![]() |
In overtime, without noticing, the players line up the wrong way for a jump ball and then a kicked ball is called on the visiting team, but no one ever established possession. After finding out that the players were lined up the wrong way the official felt that they had a violation that negated the jump ball situation, and since the violation was going to give the home team the ball, then they felt like the possession arrow should be given to the visiting team. Can the jump ball situation be a correctable error even though you have a violation or is the jump ball not a correctable error because of the violation?
Thanks in advance. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Two addtional points. One. In going the wrong direction, all points scored, fouls committed, and time consumed shall count as if the team had gone the proper direction. Two. Be careful what you call a "Correctable Error." Correctable Errors are specifically enumerated in 2-10-1 and only involve free throws and scoring. There are only five (5) as follows: Failure to award a merited free throw. Awarding an unmerited free throw. Permitting a wrong player to attempt a free throw. Attempting a free throw at the wrong basket. Erroneously counting or canceling a score. Additionally, the administration of these is somewhat complicated. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
1. You cannot redo the jumpball even though the players were facing the wrong direction. You had a violation and it was called. You move on from there.
2. Chuck is right about the initial setting of the arrow. 3. If a held ball/AP situation occurred prior to this throw-in being administered, you would have to have another jump ball in the center circle since the AP has not yet been established. Although with the new POI rule, I can't even think of a situation that would warrant this. There were plenty under last season's rules. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
The arrow is INITIALLY SET when the ball is given to A (there are other cases / times when it's INITIALLY SET). IT doesn't reverse after this throw-in. See the rules on SETTING the arrow and REVERSING the arrow -- I don't have the books handy, but it's in either rule 4 or rule 6, iirc. |
Quote:
RULE 4, SECTION 3 SETTING DIRECTION OF INITIAL ARROW Alternating-possession control is established and the initial direction of the possession arrow is set toward the opponent's basket when: ART. 1 . . . A player secures control of the ball, as after the jump ball. ART. 2 . . . The ball is placed at the disposal of the free thrower after a common foul when the bonus free throw is in effect. ART. 3 . . . <font color = red>The ball is placed at the disposal of the thrower after: a. A violation during or following the jump before a player secures control.</font> b. The free throws for a noncommon foul. c. A common foul before the bonus free throw is in effect. NOTE: This procedure is used only to establish the alternating-possession procedure. See 6-4 for using the procedure and reversing the possession arrow. |
Alright, already. The light finally came on.:D I read the rule. I totally understand. Thanks!!
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:53am. |