The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 07, 2006, 01:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 508
Quote:
Originally posted by BOBBYMO
Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:
Originally posted by BOBBYMO
Yesterday in a (NCAAW)D-1 game there was a out of bounds play on the baseline. The O team ran a stack play and locked arms so that the D could not line up between them prior to the ball being thrown in.

Is this legal or does the D have the right to line up between them if they want to?

After a quick search in the rule book I could not see anything that said either way if the D had the right to line up to defend where ever they wanted.

This is a play that I have not ever seen or heard of.... Whats your opinion???

Legal or not???
NCAA 7-6-6b and 7-6-6c indicate the spaceing -- if it's parallel, the defense must be allowed between; if it's perpendicualr, the defense is not entitled to be between.

Thanks Bob.. I found it now also
Under FED rules, is it correct that only 7.6.4, which addresses Team A's positioning when making a throw-in on its endline, applies to the matter of inter-positioning? That there's no mandate to inter-position players when throw-ins are along the other 3 boundaries?
__________________
Sarchasm: the gulf between the author of sarcastic wit and the recipient.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:22pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1