The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 27, 2006, 09:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 768
NAIA game...A1 (5 ft tall) steals ball from B1, A1 head to basket for layup, as he shoots, ball touches lowest part of backboard and is DEFINITELY still on the way up, when out of no where comes B2 and swats it into the 10th row!!! Everyone is owing and ohhing, but the coach is complaining that it has to be goaltending because it touched the backboard!!! I told him that wasn't the definition of a goaltend and it was legal! That is correct isn't it????

and also would this be correct in nfhs too??
__________________
DETERMINATION ALL BUT ERASES THE THIN LINE BETWEEN THE IMPOSSIBLE AND THE POSSIBLE!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 27, 2006, 10:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
NFHS and NCAA

You can't have GT on a try unless the ball is own the way down.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 27, 2006, 10:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 768
thought so, just heard it so much the other night, the coach started making me question myself..hate it when that happens!!!!!
__________________
DETERMINATION ALL BUT ERASES THE THIN LINE BETWEEN THE IMPOSSIBLE AND THE POSSIBLE!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 27, 2006, 11:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 259
Quote:
Originally posted by jritchie
thought so, just heard it so much the other night, the coach started making me question myself..hate it when that happens!!!!!
Thats a very tough judgement call sometimes. Some kids like to get it high off the glass and others very low. Those who usually put it up low on the glass tend to bang it off the board hard and hope it catches the front of the rim and drops. It's a tough call though. Normally if the ball touches the glass then it probably would be goaltending. In your case, maybe not. If you felt it was on the way up, good call.
__________________
Nate
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 27, 2006, 12:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 348
I was told not to get in between with it touching the backboard or not. If it hits the backboard and has a legit chance to go in, then just blow the whistle and bang it home.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 27, 2006, 12:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Thumbs down

You were told? Why would you disregard whether the ball was going up or on it's why down?
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 27, 2006, 12:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 348
Considering the source it was coming from, you won't ever see me argue it. By the way it was an ACC/SEC official who has worked many a great games and the most recent one to date is the Virgina Tech/Duke game where Dockery hit the half courter to win it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:16pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1