The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 06, 2006, 09:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,212
Quote:
Originally posted by FVB58
Fed Rules. Team A behind by one point. Two-tenths of a second left on the clock. Ball is inbounded to A1 and caught with two hands. A1 attempts a try and is fouled immediately and before clock expires.

The debate is not over a try or a tap with less than three-tenths of second. That is understood. Is the shooter still protected on a try even though the try would be disallowed?

Bob J. would you please chime in on this one?


BP
You can't ahve a "Shooting foul" on this play (given that A1 catches the ball).

NCAA says that the game is over and any foul other than I or F is ignored (4-67.5, AR 45). I don't recall a similar play in the FED case book (but I don't have it handy to check), but the ruling makes sense to me. Once A1 catches the ball, there's no way to have a try, so no "common foul" will interfere with normal offensive or defensive maneuvers. (A foul before A1 catches the ball could be a common foul.)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:29am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1