|  | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			I saw this happen and wondered if it was handled correctly. Please let me know your thoughts and where in the rulebook is this covered. Team A has 7 team fouls and team A-1 if fouled before a shot is taken. The foul is reported to the scorer's table and the ref indicates the foul shot situation to be a 1 and 1.(bonus) The Lead official before bouncing the ball to A-1 on the line tells players on the lane that it is to be a two shot foul situation. A-1 shoots and misses, ball lands on the floor and no one reacts, then coach yells "rebound", and player A-2, retrieves the ball and puts it into his basket. On one else has moved from the line. What should be done ( if anything) to correct the mistake of the ref telling both teams it was to be a 2 shot foul? The officials discussed this for about 3 mins and then decided to count the basket and give the ball to Team B out of bounds. Needless to say, Team B coach was not happy. What rule covers this? | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 
				__________________ Sarchasm: the gulf between the author of sarcastic wit and the recipient. | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 What really should have happened is the guy handling the FTs should have said "one & one" instead of "two". But he didn't, and no one obviously blew the thing dead afterwards. I believe they got it right, A gets 2 points for waking up first, B gets to run the endline. 
				__________________ 9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 As to what the officials coulda/shoulda done about it after they allowed A to score, sure, either they let it stand or one of the officials points out that s/he blew his whistle before the shot. 
				__________________ Sarchasm: the gulf between the author of sarcastic wit and the recipient. | 
| 
 | ||||
| Quote: 
 He should have gotten it right at first but he didn't. He could have fixed it per the case book, but he didn't. Telling the OP a remedy exists that was not followed does not answer the question. And I can't imagine coach B would be relieved knowing he got screwed twice on the way to his opponent getting 2 points. 
				__________________ 9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg | 
| 
 | |||||
| Quote: 
 Perhaps both answers are informative. 
				__________________ Sarchasm: the gulf between the author of sarcastic wit and the recipient. | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 
				__________________ 9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg | 
|  | 
| Bookmarks | 
| 
 |  |