The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 02, 2006, 01:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 48
I saw this happen and wondered if it was handled correctly. Please let me know your thoughts and where in the rulebook is this covered.
Team A has 7 team fouls and team A-1 if fouled before a shot is taken. The foul is reported to the scorer's table and the ref indicates the foul shot situation to be a 1 and 1.(bonus) The Lead official before bouncing the ball to A-1 on the line tells players on the lane that it is to be a two shot foul situation. A-1 shoots and misses, ball lands on the floor and no one reacts, then coach yells "rebound", and player A-2, retrieves the ball and puts it into his basket. On one else has moved from the line. What should be done ( if anything) to correct the mistake of the ref telling both teams it was to be a 2 shot foul? The officials discussed this for about 3 mins and then decided to count the basket and give the ball to Team B out of bounds. Needless to say, Team B coach was not happy.
What rule covers this?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:15pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1