The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 31, 2006, 02:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2
Question

This happened in a game a friend of mine was officiating, during the initial jump ball one of the jumpers tapped the ball once and then caught it inside the circle which of course is a violation. The question is what team gets the arrow, did control start when the player caught the jump ball and then violated? or is there no control because the jump ball never ended? Thanks in advance for your replys.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 31, 2006, 02:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,010
Jumper from Team A is the one that grabbed the ball after the tap. Control is established when the ball is at the disposal of Team B for the ensuing throw in. Arrow points to team A.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 31, 2006, 02:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Frisco (Dallas), Texas
Posts: 167
Quote:
Originally posted by Davidm855
This happened in a game a friend of mine was officiating, during the initial jump ball one of the jumpers tapped the ball once and then caught it inside the circle which of course is a violation. The question is what team gets the arrow, did control start when the player caught the jump ball and then violated? or is there no control because the jump ball never ended? Thanks in advance for your replys.
Thanks for your question David.

If jumber A1 catches the jumb ball, he has violated Rule 6.3.7. Team B has the ball for the trow-in and Team A has the alternating possesion arrow. Control had not been established.

Evidenced by Case 6.4.1 as follows:

Following the jump between A1 and B1 to start the first quarter, the jump ball: (d) is caught by A1. Ruling: In (d), Team B will have a throw-in because of the violation and the arrow for the alternating possession will be pointed towards Team A's basket. (4-12-1; 4-28-1)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 31, 2006, 02:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,557
Quote:
Originally posted by Davidm855
This happened in a game a friend of mine was officiating, during the initial jump ball one of the jumpers tapped the ball once and then caught it inside the circle which of course is a violation. The question is what team gets the arrow, did control start when the player caught the jump ball and then violated? or is there no control because the jump ball never ended? Thanks in advance for your replys.
It's not a "double whammy." If the team violates the other team gets the ball but they get the arrow.

EDIT: Just realized my post didn't make sense.

[Edited by Snake~eyes on Jan 31st, 2006 at 02:45 PM]
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 31, 2006, 02:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2
Thanks for the replys, This is what we thought the answer would be, that a team wouldn't be penalized twice for a single violation.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:11pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1