![]() |
seems to me, pick up your dribble and land BOOM, BOOM (left foot, right foot)
Im my eyes, those are you two steps, and as soon as you pick up either foot (you are lifting your pivot foot) or taking a third step (or both.) Why is this allowed? |
Simple. It's specifically allowed for in the rules. Take it up with the rules committee.
|
There is a specific rule related to the JUMP STOP?
|
yup.
|
I see it now. Added it in 2004, but it still makes no sense to me.
How can you have no pivot foot? Even if you suppose the rule as it is written: when you land on both feet simultaneously, then either can be the pivot foot. OK. So as you go to jump again, the left one comes up first (so this is NOW the right is your pivot foot) As soon as you lift the right one...you have just traveled. It is rule changes like this that errode the fundamentals imo. |
Quote:
Similarly, the rules stipulate that if you receive a pass with one foot on the floor and jump off the foot, you may land on both feet simultaneously. But then you are not allowed a pivot foot. Make sense? Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
|
Chuck
This rule was amended in 2004, so dont act like it is perfectly clear and anyone that is confused by it is stupid. For many years, this kind of move would have resulted in a TRAVELING VIOLATION. The rules commitees have the right to change rules...fair enough. Still doesnt mean that some old school fans of the game cant see it as a travel. |
Quote:
I'm not saying you're stupid. I'm saying you clearly don't know the rule. And you didn't. If Mark DeNucci makes a trip to his attic this weekend, maybe he can tell us exactly when the jump stop provision was added in the traveling definition. |
Quote:
It is legal and it was legal when I was playing over 20 years ago. We were taught to do the move when I played in HS. Peace |
The rule has not changed. Neither has the interpretation. It's been the same for years. But you're definitley confused by it and I can understand that.
There are two different jump stops. 1- Player catches the ball with neither foot on the floor. a- If he lands on both feet simultaneously, either foot can be the pivot. b- If he lands on one foot followed by the other, the first foot to land is the pivot. 2- Player catches the ball with one foot on the floor. a- He must land on both feet simultaneously. If he lands one, then the other, he's traveled. |
for clarification, you get a step---and a half-----when the left foot hits, that becomes the pivot foot...when the right foot hits, that is your ONE step...you then get a half of a step by lifting the pivot foot. And then shooting, or passing, before the pivot foot hits the floor, which would make two steps and a travel. You have never been able to have two steps...only a step and a half....
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
As long as he doesn't start his dribble after lifting the pivot foot....
|
Quote:
It's unclear to me in reading your posts whether you are (1) asking whether the rule has changed, (2) complaining that officials aren't calling travelling correctly, or (3) suggesting that the rule be removed (or changed back to being a travel). I *think* it's #3 -- and, if so, we can have that discussion, but I don't think it will go very far. None of us is on the FED rules committee, and (most of) the players, coaches, fans seem to like the rule, so I'd guess it will stay. |
Quote:
|
Mr. Mrkleen,
As attorneys for J.Crow, we inform you that Mr. Jenkins has granted our client the Exclusive Rights to any pointless and absurd Posts featured on this Board. (Other than those by Jurassic Referee protected under the ADA.) Please cease and desist from your current line of reasoning. Lionel Trane, Esq. Topp, Bottoms & O'Neil, LTD. |
Hi Guys,
I posted this in another tread, but it fits this disscussion more. I've researched this rule because I see it called incorrectly and misunderstood many times. A jump stop after ending a dribble is a move becoming more and more popular in Girls HS basketball and some refs call travelling as soon as the girl lands on both feet after ending her dribble in the air with both feet off the ground. There are several rules in the HFHS book that need to be understood. Rule 4, section 15 Dribble, ART 4: Knowning when the dribble ends is important. If the dribble ends after the player jumps into the air they may land with both feet and still have a pivot. Rule 4, section 43 Travel, ART 1 through 5: If a player ends their dribble while one foot is on the ground and jumps into the air with that foot and lands with both feet, he may not pivot, but he can jump off one/both feet and shoot/pass as long as his feet/foot does not touch the ground before he releases the ball. NCAA definition: I wish the HFHS would include this: Section 42. Jump Stop. Art. 1. A jump stop is executed when a player catches the ball while moving or dribbling with: a. One foot on the playing court, jumps off that foot and lands simultaneously on both feet (no pivot foot). b. Two feet off the playing court, lands on one foot, jumps off that foot and lands simultaneously on both feet (no pivot foot). Art. 2. A jump stop may also be executed when the dribbler has one foot on the playing court, initiates a jump off that foot, ends the dribble with both feet off the playing court and lands simultaneously on both feet (either foot can be established as the pivot foot). Lou |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:10am. |