The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 02, 2006, 08:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 11
Years ago, when I played high school and small time college basketball...if you had the ball and slipped and fell to the court, it was a traveling violation.

Now, if you fall down, you can slide around and try to get the ball to a team mate.

When did this rule change?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 02, 2006, 09:10pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
If you have control of the ball and are standing up, it is traveling to touch the floor with anything other than your hands or your feet.
Note, "If you have control" of the ball.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 02, 2006, 09:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
If you fall with the ball, it's still traveling. But if you dive for a loose ball and slide after gaining control on the ground, there's no violation.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 02, 2006, 09:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 11
thanks chuck.

Although I still think back in the day, you would be called anytime you moved around on the floor with the ball (sliding included)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 02, 2006, 11:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Send a message via AIM to Back In The Saddle Send a message via MSN to Back In The Saddle Send a message via Yahoo to Back In The Saddle
There's still restrictions on what you can do when you get the ball on the floor. If you're momentum causes you to slide, that's fine. But once you've stopped, or if you are already stopped, then you cannot roll over or attempt to get up. If you're on your back, however, you can sit up as long as you don't otherwise move.

Don't move that pivot cheek
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 03, 2006, 12:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Tidewater Virginia
Posts: 252
Many times the the player temporarily loses control of the ball on the way to the floor, then gains it again after they are on the floor - Therefore no travel call.
__________________
Failure is fertile ground on which to plant new seeds.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 03, 2006, 12:36pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
If you fall with the ball, it's still traveling. But if you dive for a loose ball and slide after gaining control on the ground, there's no violation.
Also, as Chuck is well aware, in NCAA hoops a player may go to one knee providing the pivot foot remains stationary.
mick
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:36pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1