![]() |
Jv Boys. Game in overtime. Partner is 1st year. Very poor mechanics or should I say non mechanics. Whistle blows, no signals, no one has a clue what the call is.
I call a foul on A1. Doulble bonus two shots for b1. Coach of B calls a timeout that he doesn't have. Team T on B. B1 shoots 2. A2 is shooting first of 2 technical foul shoots. I'm the T. Just as a2 is shooting partner blows whistle. No signal. Goes to table and says a had 6 on the floor during the shot. I go talk to him to ask him what call is. He says A has 6 on the floor (5 nonshooters talking to coach on sideline). I'm trying to think of a way out of this. He is insistant on the call. Why was he even looking at this? I tell him to go report the T on A6 and we continue the game from there. I know by rule he's right but... A loses by 5 in double OT because of that call. Here's the question: What do you do when your partner makes horrific call like that? |
I don't understand, are you saying that he had 6 fouls, while he was on the floor. Personally, if this is the case....I'd let it slide, have 6 taken off the floor then I would tell my partner, we dont want these kids going home and saying we lost cause of the refs. You obviously had some seniority, and your junior partner should understand this. If the other coach has a problem explain to him, that the spirit of the rule is to make sure that people dont continue playing after their fouled out. That this wasn't intentional...any rational reasonable person should understand your point of view, and if they dont inform them that, thats the call being made, and walk away. I would definitely talk to my partner, and try and make him see the most reasonable way out of this.
|
According to partner. Someone from the bench stepped on the floor from the bench during the technical free throw while the coach of Awas talking to the nonshooters of A.
. |
Also remember, we Just gave B a T for taking an excess timeout and coach of B must have heard partner's report to table.
|
so pretty much scrap what i just said......i would definitely meet with my partner, and ask him if this was really necessary. If he was adamant, ask him why...other then "it says it in the book," if he can't give you something solid that you can tell a coach,( because we both know...the coach is going to have an opinion, ask him to rethink his call. theres not much you can do when a partner makes a bad call, except batten down the hatches and prepare to get ripped apart by the coaches. :)
|
Lets see..... First year ref, working a Boys JV game, Overtime, poor mechanics. Quite possible they are in uncharted waters.
As you see the situation unfolding I suggest what I learned in my SCUBA training for a diver in distress. Look them squarly in the eyes, get them to relax, communicate to them to trust you. |
Quote:
Bottom line too...your partner was <b>correct</b>, by rule. If you're going to question him out on the floor like you did, you might as well hold up a sign saying "My partner screwed up". Wrong way to go about it imo. Btw, you are aware of the correct ruling on this play, aren't you? That "someone from the bench" that you're talking about cannot legally be on their feet during a live ball(which a free throw is), let alone be out on the court. Rule 10-4-4. As soon as that "someone from the bench" stood up, it's a automatic "T". Your partner had the wrong reason for the "T", but the "T" certainly was deserved- strictly by rule. Btw, I also disagree with you completely that that call cost team A the game. No single call ever does that. To be quite honest, I really don't think that you could even call that call "horrific". That's over-the-top. Yes, it was probably bad judgment, but that's how we learn our craft- by making mistakes and learning from them. |
Quote:
Or maybe it was because the team broke the rules, your partner called it and the other team made their free throws. What do you think? |
Quote:
|
You should have those discussions away from the table and bench areas.
|
JR, I was all choked up after reading your post. :D
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
He made a bad call? Sure he did. But let's not go overboard in blaming him for losing the game. |
Quote:
Additionally, I'd like to know what happened with the excessive timeout. I wasn't there, but maybe good preventative officiating by you, the vet, could have prevented an excessive TO technical in OT by team B. In my book, an excessive TO technical foul during a dead ball in OT is just as hard to justify from a game management perspective as the T for 6 guys on the court or bench personnel standing. If I'm coaching team A, and team B has just received an excessive TO technical, I'd make doubly sure my bench was in order. Sounds to me like this was poorly managed in all regards, though you can't say the officiating "cost" anyone the game. |
bioteach --
Everyone's jumping on you, and I agree with the content of what everyone is saying. But I also think I've probably beat up on partners worse than this, and I've been beat up on worse than this, too. To answer your question, the way to handle this is the way someone handled your worst call in your first year. You step in and very,very quickly, ascertain what the call is, give the partner one good boost toward getting out of it, and then back your partner all the way to the dressing room. Even then don't jump on him, but let him know that generally this kind of thing doesn't get called in this situation. One of the hardest things for me has been to learn when to go "by the book" and when not to. There are quite a few rules that never, never get called, and quite a few that get very fuzzy very quickly out on the floor. Letting your partner know that this is one of those very fuzzy areas, and letting him know it very gently is the best way to handle it. |
hbioteach, i would have to say that a call can affect a game.....when you have someone "t'd" in a critical period of time in the game, you can affect the outcome. 2 weeks ago two rival teams, i'm talking 2 pt game throughout the whole game...so now were tied with 0.10 seconds to go (i totally belive this game is going to OT, which is completely warranted)....AND THEN theres a technical foul, for an ILLEGAL HEADBAND, as it does not match the color of the uniform as per NCAA rules. The other team sank the ball both times, and won the game. I talked to my partner after the game, why didnt we make that call in the beginning, why didnt we warn them, why didnt we just let it go....my partner says to me "I felt this was the appropriate time to penalize them", "they need to understand that the rules are there for a reason." HOW CAN ANY RATIONAL PERSON SAY THAT, THAT CALL DID NOT COMPLETELY CHANGE THE GAME!!...that theres never a time when a call changes the outcome of the game. I believe hbio you needed to talk to your partner after the game, and tell him what you thought, cause as the book says, the referee has no authority to overrule a call that an umpire makes..so stick by your partner....EVEN IF THEY LOSE THE GAME! cause really theres nothing you can do about it
|
Quote:
Perhaps he thought that the excessive TO tech was a horrible call and just looked for something to balance it out? Not a wonderful way to handle things, but certainly plausible. |
Quote:
[Edited by Rich Fronheiser on Jan 23rd, 2006 at 07:42 AM] |
I'm not one who normally asks either, but here is a guy complaining that his partner made a horrible technical foul call in OT and it struck me that quite possibly he had just called a technical foul that some other officials might consider darn poor just prior to his partner's call and with exactly the same amount of time on the clock!
Funny how both calls are clearly justified by the rules, but he only labels one of them as horrible. :rolleyes: My point was only that beauty is in the eye of the beholder. What some dislike others may like and vice versa. Perhaps he should be more concerned with his own decisions than those of his partner. I know plenty of people who would consider it poor game management to call a T for an excessive time-out when the ball is already dead because of a foul and a team is going to be administered FTs during an OT. It's not like this is a Chris Webber situation, and if I recall correctly the officials ignored his first request in the backcourt on that play and let him travel prior to finally granting his TO request in the frontcourt. |
Quote:
How come though that concept doesn't also hold true if, say, a personal foul and an intentional personal foul can also both be justified by the rules on the same play? :confused: You know....what some dislike others may like and vice versa? "Spain that to me, Batman. :) |
Quote:
I don't entirely disagree with that, but there are other ways of preventing this situation, such as informing the coach when he calls his final timeout that he has none left. This is not required, but it is good game management and could prevent an ugly situation later. |
Quote:
Rule 2-11-6--"The scorer shall record the time-out information charged to each team (who and when) and <b>notify</b> a team and it's coach, <b>through an official</b>, whenever that team is granted it's <b>final allotted charged time-out</b>". |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:28pm. |