The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 04, 2001, 09:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 101
"quote:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
2) It is a violation to touch the net while the ball is in the imaginary cylinder above the ring. (I KNOW YOU CAN'T TOUCH THE BALL)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
TRUE. This is directly from the BI definition ("any part of the basket") in 4-6-1. "


Not sure about that answer!

Unless i'm reading the rule incorrectly (which may be possible), the answer to the above question is

FALSE.

read the question, "...violation to touch the net while the ball is in the imaginary cylinder above the ring."

Rule 10-11 and rule 4-6 states:

Basket interference occurs when a player:
Art. 1...Touches the ball or basket, (including the net), when the ball is on or within either basket.

Art. 2...Touches the ball when it is touching the cylinder having the ring as its lower base.

Reading the question...the test makers are combining Art. 1 and Art. 2. In the question the ball is not "on or within the basket," when the player touches the net AND in the question, the player DID NOT touch the ball "when it is touching the cylinder."

Anyone else care to help out with this?

Thanks,
jake
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:28am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1