OOB. But you can't step on the inside edge of the boundary line.

assignmentmaker Thu Feb 09, 2006 02:16am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by roadking
can a player inbounding the ball jump over the boundry line (without touching) before releasing the ball?
After a made or awarded basket - legal.

During a spot throw-in - illegal.

The thrower must remain on or over the throw-in spot or it's a violation. If he jumped across the boundary line, then he's no longer over the 3' spot that's OOB.

Say what?

Casebook play 7.6.2 sez that "it is permissible for the thrower to move backward or <b>forward</b> within the 3-foot-<b>wide</b> designated area without violating...". Casebook play 4.42.6 also mentions the designated spot as only requiring the thrower to keep any portion of his body on or over the 3-foot <b>width</b> of the designated spot.

There's no rule that I know of that says that the designated spot is limited to the boundary line at the front, as well as a set distance to the back, except that they can't climb the bleachers. There's nothing in rule 9-2 that's being violated that I'm aware of either. If I'm missing something, can you please point me to the rule that I'm missing?

Rule 4-42-6 characterizes the throw-in spot as "three feet wide with no depth limitation . . ." and notes that "The thrower must keep one foot on or over the spot until the ball is released."

Rule 9-2-5 says " . . . The thrower shall not carry the ball directly onto the court"; that is, the thrower shall not touch the court inbounds while still possessing the ball. Thus the spot cannot be inbounds.

I think these rules entitle the thrower to break the plane of a boundary line, even to the extent leaping in the air with a foot extended over the inbounds area of the court; but, until the ball is released, the thrower must keep one foot either on or over the spot.

Jurassic Referee Thu Feb 09, 2006 08:24am

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by roadking
can a player inbounding the ball jump over the boundry line (without touching) before releasing the ball?
After a made or awarded basket - legal.

During a spot throw-in - illegal.

The thrower must remain on or over the throw-in spot or it's a violation. If he jumped across the boundary line, then he's no longer over the 3' spot that's OOB.

Say what?

Casebook play 7.6.2 sez that "it is permissible for the thrower to move backward or <b>forward</b> within the 3-foot-<b>wide</b> designated area without violating...". Casebook play 4.42.6 also mentions the designated spot as only requiring the thrower to keep any portion of his body on or over the 3-foot <b>width</b> of the designated spot.

There's no rule that I know of that says that the designated spot is limited to the boundary line at the front, as well as a set distance to the back, except that they can't climb the bleachers. There's nothing in rule 9-2 that's being violated that I'm aware of either. If I'm missing something, can you please point me to the rule that I'm missing?

JR, the player can move forward or backwards over the designated-spot. But the designated-spot is OOB, not inbounds. <font color = red>Therefore, it does not extend across the boundary line</font>. And yes, I have seen this in an interp on the NF site.

Yabut, it's still legal for the thrower to break the plane of the boundary line or move backwards to the stands. The only restriction to the thrower that I can see anywhere in the book concerns width, not depth.

I don't remember that particular interpretation being issued, TH. Usually the ones the NFHS posts on their site end up the next year in the case book.

MTD, you got anything in the attic on this one? It's a play you probably ain't ever gonna see- it's almost physically impossible- but I would like to know the definitive ruling.

Nevadaref Thu Feb 09, 2006 08:33am

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by roadking
can a player inbounding the ball jump over the boundry line (without touching) before releasing the ball?
After a made or awarded basket - legal.

During a spot throw-in - illegal.

The thrower must remain on or over the throw-in spot or it's a violation. If he jumped across the boundary line, then he's no longer over the 3' spot that's OOB.

Didn't we just have this discussion a couple of weeks ago?

Jurassic Referee Thu Feb 09, 2006 08:49am

Quote:

Originally posted by Nevadaref
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by roadking
can a player inbounding the ball jump over the boundry line (without touching) before releasing the ball?
After a made or awarded basket - legal.

During a spot throw-in - illegal.

The thrower must remain on or over the throw-in spot or it's a violation. If he jumped across the boundary line, then he's no longer over the 3' spot that's OOB.

Didn't we just have this discussion a couple of weeks ago?

Did we? Got a link to that thread?

So.....where do you stand on this one(in 40,000 words or less)?

Oz Referee Thu Feb 09, 2006 07:08pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by Oz Referee
It's different in FIBA. All lines are considered to be of zero width, so if inbounds and you touch the line, you have gone out of bounds. But if you are out of bounds and touch the line, you have touched the court, and thus violated. Same applies for all other lines on the court.
You're missing the point, OZ. Yes, the OOB line has zero width in NFHS, NCAA, and NBA, too. The line is the inside edge of the BOUNDARY LINE. If you have a 2 foot wide border around the court serving as a boundary line, the entire 2 feet area is OOB. But you can't step on the inside edge of the boundary line.

I realise what you are saying, but FIBA is different. If there was a 2 foot wide boundary line in FIBA and you were out of bounds ready to throw the ball in - then the OUTSIDE edge of the line is the start of the court. However, if standing inbounds, then the INSIDE edge of the line is the start of OOB.

BktBallRef Thu Feb 09, 2006 09:46pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Oz Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by Oz Referee
It's different in FIBA. All lines are considered to be of zero width, so if inbounds and you touch the line, you have gone out of bounds. But if you are out of bounds and touch the line, you have touched the court, and thus violated. Same applies for all other lines on the court.
You're missing the point, OZ. Yes, the OOB line has zero width in NFHS, NCAA, and NBA, too. The line is the inside edge of the BOUNDARY LINE. If you have a 2 foot wide border around the court serving as a boundary line, the entire 2 feet area is OOB. But you can't step on the inside edge of the boundary line.

I realise what you are saying, but FIBA is different. If there was a 2 foot wide boundary line in FIBA and you were out of bounds ready to throw the ball in - then the OUTSIDE edge of the line is the start of the court. However, if standing inbounds, then the INSIDE edge of the line is the start of OOB.

Wow. Forgive me but that's damn goofy.

Oz Referee Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:44pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Wow. Forgive me but that's damn goofy. [/B]
Yeah it is kinda anti-intuitive, but once you grasp it, it is easy to referee. Basically a player touching a line is always in the section of the court that they don't want to be. In other words, a player shooting a free throw is considered to violate (and enter the key) by touching the line. Or when a player attempts a 3 pointer, if they touch the line it is only a 2 point attempt.

On inbounds if a defender touches the line while defending the inbound pass, then they have crossed the OOB line and a technical may be issued. But a player out of bounds comits a violation when they touch the line. So in this sitch the one line can be considered to be simulatenously in AND out of bounds :)

zebraman Fri Feb 10, 2006 12:08am

Quote:

Originally posted by Oz Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Wow. Forgive me but that's damn goofy.
Yeah it is kinda anti-intuitive, but once you grasp it, it is easy to referee. Basically a player touching a line is always in the section of the court that they don't want to be. In other words, a player shooting a free throw is considered to violate (and enter the key) by touching the line. Or when a player attempts a 3 pointer, if they touch the line it is only a 2 point attempt.

On inbounds if a defender touches the line while defending the inbound pass, then they have crossed the OOB line and a technical may be issued. But a player out of bounds comits a violation when they touch the line. So in this sitch the one line can be considered to be simulatenously in AND out of bounds :) [/B]
That's more than damn goofy. That's damn-damn-damn goofy.

Z


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:45am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1