The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 20, 2006, 11:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: St. Louis Missouri
Posts: 308
Send a message via AIM to fonzzy07
Hey guys just a quick one. A1 has the ball in the front court then B1 tips it into the backcourt. A1 gets the ball in the backcourt. Over and back???? also what if A2 gets the ball Over and Back????
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 20, 2006, 11:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 401
Send a message via Yahoo to yankeesfan
no violation in either situation.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 20, 2006, 11:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,446
Nor is it a violation if A3, A4 or A5 recovers the ball. If A6 gets the ball though, there's going to be a problem.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 21, 2006, 09:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,673
Send a message via MSN to IREFU2 Send a message via Yahoo to IREFU2
Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
Nor is it a violation if A3, A4 or A5 recovers the ball. If A6 gets the ball though, there's going to be a problem.
LOL!!!!
__________________
Score the Basket!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 21, 2006, 10:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Quote:
Originally posted by fonzzy07
Hey guys just a quick one. A1 has the ball in the front court then B1 tips it into the backcourt. A1 gets the ball in the backcourt. Over and back???? also what if A2 gets the ball Over and Back????
It's only a violation if an A player is the last to touch the ball before it goes into the BC and the first to touch it after it's been in the BC.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 21, 2006, 11:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 1,955
Would you give the tipped sign to let everyone know you saw there was contact or not? I almost always do unless it is blatantly obvious.
__________________
That's my whistle -- and I'm sticking to it!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 21, 2006, 12:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Quote:
Originally posted by refnrev
Would you give the tipped sign to let everyone know you saw there was contact or not? I almost always do unless it is blatantly obvious.
If I'm looking at the NFHS Signal Chart, which one is the "tipped sign?"
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 21, 2006, 12:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:
Originally posted by refnrev
Would you give the tipped sign to let everyone know you saw there was contact or not? I almost always do unless it is blatantly obvious.
If I'm looking at the NFHS Signal Chart, which one is the "tipped sign?"
I don't give the tipped sign, and I hope my partner won't....

...unless as T I look at P needing information, or vice versa. I know it's not "authorized" but it's useful and prevents a lot of difficulty. So sue me.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 21, 2006, 04:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 696
Quote:
Originally posted by fonzzy07
Hey guys just a quick one. A1 has the ball in the front court then B1 tips it into the backcourt. A1 gets the ball in the backcourt. Over and back???? also what if A2 gets the ball Over and Back????
Easy way to remeber this - its not who gets it - its who last TOUCHED it in front court.

__________________
"Sports do not build character. They reveal it" - Heywood H. Broun
"Officiating does not build character. It reveal's it" - Ref Daddy
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 21, 2006, 04:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: St. Louis Missouri
Posts: 308
Send a message via AIM to fonzzy07
Quote:
Originally posted by Ref Daddy
Quote:
Originally posted by fonzzy07
Hey guys just a quick one. A1 has the ball in the front court then B1 tips it into the backcourt. A1 gets the ball in the backcourt. Over and back???? also what if A2 gets the ball Over and Back????
Easy way to remeber this - its not who gets it - its who last TOUCHED it in front court.

Thanks that makes it easier, when I have to make the call or no call for that matter. just less to have to think of. I like that alot it should help. Thanks again
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 21, 2006, 05:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: St. Louis Missouri
Posts: 308
Send a message via AIM to fonzzy07
So by following this new rule if A1 has the ball in the front court, B1 tips it back off A1's leg and it goes back court as soon as any A memeber touches it, it is over and back?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 21, 2006, 05:05pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally posted by fonzzy07
So by following this new rule if A1 has the ball in the front court, B1 tips it back off A1's leg and it goes back court as soon as any A memeber touches it, it is over and back?
New rule? New about 70 years ago.....

Yes, it's a backcourt violation. An A player was the last to touch it in the frontcourt...and an A player was the first to touch it in the backcourt.

Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 21, 2006, 06:22pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,557
Talking

Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by fonzzy07
So by following this new rule if A1 has the ball in the front court, B1 tips it back off A1's leg and it goes back court as soon as any A memeber touches it, it is over and back?
New rule? New about 70 years ago.....

Yes, it's a backcourt violation. An A player was the last to touch it in the frontcourt...and an A player was the first to touch it in the backcourt.
70 years ago, JR was consulted about the philosophies to the game this rule would have.

I believe the controversial part was A's intent. One version was if A intended the ball to go back to the BC, and was the first to touch it, it is a violation. If there was no intent, no violation. The other flavour was taking out the intent, making it the rule we know now.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:49am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1