The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 01, 2006, 10:52am
fan fan is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 51
Player A1 is in frontcourt takes shot, shot hits rim then goes into backcourt without being touched by anyone. A1 goes and recovers ball in backcourt. Backcourt violation? Same situation except touches player on team A in frontcourt after hitting rim and then goes into backcourt before being recovered by member of team A. Backcourt violation?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 01, 2006, 11:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Idaho
Posts: 1,474
No and No.

Team control ends with the release of the shot. Team control would not begin again until a team has secured and controlled the ball. A touch would likely not be considered control.
__________________
"There are no superstar calls. We don't root for certain teams. We don't cheat. But sometimes we just miss calls." - Joe Crawford
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 01, 2006, 11:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,273
What Tony said......

In order to establish team control, a player must gain player control of the ball - a touch, slap, or bat of the ball doesn't establish control.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 01, 2006, 01:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mid-Hudson valley, New York
Posts: 751
Send a message via AIM to Lotto
More specifically, team control is established when player control is established, which occurs when a player is either holding or dribbling the ball in bounds.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 01, 2006, 05:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by Lotto
More specifically, team control is established when player control is established, which occurs when a player is either holding or dribbling the ball in bounds....
... and there's no backcourt violation without team control.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:59pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1