The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 23, 2006, 11:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 14
Question

I attended a lower level DIII Men's College basketball game over the weekend. I saw something that I had a question about. I officiate HS level and I know the ruling for HS but, maybe, it's different for College. Situation. Player A drives to the basket and gets hammered. Basket goes in and the player is injured. Coach/Trainer are allowed on the floor to attend to the player. Official gives the Coach the option to leave the injured player in to attempt the free throw. Isn't the player required to leave the court and the Coach allowed to substitute any player from the bench to attempt the free throw?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 23, 2006, 11:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
I believe the NCAA rule is the same as NFHS. And that is that he can take a TO and leave him in. Otherwise, he has to come out.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 23, 2006, 11:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Flushing,Michigan
Posts: 29
Don't quote me but I think because the foul stopped the action and not the injury of the player the coach now has that option?
__________________
"YOUR NEVER BIGGER THAN THE GAME YOUR IN"
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 23, 2006, 11:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by MichiganOfficial
Don't quote me but I think because the foul stopped the action and not the injury of the player the coach now has that option?
Well, I quoted you. Sorry. Not sure what "option" you're talking about, but the reason for stopping play is irrelevant to the situation. Tony's reply was exactly correct, whether the play was stopped due to injury or a foul.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 23, 2006, 12:10pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
[QUOTE]Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
[i] Tony's reply was exactly correct...
Well, for one, I'm certainly glad that Tony wasn't inexactly correct.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 23, 2006, 12:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
[i] Tony's reply was exactly correct...
Well, for one, I'm certainly glad that Tony wasn't inexactly correct.
If he's inexactly correct that means he's only 109% correct, instead of 110% correct.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:24am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1