The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 30, 2006, 01:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 872
Question

Can a player with the ball commit an intentional foul? The rule and the casebook seem to speak to defense only.

Rita
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 30, 2006, 02:05pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,557
Yes, a player in control of the ball may commit an intentional foul. The penalty for this foul does not fall under the new team control rule change, where the defensive player fouled does not shot foul shots.

In other words, the fouled player does shoot the 2 free throws, then his/her team is awarded a throw-in nearest where the foul happened.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:24am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1