The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 23, 2006, 12:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 77
2nd half, boys JV. A1 stops his dribble with a jump stop. Out of balance but not moving his pivot, he regains his balance by placing the ball on the floor and uses it as a balance point. As he comes back upright, my partner calls travel violation. Nobody complains but after the game I told him I didn't think it was a travel or any violation. He wouldn't be swayed w/o reference. I think the play is legal based on 4-44-5 which allows a player holding the ball to place his hand on the floor. That allowance infers to me that the ball in both hands would be allowed to touch the floor also. Additionally, I could not find any part of the rules which prohibits the ball balance point. I seem to remember this being discussed before on this forum. Appreciate if any member has specifics for or against my understanding of the rule here.
__________________
Who needs the instruction book, let's just put it together.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 23, 2006, 12:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Thumbs down

There is no rule reference because it's not illegal and it's not traveling. Ask your partner to show you the rule that supports his call.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 23, 2006, 01:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Isn't there a case play for this sitch?

Ref Daddy, where are you?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 23, 2006, 03:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,788
Here's your rule reference

4-15-4 NOTE 3: It is a dribble when a player stands still and bounces the ball. It is not a dribble when a player stands still and holds the ball and touches it to the floor once or more than once.

The simple fact that this note states that the player may do this action not only once, but MORE THAN once, means that it is clearly legal and not a travel or a double dribble violation.

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 23, 2006, 02:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 77
Re: Here's your rule reference

Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
4-15-4 NOTE 3: It is a dribble when a player stands still and bounces the ball. It is not a dribble when a player stands still and holds the ball and touches it to the floor once or more than once.

The simple fact that this note states that the player may do this action not only once, but MORE THAN once, means that it is clearly legal and not a travel or a double dribble violation.

thanks NR, on target as usual
__________________
Who needs the instruction book, let's just put it together.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:01pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1