The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sun Jan 29, 2006, 06:07pm
Official Forum Member

Ok fellas here I am needing some help and input on what I am calling my first experience as the "R" in a college level game. This Saturday I've been given an opportunity to the be the "R" in a college game. The level of the game is NJCAA and maybe not all that impressive for some. But for me it is important for me to make a great impression and we do the very best. I have been officiating for about two years now and for me it has been a quick and hard working progression. So given this chance is another big step in the mist of many big steps I have taken in my short officiating career. I have set through many pre-games of my games and others, I grew up and constantly stay around b-ball. I know there are many things to cover but I don't want the two experienced guys I am with to feel like I am waisting their time. By covering too many things-I was told that the pre-game should take about 30-45 minutes to cover, write everything down. Any suggestions?

Old Sun Jan 29, 2006, 06:49pm
Do not give a damn!!

Congratulations on being assigned the Referee. You should be proud of that accomplishment. Not everyone is considered to be the Referee. I have only been assigned once to the new assignor that I work for. You should be happy about that.