The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Tipped Ball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/24210-tipped-ball.html)

refTN Sat Jan 14, 2006 04:32pm

Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by refTN
<font color = green>Sorry but this is wrong.</font> Think about the Rip Hamilton dunk last year that hit him in the head and went right back up through the goal. The basket didn't count and play continued. It has to pass completely through meaning net and all to be counted as a basket.
Don't be sorry. You didn't make the rule, but please would you show me the corresponding NFHS rule and how it is the same or different from the NBA rule?
Thanks.
mick


Rule 5 Section 1 Art. 1- A goal is made when a live ball enters the basket from above and REMAINS IN or passes through.

I consider the net part of the goal and so if a player dunks the ball and it hits him in the head without clearing the net and go back up through the goal I would consider that as NOT remaining in the goal and just let play continue.

bob jenkins Sat Jan 14, 2006 04:42pm

Quote:

Originally posted by refTN
Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by refTN
<font color = green>Sorry but this is wrong.</font> Think about the Rip Hamilton dunk last year that hit him in the head and went right back up through the goal. The basket didn't count and play continued. It has to pass completely through meaning net and all to be counted as a basket.
Don't be sorry. You didn't make the rule, but please would you show me the corresponding NFHS rule and how it is the same or different from the NBA rule?
Thanks.
mick


Rule 5 Section 1 Art. 1- A goal is made when a live ball enters the basket from above and REMAINS IN or passes through.

I consider the net part of the goal and so if a player dunks the ball and it hits him in the head without clearing the net and go back up through the goal I would consider that as NOT remaining in the goal and just let play continue.

That's correct. The net is part of the basket.

But, is the timing such that the ball must be determined to remain in or pass through before the buzzer in order to count? OR, must it merely enter before the buzzer and then remain in or pass through? That's the question in this thread.


Jurassic Referee Sat Jan 14, 2006 06:17pm

Quote:

Originally posted by refTN
[/B]
I consider the net part of the goal and so if a player dunks the ball and <font color = red>it hits him in the head without clearing the net</font> and go back up through the goal I would consider that as NOT remaining in the goal and <font color = red>just let play continue</font>. [/B][/QUOTE]I would consider reading and learning the definition of basket interference instead if I were you. Rule 4-6-1 to be exact. If you do that, then you just might be able to make the <b>correct</b> call if you ever encounter the play that you described above. If a player dunks the ball andit hits him in the head without clearing the net, that player just committed basket interference(even in the .....wait for it....SEC. :) It doesn't matter where the ball goes after it hit the dunker in the head; the ball is immediately dead because of the offensive BI. Play does not continue.

refTN Sat Jan 14, 2006 07:37pm

You're right. Sorry.

Jurassic Referee Sat Jan 14, 2006 07:55pm

Quote:

Originally posted by refTN
You're right. Sorry.
Geeze, no need to be sorry. We all get one one wrong every now and then.

On that Rip Hamilton play, didn't they stop play on that one too because of the offensive BI? I thought it was the same call under NBA rules, but.... I really don't know the NBA rules worth a damn.

refTN Sat Jan 14, 2006 08:10pm

Yes they did stop play. I just mispoke when I said let play continue. I guess I should say i mistyped

wwcfoa43 Mon Jan 16, 2006 08:22am

Quote:

Originally posted by refTN
Quote:

Originally posted by wwcfoa43
Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by All_Heart
Quote:

Originally posted by refTN
next question. If the horn goes off and the ball is inside the basket and the defender was the one who tipped it, do we count it?
No the ball must have passed completely through the net in order for it to count by rule. I sure hope that never happens to me :eek:!

Then, if the ball is tipped by the offense before the horn, and then gets caught in a *hung-up* net after, or during, the horn, then the basket does not count?
mick

I do not have my rule book in front of me but I believe a field goal is scored when the ball (a) passes through or (b) remains in the basket.


So in the case it gets stuck it counts.

By extension I would count a basket once the ball enters it if the horn goes off on a non-try.

Sorry but this is wrong. Think about the Rip Hamilton dunk last year that hit him in the head and went right back up through the goal. The basket didn't count and play continued. It has to pass completely through meaning net and all to be counted as a basket.

Again, there are two possibilities by rule: passing through or remaining in. Neither occured in the situation you mentioned where if it strikes a player's head and comes back out. In NF a ball that goes in the basket and comes back out is not a goal. However, since the basket will count if the ball remains in, then I will count the goal as soon as the ball enters and will not wait until after it completely passes through (so long as it does not come back out.)

[Mind you I do not think I can really distinguish between a ball in the basket and having passed through anyway!]

Jurassic Referee Mon Jan 16, 2006 08:30am

Quote:

Originally posted by wwcfoa43
[/B]
Again, there are two possibilities by rule: passing through or remaining in. Neither occured in the situation you mentioned where if it strikes a player's head and comes back out. In NF a ball that goes in the basket and comes back out is not a goal. However, since the basket will count if the ball remains in, then I will count the goal as soon as the ball enters and will not wait until after it completely passes through (so long as it does not come back out.)

[Mind you I do not think I can really distinguish between a ball in the basket and having passed through anyway!]
[/B][/QUOTE]Are you saying that you <b>wouldn't</b> call BI in the sitch where the ball struck a dunker's head while the ball was still within the net and the ball then came back out? :confused:

wwcfoa43 Mon Jan 16, 2006 08:40am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by wwcfoa43
Again, there are two possibilities by rule: passing through or remaining in. Neither occured in the situation you mentioned where if it strikes a player's head and comes back out. In NF a ball that goes in the basket and comes back out is not a goal. However, since the basket will count if the ball remains in, then I will count the goal as soon as the ball enters and will not wait until after it completely passes through (so long as it does not come back out.)

[Mind you I do not think I can really distinguish between a ball in the basket and having passed through anyway!]
[/B]
Are you saying that you <b>wouldn't</b> call BI in the sitch where the ball struck a dunker's head while the ball was still within the net and the ball then came back out? :confused: [/B][/QUOTE]

No I said I would not count the basket because the ball did not pass through or stay in. Whether this is BI or not is another topic. (There is an exception to BI that dunking or stuffing does not qualify as BI. It is debateable whether hitting your own head would qualify for the exception or not. However, I do not think we should get off topic.)


ChuckElias Mon Jan 16, 2006 10:39am

Quote:

Originally posted by wwcfoa43
[Whether this is BI or not is another topic. (There is an exception to BI that dunking or stuffing does not qualify as BI. It is debateable whether hitting your own head would qualify for the exception or not. However, I do not think we should get off topic.)
How is it debatable? It's BI to touch the ball while it's in or on the basket. The exception applies to the hand that carries the ball into the basket. The exception does not apply to the player's head.

Rip Hamilton's play was BI in the NBA, and would also be BI in NCAA/FED.

wwcfoa43 Mon Jan 16, 2006 10:53am

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by wwcfoa43
[Whether this is BI or not is another topic. (There is an exception to BI that dunking or stuffing does not qualify as BI. It is debateable whether hitting your own head would qualify for the exception or not. However, I do not think we should get off topic.)
How is it debatable? It's BI to touch the ball while it's in or on the basket. The exception applies to the hand that carries the ball into the basket. The exception does not apply to the player's head.

Rip Hamilton's play was BI in the NBA, and would also be BI in NCAA/FED.

True the exception rule is written using the word "hand". However, if taken literally, it would mean that a player who wraps the ball in their arm while dunking would be guilty of BI since the arm is not the hand.

The philosophy of the exception comes at the end with the words "Dunking or stuffing is legal and is not basket interference." Since these words are in there, it is clear that the intention of the exception should perhaps go beyond contact with the hand.

This means IMO that the exception does not cover interesting situations like the one of the head and so it would be an interesting debate to discuss the intention of the exception versus what happened.

One could argue that any contact with the body that is part of the dunk is allowable including hitting your own head.

One could also argue that the head was contacted after the ball entered and the basket and so it should be treated differently than contact before.

Of course if you respond to this with further arguments about it being BI then you will have to admit that it is debateable since you will be in fact debating it.


ChuckElias Mon Jan 16, 2006 11:44am

Quote:

Originally posted by wwcfoa43
True the exception rule is written using the word "hand".
I told you it wasn't debatable. :shrug:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1